Challenge 15: Opportunity to Testify

What’s going on here?

I’ve decided to post the various essays and short papers I have to write to meet certain Reformers Unanimous (RU) requirements and complete challenges contained in the RU workbooks. This will allow me to kill two birds with one stone… or rather, -since I’m all about save-the-bunnies-and-the-birds and totally against animal cruelty- accomplish two tasks with one assignment.

but first…

What is Reformers Unanimous?

Reformers Unanimous is a revolutionary addiction recovery program developed from over a decade of experience working with hundreds of thousands of addicts through local churches. Renowned addiction experts Steve Curington, and Dr. Paul Kingsbury have produced a program that uses a unique spiritual approach to develop lifelong sobriety. If you have tried everything else, and are looking for something that “just works” then this program is for you.

Through these many ministries, hundreds of thousands of people have been helped and brought closer to the Lord Jesus Christ. In just 12 years of operation, God has grown the ministry of Reformers Unanimous to a position of remarkable influence throughout the world. All glory rightly belongs to Him!

take from the Reformers Unanimous website.

My Salvation Testimony.

At 8 weeks old I was adopted by a wonderful, Christian family. From that point on, I was in a solid, IFB church every time the doors were open.

I made a profession of faith when I was around the age of 3. Kneeling beside the little couch in my house, my mom led me in the ever-famous “sinner’s prayer.” I was baptized by immersion a couple years later by Pastor George Crabb at Antioch Baptist Church (Warren, MI).

About 9 years later, my family attended a Steve Pettit Crusade Revival Meeting being help at the Silverdome. On the second night of this revival, the preacher preached a very disturbing sermon on Hell. I was scared of dying without Christ and spending all of eternity in Hell. I remember having doubts about my salvation all the way back to my first profession of faith. I made another profession of faith on May 2, 2000. I was baptized by immersion a year or two later by Pastor Glenn DeSota of Grace Baptist Bible Fellowship (Flint, MI).

Fast-forward another 9 years. I was sitting under the tent, listening to the preacher preach on I-don’t-even-remember-what, and I heard the Holy Spirit say: “Heather, are you saved?” I remember not being able to answer that question with 100% certainty.

I asked my Pastor’s wife to talk with me at the altar. She then asked me: “Are you willing to base all of your eternity on what you have right now?” The answer was no. I didn’t know for sure that I would spend eternity in Heaven or Hell, and I wasn’t willing to risk my soul’s eternity on what I “might” have. I received assurance of my salvation in July 2009. I was baptized by immersion the following Sunday by Pastor Steven Brown at Parkview Baptist Church.

My life verse is Romans 5:20 –

“Moreover the law entered, that the offence might abound. But where sin abounded, grace did much more abound.”

I am thankful for what the Lord has done in my life regarding the matter of Salvation.

Why I attend Reformers Unanimous.

As a Christian, my desire is to grow closer to the Lord and learn more of Him. Reformers Unanimous is an organized, systematic way for me to do just that. Whether it be in reading my Bible, memorizing Scripture verses, listening to the preaching, or fellowshipping with other like-minded Believers – I have found that RU is an excellent opportunity for Christians to deepen their faith in Jesus Christ.

I am thankful for the different RU chapters I have been privileged to be a part of. I look forward to Friday evenings every week and enjoy the few hours that all the RU students have to come together to learn of the greatness and the goodness of our Savior.

Posted on October 18, 2012, in Personal, Reformers Unanimous and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

