Challenge 5: Matthew 5:1-12 Essay Report.

What does Matthew 5:1-12 mean to a believer?

This portion of Scripture has to be one of my absolute favorites among my many favorite passages.

Jesus was always teaching people – regardless of whether He opened His mouth to speak or simply lived His life in and out of every day. The truths taught in this passage of Scripture could have been learned simply by watching the life of the Savior without Him every teaching the Beatitudes from the mountain-top.

“Blessed are the poor in spirit: for theirs is the kingdom of Heaven.” We as mere human beings are nothing in and of ourselves, but in Christ we have everything we could ever want or need. We may not have much as far as riches go here on earth, but one day we will take up residence in Heaven.

“Blessed are they that mourn: for they shall be comforted.” When we accept Christ as our personal Savior, the Holy Spirit indwells us. He is the promised Comforter that Jesus Christ spoke of in John 14:26, John 15:26, and John 16:7.

“Blessed are the meek: for they shall inherit the earth.” In Psalm 147:6 the Bible says “The LORD lifteth up the meek: He casteth the wicked down to the ground.” And in Psalm 149:4 the Bible says that the Lord “will beautify the meek with salvation.” God wants us as Christians to be more like Him. As we grow in the knowledge of the Lord and become more like Him we will become more meek and humble. It is impossible to be like Christ and not posses these character traits.

“Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.” We have an endless supply of spiritual food waiting for us in the Word of God. We can never exhaust the Bible and we can turn to it at any time, knowing that we will never walk away from it dissatisfied or hungry.

“Blessed are the merciful: for they shall obtain mercy.” Every time I read this verse I think of the Golden Rule – do unto others as you would have done unto you. God has been so merciful to us. When people fail or disappoint us, we should be merciful to them and remember that we are no better than they are. If God, who demands justice and righteousness, can be merciful, we ought to be merciful as well.

“Blessed are the pure in heart: for they shall see God.” We are sinners, and as such our hearts are desperately wicked and unclean. However, when Christ saved us we obtained His righteousness and His blood cleansed our hearts of all our filth and grime. We have been washed, sanctified, and justified (I Cor. 6:11) through the sacrifice Christ made on the cross, and because of that we will see God one day and live with Him in Heaven for all eternity.

“Blessed are the peacemakers: for they shall be called the children of God.” People in the world usually seek revenge or at least try to “get even” when they are wronged; however, Christ was wronged more than anyone else ever was and He forgave them – thus, making “peace through the blood of His cross” (Col. 1:20). Again, as we exemplify the character of Christ in our lives we will also be peacemakers amongst those who may wrong us or hurt us in some way.

“Blessed are they which are persecuted for righteousness’ sake: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. Blessed are ye, when men shall revile you, and persecute you, and shall say all manner of evil against you falsely, for my sake. Rejoice, and be exceeding glad: for great is your reward in heaven: for so persecuted they the prophets which were before you.” Throughout history faithful men and women have been persecuted for the cause of Christ, and some have even become Martyrs. To think that we will be treated better by the world simply because we’re in the 21st century is absurd. The days are coming where the government will no longer protect us from persecution, but instead will be one of our greatest persecutors. I believe those days are getting closer and closer. Regardless of what we may have to endure here in this earthly life, if we remain faithful it will be worth it all when we get to Heaven and hear Him say “Well done.” Christ died for us; surely we can suffer persecution for His sake.

How this chapter can be applied to my life.

This chapter reminds me that no matter where I am in my life, no matter what situation I may find myself in, there are proper ways that I should handle them. Jesus Christ not only demonstrated these through His own life, but also in the messages He spoke to the multitudes.

By reading through the Beatitudes again I realized anew how much how fall short of everything I should be as a Christian. This is why the Christian life is not a destination; it’s a journey. I must continue to look to Christ and His Word to guide me and teach me what I need to be doing and how I should be living so that I may point others to Him.

Posted on January 29, 2013, in Reformers Unanimous and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I like this article. I’ve enjoyed most of what I’ve read on this site. Studying to be a pastor. I can tell you what you already know, which is that biblical living is hard to come by, mostly because too few actually read AND understand it. The Beatitudes are a beautiful reminder of what life we are to reach for as Christians, and in response to our lack of fulfillment of them, I think Paul put it best:

    “Bretheren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 3: 13-14.

    It’s a journey to be shared and enjoyed. 🙂 Blessings.

  2. Enjoyed this! Keep it up!! God bless you…

  3. “to get even”? When I was a kid, my parents never thought me to get even but today even I don’t admit it sometimes, I’d say “to get even” is always in my brain when someone hurt me. However, after reading your post I think I need to rethink the way I should be acting towards those who have hurt me.

    Thank you for reminding me of how to live in God’s perspective. Keep this up Heather Joy.

Leave a Reply

