Weekend Words of Wisdom {8.11.12}

Throughout the week I listen to .mp3 sermons by all sorts of preachers while I work. While I listen, sometimes something the preacher says catches my attention and I write it down — that is where these new “weekend words of wisdom” posts come in.

I’m going to share with you the quotes and outlines I write down throughout the week. I figure if they’re a help to me, perhaps they’ll be a blessing to you as well.

The sermons I listened to this week were:

  1. “Are You Serious?” by Phil Kidd
  2. “The Best Life” by Cary Schmidt
  3. “Rejected Sacrifices” by Mark Rogers
  4. “I Shall Find Grace” by Brian McBride
  5. “No Condemnation” by Dean McNeese
  6. “What Never Changes” by Tony Shirley
  7. “Christian Life Demands Change” by Will Galkin
  8. “Consider Your Calling” by Cary Schmidt
  9. “Faithful and Fruitful” by Paul Chappell
  10. “How’s Your Well?” by CT Townsend
  11. “The God of Bitterness” by Brian McBride

All of the following quotes were taken from the above sermons…

“The will of God is when WHO you are meets WHY you are.” – Cary Schmidt

“An idol in your life is something that you’ve made your mind up about, and you’ve come to the point where you don’t even want to hear what the Bible has to say about it. And if somebody dares take the Bible and show you what it says, you get mad.” – Mark Rogers

“God doesn’t want what we’ve done. God wants what He’s done through us.” – Mark Rogers

“It’s not painful for you to put money into the offering if you’ve already given yourself to God.” – Mark Rogers

“Not everything that we offer to God is acceptable to Him. There are some things that He’s already rejected.” – Mark Rogers

“Grace is anytime God pays attention to me.” – Brian McBride

“Adversity does not MAKE us what we are. Adversity REVEALS to us what we are.” – Brian McBride

  1. The law cannot condemn me anymore because Christ hath fulfilled the law. (Romans 6:14, 8:3)
  2. Divine justice cannot condemn me anymore for Christ hath satisfied the justice of God. (Romans 5:1)
  3. Thy sins cannot rise up and condemn thee, for the blood of Christ has washed them away. (Romans 5:20)
  4. Thy conscience cannot condemn thee though it often tries, for Christ hath acquitted thee and pardoned thee.
  5. The adversary – our great accuser, the accuser of the brethren – cannot condemn thee for Christ defeated Him on Calvary’s cross.
  6. It doesn’t matter if people condemn you because they don’t count. – Dean McNeese

“Pharisees never taste grace. Publicans that repent do.– Will Galkin

“I find it interesting that many times Jesus will position Himself between you and what you think you need so you can find out what you really need.” – CT Townsend

And my personal favorite…

“Aren’t you glad that Jesus isn’t just interested in the blue-chip stock? Jesus is not just interested in little Sunday school girls and Sunday school boys. But God is interested in the streetwalker downtown; He’s interested in the alcoholic in the bar; He’s interested in the homosexual down in Gainesville! God’s not like a Baptist! He has interest for all who ever will! He’s looking for somebody that’ll come to Him for full, free pardon of sin!” – CT Townsend

For those of you who have an iPhone, you can download a free app called “sermonaudio.com” where you can search for sermons by speaker, subject, etc. and download them to your phone! I’m not sure if it’s available for Androids or  not  —  if you have an Android and are able to find said app, leave a comment below and let me know!

What are some of your favorite quotes…?

have a great weekend!

Posted on August 11, 2012, in Weekend Words of Wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love the quotes!

    To answer your question, one of my favorites is: “I’d like to live the rest of my life as a lamb with a broke leg, because a lamb with a broke leg is carried in the arms of the Shepherd.” – Mike Ragland.

  2. Its available for android. I have it, I have found the mobile website works better than the actual app…Just my opinion. Bro. Kenny Baldwin from Crossroads Baptist Church is my favorite preacher from that site.

Leave a Reply

