Weekend Words of Wisdom {8.18.12}

First things first, I want to wish my sweet baby girl a happy 2-year adoption birthday! Morgan came into our lives on August 16, 2010. She has made MY life so much brighter and happier since becoming a part of our family. I’m so thankful we were able to rescue her from the Last Day Dog Rescue two years ago. I believe we have made her life so much happier, just as she has done for us.

I love you, Morgan!

Next up… I had a pretty busy week, so I didn’t get a chance to listen to quite as many sermons as I hoped to. But I did get to listen to a few of them, and this one sermon particularly spoke to me – and since the quotes I took from this sermon are rather lengthy, I’m going to limit this week’s WWOW post to just this sermon.

The sermon was titled “It’s Not Good Enough” by Dr. R.B. Ouellette, Pastor of First Baptist Church of Bridgeport, MI.

I have had the honor of hearing this great man of God preach in person many times at many different churches. Every time I sit under his preaching I get helped. I hope these will be a blessing to you as well.

“The Christian life is not a negotiation. The Christian life is a surrender.” ~ Dr. R.B. Ouellette

“There’s still some Reubonites and Gaddites and Mannasites with us today. They weild no sword; their hands hold no spear; their pockets contain no tracks; they carry no soul-winner’s New Testament; their lips tell nothing of the Gospel of Jesus Christ; no converts of theirs walk down an isle and trouble the waters of a baptistry. Oh, no! They run no buses; they have no soul-winning program; they support precious few missionaries; they take no stand; they’re preoccupied with keeping the offerings good, and the crowds decent, and everybody hapy, and their pension account really filled! Oh, every once in awhile they’ll hear the shouts and the sounds of battle wafting over the Jordan River and some pang of guilt and conviction may trouble them, but after all, why rock the boat? Why bother anybody? Why mess things up? Everything’s good just like it is! Why don’t they leave it like it is now?” ~ Dr. R.B. Ouellette

“Hey, I want to tell you something, brother. You have the right to go on either side of the Jordan River that you want to. You have the right to surrender to God. You have the right to be all God wants you to be. You have the right to stay on the other side – God’s not going to force you over onto the good side of the Jordan River. You know why? Because the Spirit-filled life is not a burden to be born; it is a blessing to be sought. It is a wonderful opportunity that we ought to desire! But I want you to know this. Whatever side of the Jordan River you decide to park your self-satisfied carcus on – nobody, NObody has any right ever to discourage the hearts of their brethren!” ~ Dr. R.B. Ouellette

“This is our idea of the Christian life — Oh, it’s so hard and I have to do it. I have to get up and read the Bible. Ohh. And then I have to get up and I have to get dressed and wear modest clothes… Ohh. And I can’t put holes in my face and have half a hardware store hanging out of it! And I don’t get to have drawings all 0ver my arms and forehead and back and legs! And I can’t go to movies! And I can’t listen to rock music! And I can’t be immoral, and I can’t hang out with the old crowd… but I’m gonna serve God anyway. It’s so hard. — That’s how we act.” ~ Dr. R.B. Ouellette

“It is a LIE that it’s hard to serve God and easy to live for the Devil! No, the Devil is the harsh taskmaster. The Devil is the one walking around seeking whom he may devous. The Devil is the one who uses you up and lets you lie in the gutter in your own vomit. The Devil is the one who lets you burn your brain out on his drugs. The Devil is the one that riddles your body with diseases from practicing immorality. The Devil is the one who messes up your  mind and your life so that you become an empty and a hollow shell. I want to tell you something — I didn’t give up anything to serve Jesus Christ! I live the greatest life in the world and I began to serve the most wonderful, the most loving, the most gracious, the most caring, the most rewarding Master that there ever could be! Jesus is a GREAT Master! I’m glad to serve Him!” ~ Dr. R.B. Ouellette

“The Word of God says everybody who is saved has an obligation to everybody who’s not saved to tell them how they can be saved – it’s your job to tell people how they can be saved!” ~ Dr. R.B. Ouellette

“It’s a sin not to reach everybody you know with the Gospel of Jesus Christ.” ~ Dr. R.B. Ouellette

“God’s good to people who serve Him!” ~ Dr. R.B. Ouellette

And my personal favorite…

“It’s not good enought to be ‘good enough.’ It’s only ‘good enough’ when you’re sold out.” ~ Dr. R.B. Ouellette

Anything you’d like to share…?

Have a great weekend and a wonderful Sunday in Church!

Posted on August 18, 2012, in Weekend Words of Wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Blessings Heather Joy and Morgan and all else involved… especially that other sweet puppy face (Jack Russel or Pincher or min. Greyhound???)!!! Congratulations on this great adoption! Bless you for the rescue! Happy adoption Day Morgan! I can sure tell that you bless her the same as she has brightened up your life and been such a bonus to your family. Thanks for stopping by and leaving your “paw” print at my blog.

    So much to catch up on here with your most recent series and mission trip to Costa Rica. I caught a bit in Google Reader but now I’m intrigued to catch up (if I ever get some extra time … but it looks like you need some time, prayer and finances, sent a prayer up for you as I briefly and quickly caught some of it, and I will continue to pray as you have quite an overwhelming load)… Really wonderful words of wisdom and insights!

    I’m off to church! May you enjoy a SUPER SONday and the rest of this weekend! Hoping God sends you some rescue too.Love your heart, Heather Joy!

    (((hugs)))Peggy

    • Peggy –
      Thank you so much for your sweet comment!

      My little puppy is an Italian Greyhound (basically a miniature greyhound). He’s now 7 months old and weighs around 11 pounds. He’s full grown though. 🙂

      I hope you enjoy whatever other articles you decide to read on this blog.

      Blessings,
      Heather Joy

  2. First, I’ll never be “good enough.”

    Second, when your dog eats you, can I have your new Bible? As long as you don’t have it engraved, of course.

    • Haha!! I will probably not get it engraved. I normally don’t, anyways. But if you have plans to steal it, I may get it engraved just to be spiteful! ;P jk.

      Secondly, no Christian will ever be “good enough” till they reach the other side of Heaven.

      Thirdly, i’m pretty sure my neighbor would eat me before my sweet girl would ever do it. She’s literally the WORST guard dog ever. Whenever someone new is at the front door she stands there and wags her tail and as soon as they come in she licks them to death… worst. guard dog. everrrrr. (but I like it that way). :] I know if I were ever in danger she’d perk up and do her “guard dog” duties – but otherwise, she so not agressive towards people at all.

Leave a Reply

