Still that girl.

Last week in the middle of my 4-part “drinking my own poison” blog series, a friend and member at my former church left me a comment on facebook, then followed up with a few text messages t ome. Her messages were a huge encouragement to me as she reminded me that my story isn’t over yet – there’s still many chapters to be written. Thinking back to all the trials that she went through herself last year is a sobering thought. My hurt and trials were trivial compared to hers.

I’m thankful for friends who take the time to encourage other people when they’re at low points in their life. The last thing anyone needs is to be kicked some more while they’re already down, regardless the reason for their fall. Believe in the people in your life; lift them up and have faith that God can still do great things with them and through them.

This friend also shared a song with me and then followed it with these words: “fits your topic, and I think you ARE still that girl and you’re gonna change the world.”

Thank you, friend, for being a cheerleader in my life. You are a blessing, and I love you.

Here are the lyrics if you’d like to read along to the video (note: I removed alot of the empty “oh, oh, oh’s”).

Still That Girl

by Britt Nicole

Dreams, they come
Plans, they change
Yeah, we’re gonna break
Yeah, we’re gonna break
Things we face make us who we are
Baby, you’re a star shining in the dark
Let’s go back to the summer, summer when
We dreamed in love, let’s go back again
Let’s go back again
Yeah, back again, my friend
To the summer when…
I’m holding a picture from seven years back
I smile at the memory, it’s smiling right back at me, and I see
Brown hair and bright eyes, such a beautiful blue
A heart full of laughter with nothing to lose
That’s how I remember you

You were young, you were free
And you dared to believe
You could be the girl
Who could change the world
Then your life took a turn
And you fell, and it hurt
But you’re still that girl
And you’re gonna change this world
You’re still that girl

Sometimes life don’t go the way you planned
And we all have days when we just don’t understand
Searching for meaning, it’s not always easy
But your story’s not over, it’s still being told
Your sunrise is coming without letting go
Let’s go back again
To the summer when

You were young, you were free
And you dared to believe
You could be the girl
Who could change the world
Then your life took a turn
And you fell, and it hurt
But you’re still that girl
And you’re gonna change this world
You’re still that girl

What if the picture is bigger than you see?
And God has you right where he wants you to be
Just listen to your heart
He’s telling you with every beat
You’re still that girl

You were young you were free
And you dared to believe
You could be the girl
Who could change the world
Then your life took a turn
Don’t you know?
Don’t you see?
But you’re still that girl
And you’re gonna change this world
You’re still that girl

I see it in your eyes
I see it in your smile
You’re still that girl
You’re still that girl

What songs have been a blessing to you lately…?

Posted on August 22, 2012, in Personal, YouTube & Videos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. So glad that you have found song…at various times in my life the words of modern worship songs or hymns havebeen spot on addressing where I am in my life at the moment. Other times, just a song of praise particularly speaks to me…

    Right now, Pastor Charles Jenkins and the choir from his church performing “Awesome” makes me lift my hands in praise, cry tears of joy and thanks, and then want to charge hell’s gates. Give it a listen when you get a chance! You can find it on vimeo.

    Thank you for writing this blog.

    • Thank you for the song suggestion — I definitely will try to find that song later! it sounds… well, awesome. :]

      What you wrote reminded me of a quote I’ve often heard preachers say while preaching about witnessing to the lost: “charge hell with a squirtgun!” makes me smile every time.

  2. Awww sweet, sweet Heather! Saw Amy’s “like” on facebook and it brought me to your blog. Please know I have been praying for you for your health situation for the past year. I am sorry you had to go through some low’s emotionally. Why is it that it seems it is either all or nothing in the Christian life? Please know you are loved and special and I will continue to pray for you as you find that perfect balance. One thing I can say is I am so thankful that Jesus loves me just for who I am! He does you, too. As someone who grew up in the shadows of some pretty giant Christians, it has been completely freeing to let go of what I think (and know) others think of me, and only focus on what Jesus’ thinks. In the end, we all have or sins we battle. Some or more easy to target and point out than others, but no one is perfect.

    Barbara

    • Thank you so much for your continued prayers over the past year. My health is in excellent condition (or so I think) – I haven’t actually been back to the doctor since my last post-surgery check-up last July. :\

      I appreciate your encouraging comment. :]

  3. Heather, my Go-To-Encouraging-Song is Mary Chapin Carpenter’s “Why Walk When You Can Fly”. It’s boosts my spirit and gets me going every time. Here’s a link:

Leave a Reply

