Challenge 20: Romans 6 Essay Report.

What does Romans 6 mean to a new believer?

If we look at the ending of the previous chapter we read these words: “Moreover the law entered, that the offence might abound. But where sin abounded, grace did much more abound:” (Romans 5:20). Chapter 6 starts off with a question: “What shall we say then? Shall we continue in sin, that grace may abound?” (6:1).

When we receive Christ as our personal Savior, our “old man” (who we were before we were saved) is dead – for Christ died for ALL the sins of man: PAST, present and future. Our sins died with Christ that day! Likewise, just like Christ rose from the dead 3 days later, we are also made alive in Christ and given the power to live the abundant Christian life.

In Romans 6:5 we read: “For if we have been planted together in the likeness of his death, we shall be also in the likeness of his resurrection:”

When we accept Christ as our personal Savior, we are no longer slaves to sin. We are no longer held under the bondage of the law, but are made free through the grace of God!

However, just because we are no longer under the law, it does not give us a free pass to live any way we want.

The Bible says: “What then? Shall we sin, because we are not under the law, but under grace? God forbid.” (6:14)

God didn’t save us so we could continue living for ourselves. He saved us so that we could produce “fruit unto holiness, and the end everlasting life” (6:22). Christ desire for every Christian is that they would serve Him with the rest of their life. We should strive to live holy and separated from the world, shunning the works of sin no matter how minor they may seem.

How this chapter can be applied to my life.

As someone who grew up in church and walked through the doors every time they were open, it is easy to grow complacent and allow little compromises to creep into my life. The lie of “oh, this isn’t so bad” causes me to allow certain things into my life which then leads to a slippery downward slope of bigger compromises. Eventually, I find myself standing in the middle of a big mess and I wonder how I ever ended up there.

It is crucial for me to continue to “die daily” (I Cor. 15:31) to the desires of my sinful flesh if I am to continue growing in the knowledge of the Lord. When I accepted Christ as my personal Savior, my old self was immediately put to death. However, this death is a daily process that each believer must continue in. As Christians, we must continue to crucify our flesh on a daily basis until we physically pass away or get called up in the rapture.

Posted on October 26, 2012, in Reformers Unanimous and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Very well said, Heather. Excellent.

  2. I agree…..very well said!! I like the EMPHASIS on dying DAILY to sin. If we do not do this, and I mean EVERY DAY, we, as humans, tend to get into trouble!!

  3. Amen! To this blog and to James’ and Nalla’s comments.

    I find that, in my own case, “dying daily” has the most to do with things like anger, impatience, etc. If I “die daily,” I don’t have a problem with those. If I don’t, I do. There are a lot more – and I think the details are different for every one of us. That’s just my own confession.

  4. AMEN! Very well put Heather. Can’t really add anything but agreement . . . and praise for the wonderful work which Christ has produced, and continues to produce, in our lives.

    What an amazing God!

Leave a Reply

