The Independent Fundamental Baptist’s Biggest Problem. {reblog}

Yet again, I have another reblog for you all. <insert cheesy grin>

If you’re an IFB, this one’s for you. If you’re not an IFB, this one’s for you too. If you’re a Christian, this one’s for you. If you’re not a Christian, this one’s for you too. You cannot escape it.

I actually came across this blog via facebook when a friend posted a link to it. I don’t personally know the author, but I like it’s content and I was given permission to reblog it here on Grow Up! — I hope you all will enjoy it as much as I did.

I am an Independent Fundamental Baptist, make no mistake. I was born one, I will die one. I am familiar with many of the flaws and doctrinal issues and pet sins of many of the other denominations but I don’t know their problems as well as I know the problems that MY denomination has. I am not blind nor will I close my eyes to it all. I love the Fundamentalists. It is my love for my church that drives me to be honest with her, though. I fear that Satan is succeeding at destroying large portions of the IFB with one fatal weapon, one major sin, in fact, the very sin that got Satan himself kicked out of Heaven; PRIDE.

The Baptist have been underdogs since their start in the time of Christ. Our ancestors stood for truth, were persecuted, tortured, murdered but still they pressed on (See The Trail of Blood). We were not birthed in the reformation but rather we inspired the reformation (See John (Jan) Hus). We have a beautiful legacy, untainted by the Catholic Church, filled with fire and zeal. We have Bible doctrine! I am not trying to argue doctrine but the Baptist, more specifically the Independent Fundamental Baptist, are one of the only denominations that does not “correct” the scripture or assume things about the scripture in order to build its doctrine. The Bible, the King James Bible (the only English version with no Catholic influence) is our final authority and we let IT do the talking! We believe it literally and live by it even if the whole world thinks we are weird and God has blessed it! Our history looks like the Bible says it is supposed to look and many of our forefathers died the same way the apostles did! What has changed? Where is our power? Where have the revivals gone?

Proverbs 16:18 (KJV) – “Pride goeth before destruction, and an haughty spirit before a fall.”

We are SOOO right that we think we are God’s favorites! We think God will make exceptions for us because of our doctrinal statements and look over our disobedience! We think God doesn’t mind our lack of compassion and our icy hearts so long as our dresses are the right lengths and our hair is parted the right way! We think God will excuse our miserable, tearless prayer lives and our lack of a burden for the lost because we use the KJV instead of something else! We think God is impressed with our dedication and separation and our convictions and our standards when we’ve done nothing more than line ourselves up scripturally with that old Pharisee in Luke 18:11 that stood praying in the temple, thanking God he wasn’t like that old, precious publican! Our churches are dwindling and, while we blame it on our stand, GOD blames it on our sorry, stinking pride! The Baptist Americans are some of the first Baptist in New Testament Church history that aren’t being put to death for what they believe yet we find ourselves the most pitiful Baptists that Church history has ever produced! God has been offended in our churches! WE HAVE A PROBLEM! The Independent Fundamental Baptist are NOT guilty of changing the gospel of Christ, we are guilty of hiding it, tarnishing it, dragging it through the streets so wrapped in our pride that NOBODY wants it! Our arrogance, our “take it or leave it and I don’t care” attitude has brought reproach to our Lord! If we want revival fire back its going to come through humility! God is not a respecter of persons, He is a respecter of obedience! Proverbs 16:18 is a promise! Brethren, it is time to wake up…

II Chronicles 7:14 (KJV) – “If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from Heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.”

Thoughts…?

You can find the original posting of this article over HERE on Earnest Contention.

Posted on September 4, 2012, in Reblog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. So very true, Heather. One of my main sticking points with IFBs (though I am one). The arrogance towards the lost and our Christian brother is going to be the undoing of many more churches, I am afraid.

  2. Yup. A quick perusal of the twitalage of IFB preachers will confirm that he nailed it.

  3. Amen and Amen! I am IFB also and have had to work hard on trying to get the hardnose mentality out of my life. I have read back over the years of things I have written to friends and see now why they had broken fellowship. My stinking pride and pompus attitude made them keep me at arms length. The love of Christ was not a part of my dealings with others but rather my standard of living was being presented as the standard everyone should live by. BLECK! I have had to be taken down a few notches over the years through trials (thankfully), now where I once wanted to be followed as the standard, I am now praying God will just allow me to live up to his standard hoping no one really is watching my failures. Alot of men have fallen because they too have set themselves or their family up as the standard to follow. We are to strive to look more like Christ not our fellow brethren. This was a good reblog!.

    • Pride — it’s a struggle for all of us! Thank you for your comment of testimony, Rebecca. I appreciate you taking the time to visit Grow Up! and sharing your thoughts. God Bless!

  4. Former IFB here as covered before, and I could not agree with this blog post more. The pride and arrogance is what drove me away. When a person with tattoos and long hair was led to Christ and introduced to the church, the Pastor announced his name into the miocrophone then said “Well, now all we gotta do is get those tattoos removed and cut that hair!” Loud laughs and AMENS echoed in the auditorium.

    Cannot imagine how judged and humiliated this guy felt.

    That gentleman never came back. I followed him out the back door.

  5. Well, I certainly agree with the “pride” part. Some other parts of it are debatable. The “Bible corrector” and KJV accusations irked me a little. But overall, I agree. But no matter what denomination, believers who are not awed by the unmerited grace of God typically wind up having a better-than-the-world attitude.

  6. I am not IFB but have had connections with IFB members and have taught children’s ministry leadership in their Churches. Here in Australia there is quite a difference between some IFB Churches and others – some very “open” and some not; some KJV only and others who use NKJV or even other versions.

    I have to agree that PRIDE is the downfall of not only IFB Churches but others as well. I know, and have worked with, one pastor who thinks he has EVERYTHING worked out perfectly; that his worship service is so spot on it can’t be changed in the slightest and that ‘his’ Church is perfect in every way – and he can’t understand why every Christian doesn’t want to be a part of it.

    I think pride (the first sin) will be the downfall of any person, group or Church that allows it to take hold. On the other hand, where Christ is exalted and given His rightful place, that Church will be fruitful.

  7. Great post! And sadly, very true! I am an IFB myself and sometimes I am ashamed to be ‘painted with that brush’ simply because there is so much stigma that goes along with the name…I think we all have to be careful about how we judge others and remember that when we do judge, we also will be judged. BUT on the other side of that token, living a certain way and having convictions (and standing by them) does not necessarily constitute judgment! People have to learn that there is doctrine (conviction) and then there is preference. If the Bible says it’s wrong, it’s wrong…There are so many ‘rules’ and standards in IFB churches that have no biblical foundation, it makes me cringe…OK, I could go on but I won’t 😉

  8. The KJV has no Catholic influence? I’m not trying to argue otherwise, but didn’t Erasmus, a Catholic scholar and priest, put together the Textus Receptus from whence our KJV came? I could be totally wrong and I apologize in advanced if I am mistaken.

  9. Who Needs Holy Catholics?

    There’s already enough holy stuff:

    Holy Father, Holy Mother, Holy Week, Holy Virgin, Holy Water, Holy Orders, Holy Bingo, Holy Savior, Holy Family, Holy Matrimony, Holy Oils, and Holy Communion. So who needs Holy Catholics, especially in politics?

    The New Testament (Phil. 2:9-11) says that “Jesus” is “a name which is above every name.” Since many have viewed Catholicism as a “blasphemous counterfeit” of true Christianity, shouldn’t the Pope tell folks in Catholic countries to quit naming their boys “Jesus” and threaten to excommunicate them if they do? Wouldn’t this be a step in the right direction?

    (Believe it or not, the above message was inspired by “good Catholics” like Boehner, Biden, Pelosi and Madonna!)

  1. Pingback: Baptist Roots Call for the Reformation of Baptist Beliefs | Seeing God's Breath

Leave a Reply

