Weekend Words of Wisdom {8.25.12}

First things first — I’d like to wish my brother, Scott, a Happy 28th Birthday!
(man, he’s getting old!…ish)

His birthday was actually yesterday, so this greeting is a day late (sorry, Scott).

ok, now onto our weekly business…

I listened to the following sermons this week:

  • “The Heart of Worship” by Dr. Kenny Baldwin
  • “He Calls His Own By Name” by Joe Arthur
  • “Don’t Debate with the Devil” by Evangelist Terry Dye
  • “The Secret of the Second Mile” by Dr. R.B. Ouellette
  • “Dress for the Battle” by Charles Tenney
  • “Build a Fire” by Wilson Calvin
  • “My God Is Real” by Wilson Calvin
  • “Archaic Words” by Dr. Sam Gipp
  • “The Pursuit of God” by Joey Boyd

All of the following quotes are taken from the aforementioned sermons.

“I’m glad tonight I’m in His hand. And no man can pluck me out of the Father’s hand. The devil can’t pluck me out; my enemies can’t pluck me out; the brethren can’t pluck me out; the devil can’t pluck me out; I can’t even pluck myself out; the Lord don’t wanna pluck me out — so I’m in forever!” – Joe Arthur

“I’m glad that the only fire I’ll ever feel is the fire of the Holy Ghost that’s burning in my soul!” Joe Arthur

“In the Old Testament the sheep had to die for the shepherd; but when you on this side of the Covenant, the Shepherd dies for His sheep! I’m one of His sheep, and I’m glad the Lord is my Shepherd!” – Joe Arthur

“There are three things I am not: I’m not an Armenian, I’m not a Calvanist, and I’m not a Bible-corrector.” – Joe Arthur

“You know, we have the idea that if we do everything that we’re supposed to do — if we don’t smoke and we don’t chew and we don’t date the girls that do, if we have good seperated lives, and we have good haircuts on the fellas and modest clothing on the girls, and we read the Bible every day, and we pray, and we go to church, and we tithe, and we do our homework like we’re supposed to, and we take care of our duties in the room, and obey the rules — if we do everything that we’re supposed to do and obey all the do’s and don’ts and write a “yes” by the do’s and a “no” by the don’ts that we are really somebody, some SUPER Christian; but that’s not what the Bible says. Jesus said in Luke 17:7-10 — ‘But which of you, having a servant plowing or feeding cattle, will say unto him by and by, when he is come from the field, Go and sit down to meat? And will not rather say unto him, Make ready wherewith I may sup, and gird thyself, and serve me, till I have eaten and drunken; and afterward thou shalt eat and drink? Doth he thank that servant because he did the things that were commanded him? I trow not. So likewise ye, when ye shall have done all those things which are commanded you, say, We are unprofitable servants: we have done that which was our duty to do.'” – Dr. R.B. Ouellette

“What a wonderful thing it is to learn that the way to be released from the bondage of responsibility and duty and obedience and submission is not to try to get rid of something that you are compelled to do, but to do MORE than you have to do!” – Dr. R.B. Ouellette  {I love this one!}

“Faith hath no doubt. If there’s doubt, then there’s no faith.” – Charles Tenney

“If you take a stand, then you’re gonna have to withstand!” – Charles Tenney

And this one’s extra…

“Before we mouth Christianity, let’s model Christianity.” – Pastor Guy Beaumont

Do you have anything to share?

Have a great weekend!

Posted on August 25, 2012, in Weekend Words of Wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Thanks Heather.

    I struggle a little with the quote of Charles Tenny, “Faith hath no doubt. If there’s doubt, then there’s no faith.”

    But, I also don’t know the full context that he has said it either. Within my own personal experience of sickness and trials, I have heard it said to many times just believe…just have faith.. but I have since learnt so much more that faith goes much deeper then that.

  2. You know me…the “recovering legalist.” When I read the long quote from R. B. Oulette, it was the very first thing he said that stood out, ““You know, we have the idea…” Exactly. And even though he states later that all those things are unbiblical (“that’s not what the Bible says”), he still comes across that way, especially in the Sword of the Lord.

    But who knows, maybe I’m hypersensitive.

  3. If my church would ever agree to advance beyond the cassette tape technology of yesteryear and purchase some digital recording equipment, you could listen to some of my pulpit-banging, eyebrow-raising, devil-irritating Southern Baptist preaching. Yes, Southern Baptists can preach, too (insert indignant “hmmmffff”).

  4. I like Tenney’s quote “Faith hath no doubt. If there’s doubt, then there’s no faith”
    We talk of having “little faith” but I wonder if there is such a thing.

    Let’s consider the old illustration of sitting on a chair. We sit, placing our entire confidence in the chair, without first examining to ensure it will hold us. If we have a little doubt as to its ability, we would not commit ourselves to the chair – at least not without checking it out and dispelling the doubt.

    Then we could consider the aconym – Forsaking All I Trust Him – forsaking ALL. That leaves no room for doubt, but places complete confidence in Him alone.

    I know there are times when we have ‘little faith’ but I believe that we see the power of God at work when we trust completely – with no doubts. Then HE is glorified!

    • Angela, THAT is the exact example I was going to use in reply to Craig Benno. But you hit the nail on the head, so I’ll just leave it with what you said.

      Thank you for the comment!

  5. I am so grateful for your article.Thanks Again. Want more.

Leave a Reply

