Imposing a schedule.

Anyone who blogs regularly somewhere knows how much work it can be, regardless of how much you may enjoy it. Sometimes it’s hard to formulate into words what exactly you want to say. Sometimes it leaves your brain and emotions feeling absolutely fried. Sometimes it makes you want to pull all your hair out in frustration (although I’m 97.4% sure that the bald look wouldn’t suit me at all, so I’m trying to avoid that move as much as possible).

In the past I have shared my overly-booked, insane schedule with you all and most of you told me I was crazy (or something like that). Most of you also encouraged me to be careful not to stretch myself too thin, to pray about my schedule, to cut out the unnecessary stuff, or simply set aside the things the Lord hadn’t specifically called me to do.

Hence, this post…

With the recent illnesses I have endured I’m beginning to learn that I cannot do it all, regardless how much I want to. Contrary to popular believe (or not so popular belief), I’m not Super Woman. I’m not even a distant relative of hers.

The doctor that diagnosed me with shingles said that it is prone to flare up when a person’s immune system is compromised or when a person is under a lot of stress. Which is ironic since “stress” is my middle name and all.

This fall I started my 2-year Masters Degree Program. I also started taking classes at my church’s Bible Institute in pursuit of a diploma upon completion of the 3-year program. I am also still working full time and attending services at my church 3 days a week. In addition, I have a puppy that demands love and attention, as well as training classes so he doesn’t grow up to be a dunce. Honestly, I’m convinced he’s more like a child than an actual puppy (and so says my mother as well).

As you can see, my schedule is still pretty tight.

With that said, I’m going to cut back in the places where I can. This blog is one of those places. I will no longer be blogging every day, Monday through Saturday, here at Grow Up! (at least not for the time being).

Instead, I will be blogging 2-3 times a week here. Perhaps Monday/Wednesday/Friday or perhaps Tuesday/Thursday. Or maybe a mix of the two. I haven’t completely figured it out yet, I just know that I will not be able to devote as much time to blogging as I have been able to in the past.

And I don’t want to just write a bunch of fluff just to fill time and publish posts. I want what I post here to be meaningful and thought-out.

So this is my official announcement. I will be imposing a new posting schedule here at Grow Up! for at least the time being.

I am excited for the things that are going on in my life. I am excited to be taking classes at my church’s Bible Institute, and I am excited that I have completed my Bachelors Degree and am now working on my Masters Degree.

God has been good to me. He has provided many wonderful opportunities for me to be a part of. And He has used this blog to teach me and grow me in ways I otherwise don’t think I would have grown. I hope this blog has been a blessing to you as much as it has been a blessing to me.

Thank you all for your prayers and support over the past couple years. I am thankful to “know” each and every one of you. May God continue to bless you.

Posted on September 17, 2012, in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I knew you were a smart gal. You surely need to slow down a bit. I am living proof that stress can cause many problems. things like overeating, overweight, heart problems (I have 9 stents already). and restless sleep. So – good move my sister. I will be looking for the blogs when they come out and will keep you in my prayers. God bless ya!

  2. Knew you might well have to cut back on blogging, so I was prepared for it and certainly support you in this decision. Am just glad that, so far, you will be continuing part of the time. Hope you’ll find you can continue that, though….. It’ll be good to read whatever you can put up.

  3. Hey good call, no problem! I only blog once a week! And then cheat by getting my Dad to do once a week too!

    Our anticipation will be more for your blogs now!!!!

    • It seems so strange to NOT be blogging on an almost-daily basis. To be honest… it’s kinda weird. But the break is much needed, especially with how my school schedule is right now!

Leave a Reply

