it’s chaotic and less than perfect…

How’s your life lately…?  Keeping busy?  Keeping your priorities straight?  Stressed out?

I promised you that i’d try to write a post this weekend and answer any questions you all had. besides that, I like to give you periodic updates on whats going on in my crazy life from time to time. I think it’s important that if readers are going to read something, they “get to know” the author.

i know my posts usually post at 7:00 AM (EST), but today is my mom’s 62nd birthday – so i’ve been a little busy celebrating and enjoying her special day with her! hence, the late-night posting.

The last thing I remember telling you was that I was in the hospital with cellulitus. Well, thank God – that has pretty much cleared up. I just have 3 new little scars where the scab had formed. Thank you to those who were praying for me.

What I don’t remember if I told you or not is that I stated a new job a couple weeks back. I still work at the same place, but in a different office. And I couldn’t be happier. The people I work with are great, and my boss is such a great guy to work for! Oh, and instead of being responsible to help 70-ish people, I’m now only responsible for 10. The only drawback is that it’s a temporary position called a “developmental” – meaning the job only lasts for 6 months to a year, and then I go back to my old position if I don’t apply for and accept another position somewhere else.

I’m still going to Northwood University working on my Bachelor’s Degree in Business Management. I’m currently taking 5 classes this semester, and after i finish this semester i’ll only have 3 classes left to get my degree – which i plan to take this summer. I also plan to start my two-year Masters Degree Program at Northwood University in the fall if all goes as planned.

On top of taking classes for my Bachelors Degree, I’m also taking classes through work to obtain what is called “PM Certifications.” I’ve already completed the Level 1 classes, and i started on my Level 2 classes this past week. Actually, I completed 3 classes last week alone – which is a big accomplishment, since these classes take a lot of time. but i’m proud of myself – most people don’t get these classes done until they’re farther along in their career and it’s crunchtime for them. I also enrolled in the CES Foundation Course so I can get that out of the way. i have 4 months to complete the entire course.

And since i’ve been dealing with so much illness over the past year and a half, i’m finally taking a vacation for the first time in 2 years. My best friend’s mother invited me to join their family vacation this year and go on an Alaska Cruise! I’m so excited! We leave on either May 23 or 24 (my birthday!) and will return on June 2.

lastly, i started weight watchers a couple weeks ago to try to finally lose all the weight i gained during my tumor-related illness and all the surgery stuff. with all the medications i was on, i was gaining weight like crazy. so far i’ve lost a few pounds, and i’m loving the weight watchers program — it’s easy and convenient. in another 6 months, don’t be surprised if i’m one of those crazy spokespeople for weight watchers. i’m already a huge fan and recommend it to everyone looking for a good diet plan!

so that’s basically it in a nutshell. It’s chaotic and it’s less than perfect, but it’s my life, and I love living it.

Okay… now to answer the questions you had for me:

danklemitis asked: What message has been rolling around in your brain as of late, and what are your thoughts?

Mainly, my prayer life. Preacher has been preaching a lot on prayer for the past month or so and i’ve really been realizing how lacking my prayer life is. my life is stressful for lots of reason, and when something comes up i usually try to fix things on my own. i don’t take it to the Lord and ask Him for help. I don’t ask people to pray for me (not like i should anyways).

Pastor Baker asked: When black chryslers roll down your street, does Eminem music start playing?

Are you asking if it starts playing in said car? or if it starts playing in my head? LOL. because the answer to both is no… ha. unless of course you play that old Chrysler commercial from the 2011 super bowl – then yes. :]

Pete A. asked: Our family’s been most concerned about your health. How are you doing and how is your outlook?

In addition to what i said above about my health, everything else seems to be going great. I haven’t had any more pain or discomfort, so i haven’t gone back to the doctor. you know what they say: “no news is good news.” my outlook for the most part has been pretty positive. i’m not saying that there haven’t been times when i questioned why or been a little frustrated. but as long as i realize that God is always right, and i am always wrong, and He doesn’t owe me any explanations – then everything will be alright.

Posted on March 3, 2012, in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I lost 27 pounds on weight watchers in 2000 and 25 pounds when I rejoined in 2008. It is a great, practical, HEALTHY way to lose weight! 🙂

    I am glad that you are doing better, Heather!

  2. Your response to my question is so WEIRD (in a good way), because our youth group leadership has decided that we have not been focused enough on prayer. We have started with ourselves, and all of a sudden it has just been coming up during youth meetings. I think God has it all figured out!

    Thanks for the update! It is nice hearing our prayers are being heard and handled by a great God!

  3. Hmmm. A blog. Surgery. New job. 5 college classes, then work for a Master’s degree (btw, that’s what I have). More classes for PM certifications, Level 1 & 2 (sounds like what my son’s taking, but his is for being an inspector in the natural gas industry. A cruise. And I probably missed something!

    Heather, it sounds to me like you’ve found the secret of the 36-hour day (maybe even 48!). Would you mind sharing that with some of the rest of us who for mysterious reasons are stuck on 24? (I will say, I can’t think of ANYONE I’ve known who’s gotten that much into a day, and that is meant as sincere congratulations. You certainly accomplish things, and to say I’m impressed (and hoping you won’t burn out) is an understatement!) Good luck!

Leave a Reply

