i am a Christian.

what’s this?!  four posts in a row this week?  it’s like this site hit the jackpot of blogging! (ish)  ;]

a friend of mine found this poem online and i stole it from her. i don’t know who the author is or when it was written or anything about it really… other than it’s really awesome and spot on.

when you tell people you’re a Christian, what is their reaction? do they slowly start to back away? do they look at you like you’ve gone mad? do they show concern on their face like they’re not good enough to be around you? are they interested in obtaining the grace you’ve found?

when I tell people that i’m a Christian, i want them to look at my life and see hope and peace and love and joy. i don’t want them to be terrified that i’m going to ram my beliefs down their throat. but i want to be the person who is willing to share their faith at any given point in time when an opportunity arises.

I Am A Christian

When I say… “I am a Christian”
I’m not shouting “I’m clean living’.”
I’m whispering “I was lost,
Now I’m found and forgiven.”

When I say… “I am a Christian”
I don’t speak of this with pride.
I’m confessing that I stumble
And need Christ to be my guide.

When I say… “I am a Christian”
I’m not trying to be strong.
I’m professing that I’m weak
And need His strength to carry on.

When I say… “I am a Christian”
I’m not bragging of success.
I’m admitting I have failed
And need God to clean my mess.

When I say… “I am a Christian”
I’m not claiming to be perfect.
My flaws are far too visible
But God believes I am worth it.

When I say… “I am a Christian”
I still feel the sting of pain.
I have my share of heartaches
So I call upon His Name.

When I say… “I am a Christian”
I’m not holier than thou,
I’m just a simple sinner
Who received God’s good grace somehow!

Author Unknown

thoughts on this poem?
anything you’d like to add to it?
what is your favorite Christian/inspiration poem?

Posted on February 16, 2012, in Christian Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Jackpot? Nah, but it’s good to see some life in you. It’s just good to see that you are doing more than the “gotta doos” aka things that you’ve gotta do to get by. There’s life in you yet 🙂

  2. That’s really cool. I may steal it from you for Sunday 😉

  3. M'Lynn McKeethan

    It was written by Maya Anjalou. Not sure I spelled her last name correctly but she did write it.

  4. Nice to see you back more regularly! (And liked the poem.) Hope that means you’re feeling better too! If, however, you find yourself back in bed for a spell, you might try what I did when I tore up my leg and was in bed for a solid month – I took a Bible topic I was curious about and, instead of watching TV the whole time, I leafed through my whole Bible quickly scanning for passages on it. Then later took a concordance and looked up all the key words I’d found the first time.

    Ended up with about 3,000 verses and felt that, now, for the first time I really KNEW what the Scriptures taught on that topic.

    If I could do that any differently, I’d do what a friend of ours says that a lady in a church her husband once pastored (in Chicago) used to do. Every year (not just once in awhile, and not just while stuck in bed) she’d pick a new topic and study it for that whole year. Joan says she grew tremendously.

  5. I couldn’t help but think about the balance between pride and humility when reading the poem. Probably because I wrote on humility a few days ago. But sometimes it’s easier to write about than to live! Haha! Enjoyed it! Thanks for sharing!

  6. This poem was written by Carol Wimmer (http://carolwimmer.com/when-i-say-i-am-a-christian). She is very gracious about granting permission to use her poem. It’s a good one for sure!

Leave a Reply

