Challenge 23: Romans 8 Essay Report.

What does Romans 8 mean to a new believer?

Many people, prior to salvation, believe that they must earn or work their way to Heaven. However, the Bible says: “For what the law could not do, in that it was weak through the flesh, God sending his own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh, and for sin, condemned sin in the flesh: That the righteousness of the law might be fulfilled in us” (Romans 8:3-4a).

The law couldn’t save us; our works couldn’t save us; so God sent His only begotten Son to live a sinless life and die upon a cross in our place. Because of His sacrifice, we can be saved by trusting in Christ as our personal Savior. When we accept Christ as our Savior, the justice of our Holy God is satisfied and “the righteousness of the law… [is] fulfilled in us” (8:4a). We see later in the chapter that God “spared not his own Son, but delivered him up for us all” (8:32). Christ died and suffered separation from His Father that we might never have to spend eternity in Hell.

Once saved, we are indwelt by the Holy Spirit and we are to have the mind of Christ in all matters. In Romans 8:6 the Bible says: “For to be carnally minded is death; but to be spiritually minded is life and peace.” Living in sin will eventually bring forth death (as we see in Romans 6:23). However, those who are striving to live after the things of God will live a peaceful life (as we see in Psalm 119:165).

When we are saved, we are adopted into the family of God. Later in the chapter we see in verses 35-39 that nothing “shall be able to separate us from the love of God” (8:39). William R. Ramsay once wrote: “The Roman-Syrian Law-Book…where a formerly prevalent Greek law had persisted under the Roman Empire—well illustrates this passage of the Epistle. It actually lays down the principle that a man can never put away an adopted son, and that he cannot put away a real son without good ground. It is remarkable that the adopted son should have a stronger position than the son by birth, yet it was so.”

When we accept Jesus Christ as our personal Savior we are saved forever! The life we receive in Christ is eternal, everlasting, and never-ending!

How this chapter can be applied to my life.

I need to remember that my salvation did not come about because of anything that I did. Nor is my salvation kept by anything that I may do. My salvation completely rests on the sacrifice, the blood, and the promises of Jesus Christ. I am nothing, and everything I count as good in me (apart from Jesus Christ) is nothing.

There are times that I will fail. I will grieve the Spirit of God in my words and actions – but I must remember that my salvation does not rest on that. I can place every confidence in the fact that “He which hath begun a good work in [me] will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ” (Phil. 1:6).

I have been adopted, and He will never cast me out. I am His child, an heir of God, and a joint-heir with Jesus Christ (8:17). I am saved, and there is nothing that anyone can do to change that.

Posted on November 15, 2012, in Reformers Unanimous, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

