Some Christians are gay.

Umm. No.

Last week I was surfing around facebook and a picture appeared on my news feed notifying me that James Lyman had commented on it {click HERE to go to his facebook page}. Remember him…? No? Let me jog your memory. I wrote “What Christianity is NOT.” in response to a bunch of stuff James was saying/doing.

What actually surprised me is that James finally said something that I could agree with and “like.” Trust me, I was just as shocked as most of you probably are.

Anywho…

The picture was originally posted on The Youth Pride Project facebook page, then shared by the Blogging for Change facebook page which is where the convo took place. Below is a few of the major comments that took place on said thread.

{please note: just because I posted the links to those facebook pages does not mean that I support those pages. I simply want to site my sources so people can go back and review it for themselves if they choose to do so.}

First: the picture itself….

What say you…?
Would you have added anything to this conversation if you had been part of it…?

Posted on August 23, 2012, in Homosexuality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I think all Christians struggle with and commit sins all throughout their life. I believe that someone can struggle with homosexuailty and still be a Christian. I think if they have a repentant heart and know it’s wrong and are seeking God to strengthen them to overcome it, they might still be saved. Now someone who wants to go around saying that “God says gay is good!” obviously doesn’t know who God really is or what His word really says. It makes me think of 2 Timothy 4:3. “For the time will come when men will not put up with sound doctrine. Instead, to suit their own desires, they will gather around them a great number of teachers to say what their itching ears want to hear.”

    • I think my favorite part of this whole post is the last facebook comment:

      “your ignorance is surpassed only by your bigotry. some say homosexuality is a sin. it’s not. God is perfectly cool with it and he feels the same about homosexuality as he does about heterosexuality.”

      clearly this person has never picked up a Bible before.

      Leviticus 18:
      [22] Thou shalt not lie with mankind, as with womankind: it is abomination.
      [23] Neither shalt thou lie with any beast to defile thyself therewith: neither shall any woman stand before a beast to lie down thereto: it is confusion.
      [24] Defile not ye yourselves in any of these things: for in all these the nations are defiled which I cast out before you:
      [25] And the land is defiled: therefore I do visit the iniquity thereof upon it, and the land itself vomiteth out her inhabitants.
      [26] Ye shall therefore keep my statutes and my judgments, and shall not commit any of these abominations; neither any of your own nation, nor any stranger that sojourneth among you:
      [27] (For all these abominations have the men of the land done, which were before you, and the land is defiled;)
      [28] That the land spue not you out also, when ye defile it, as it spued out the nations that were before you.
      [29] For whosoever shall commit any of these abominations, even the souls that commit them shall be cut off from among their people.
      [30] Therefore shall ye keep mine ordinance, that ye commit not any one of these abominable customs, which were committed before you, and that ye defile not yourselves therein: I am the LORD your God.

      No, sir… God is not “cool” with your sin.

  2. Homosexuality is sin. Done.

    The issue is how to deal with a person who professes to be both. Or, is it my place to “Deal with it” at all? If I am having a Bible study in my home and a friend brings a “gay Christian” to the study, how would I feel about it?

    As I have shared on here before, I am a former IFB kid who went through and experienced all of the sterotyped IFB problems from the 80’s. I am not nearly as jaded as some people who rant and rave about the IFB and treat it like the plague and such (Stuff Fundies Like), but I have had to deal with some of the fallout. I am re-learning the Scripture for what it says, not what I was told to think it says…

    Sorry about the rabbit trail…but I do think it leads to this…

    All I know is Christ told us to love. The hard part is distinguishing the line between 3 avenues, IMHO: loving, accepting, and enabling. As far as the “gay Christian” I would love them. I would accept them. But I would do everything not to enable them.

    That’s a tough balance.

    Very thought provoking today!

    • Agreed. Love the sinner, hate the sin.

      I would say that this is a delicate matter – and we should treat the individual with grace, but be as tough on their sin as possible. After all, if we as Christians are supposed to be Christ-like then we cannot prance around people’s sin and act like it’s no big deal. Sin IS a big deal – regardless of how “big” or how “small” we may think the sin is. Sin is sin; and it needs to be dealt with.

      We are not doing anyone any favours by trying to be gentle when dealing with sin. It does not deal gently with us. It must be confronted, rebuked, and forsaken. From there, we need to strive to follow the Lord’s leading and be all that we can be for Christ.

      Thanks for the comment, Lazarus!

  3. Heather, I agree that homosexual sex is sin. However, here is where I
    am not on the same page as you:

    1. The headline is correct if, by “gay”, you mean someone who actively
    chooses to have same-sex sex, not as a momentary failure, but as an
    unrepentant lifestyle. However, some would define someone as gay by
    simply saying they have desires for same-sex romantic relationships.
    In such a case, someone who has those desires but is celibate could
    certainly be a Christian.

    2. Although Leviticus definitely says that same-sex sex is sin, and an
    abomination, I don’t think it’s a good passage to use to back up your
    stance. Pro-gays are all over the fact that Christians do not follow
    most of the Mosaic Law, and will point out the inconsistency of
    Christians not calling it a sin to wear a shirt with two kids of
    thread, to use one of many examples. Or eating bacon.

    Since the Mosaic Law was never given to us (non-Israelites), I believe
    it’s much better to use New Testament Scripture to make a case that
    God is not in favor of same-sex sex.

    • James –

      regardless if you use an Old Testament passage or a New Testament passage to defend my stance, the conclusion of the matter is still the same. In the end God HATES (detests, despises, does not tolerate) homosexuality.

      I believe someone who claims Christ, yet still struggles with same-sex attractions would not classify themselves as “gay” – as that implies that you are practicing it. All the Christians that I have come in contact with that struggle with same-sex attractions label it as such — they “struggle with same-sex attractions.”

      Labeling oneself as “gay” basically means one is claiming the lifestyle and identifying themselves with it. Knowing what God truly thinks of homosexuality, I have a hard time believing ANY true Christian would want to continue to label themselves as a “gay” individual.

      Just a few of my thoughts on the matter…

  4. Some Christians are sinners. No, all Christians are sinners, but we don’t introduce ourselves as a sinner. We call ourselves Christians because we are followers of Christ.

    And he said to them all, If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross daily, and follow me.
    (Luk 9:23)

    If ye love me, keep my commandments.
    (Joh 14:15)

    Following Jesus means that I die to my desires and what my flesh wants in favor of doing what He wants. How do I know what He wants? It’s all in His Word. He tells us what pleases Him and what doesn’t. When I act on my own desires, I confess my sin and am forgiven.

    This then is the message which we have heard of him, and declare unto you, that God is light, and in him is no darkness at all. If we say that we have fellowship with him, and walk in darkness, we lie, and do not the truth: But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship one with another, and the blood of Jesus Christ his Son cleanseth us from all sin. If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us. If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.
    (1Jn 1:5-9)

    So, no, I don’t think there are gay Christians, but there are Christians that struggle with the sin of homosexuality and the Lord grows them one step at a time just like He does with us and the sins that so easily beset us.

  5. I want to pitch in here and just briefly point out that this idea that “the Bible does not take a stand either way for or against homosexuality” is as far as I can tell a very recent fabrication only among the most outlying sectors of “Christendom.” And this even goes beyond Christianity, if you think through it. I am not aware of any arm of Christianity condoning homosexuality until the twentieth century. Furthermore, Judaism which predates Christianity proper condemns and always has condemned homosexual behavior. And if you want to hammer one more nail into the coffin of homosexuality, just for the fun of it, Islam – which is considered the third Abrahamic religion, and draws largely, if abstractly, from portions of both the Old and New Testaments – likewise condemns and always has condemned homosexual behavior.

    If someone wants to say that they don’t believe the Bible and that they do support homosexuality… well, whatever. But if you say you believe the Bible but that biblical teaching supports homosexuality? Honestly, you’ve got thousands of years of history split between literally three different religious systems and numerous sects and denominations within those religious systems which all disagree with a uniform, “No.”

  6. I have an honest question. Lying is a sin, right? Yet there are Christians who lie. Hatred, emulation, strife, variance, lust, murder, adultery, greed, gluttony, etc… are all sins. Yet there are Christians who do all of those things. They struggle against their sin, and sometimes are not successful. We don’t tell someone that they are not a Christian because they do those things. We tell them that they are sinning and that they need to get right with God and restore their fellowship with Him. So, how come when someone is homosexual, who claims to be a Christian, we don’t tell them the same thing? All of a sudden now, we tell them that they are not saved. Saying that there are no gay Christians make sense to me if Christians were sinless in every other area and that was the only sin that was being committed by those who claim to know Christ.

    Thank you ahead of time for whoever may answer my question.

    P.S. I am a married man and I am not gay.

  7. Sam I agree with you that sin is sin and there is no greater or lesser degree, but our sin should not define who we are in Christ. As a Christian we all sin, but sin should not be our habit of life. If it is then we need to examine ourselves to see if we are in the faith or not. Only God knows the heart and knows whether or not a person is saved, but we do have His Word.

    Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.
    (2Co 5:17)

    For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus unto good works, which God hath before ordained that we should walk in them.
    (Eph 2:10)

    If we say that we have fellowship with him, and walk in darkness, we lie, and do not the truth:
    (1Jn 1:6)

    An all too common phrase is “don’t judge me”. We are not the judge, but if we truly love then we are going to encourage others in their walk with the Lord.

    Jesus said, “By this shall all men know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love one to another.” (Joh 13:35)

    The Holy Spirit will convict of sin, we don’t have to. If someone is content to live a life in the habit of sin with no conviction who say “God is fine with ???” then they need to examine their self to see if they be in the faith or not.

Leave a Reply

