The God of Second Chances.

I’ve often said that I’m thankful that I have a God Who offers second chances…and third and fourth chances.

Then as I was pondering that thought for a bit, I realized I had it wrong. There are no such things as third and fourth chances with God.

When you give someone a second chance, it’s usually because you forgave them of their previous failure of the first attempt.

Thank God He’s forgiving! But I’m even more thankful that He’s forgetting! In Isaiah 43:25 the Bible says, “I, even I, am he that blotteth out thy transgressions for mine own sake, and will not remember thy sins.”

So when I as God for forgiveness, He forgives and forgets my past sin. And when I ask Him to give me yet ANOTHER chance to do something for Him He must lovingly look down from Heaven and whisper:

“Child, I don’t remember you ever failing before….”

So, in essence, every new mercy He shows us is a second chance — but that’s as far as it goes, because He doesn’t remember my sins.

Posted on July 24, 2013, in Personal. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I’m so Glad God is longsuffering (Forgiving). 2Peter 3:9 tells us that “The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance.” If He wasn’t so longsuffering and forgiving, I would not still be alive. Thanks for the great words Sister Heather.

  2. Neat. And great to see your blog again.

Leave a Reply

