bitterness is never hidden.

i was reading ahead in the Novemeber/December 2011 issue of the Baptist Bread and i found a devotional i thought was interesting and helpful. and since i’ve got nothing else to spew out of my mouth, i figured i’d share it with you all as today’s post. actually, you may be seeing several of these “Baptist Bread” posts in the next month.

if you recall, i’ve done this once before. yay for Baptist Bread!

anywho, with the “changes” that have been going on in my life many people might be quick to point their boney little finger at me and scream “you’re just bitter!!” well… no. i’m not. i’m just trying to focus my life on what’s important. if that’s what you consider bitterness then it’s you that has the problem, not me. imagine that.

this particular chapter was written by Pastor Tim Luchon (Hilltop Baptist Church in Hunker, PA).

“Follow peace with all men, and holiness, without which no man shall see the Lord: Looking diligently lest any man fail of the grace of God; lest any root of bitterness springing up trouble you, and thereby many be defiled.” ~ Hebrews 12:14-15

bitterness is the silent killer of spirituality. Provers 14:10 says, “The heart knoweth his own bitterness;…”   we do know what is troubling us; we only fail to deal with it.

CAUSES OF BITTERNESS

  1. great trials with little faith in God’s grace.
  2. desiring what someone else has which you cannot attain.
  3. the carnality of wanting to be someone else in position or personality.
  4. being hurt by another’s sin.
  5. unresolved conflicts.
  6. a false perception of what someone things of you.
  7. un-met needs, emotionally and physically.

HOW TO ROOT OUT BITTERNESS

  1. understand that you do know what is “bothering you.”
  2. search for “sore sports.” situations that upset you can be a root of bitterness.
  3. take all problems discovered to God’s grace.
  4. know that bitterness may be the very root of your bad disposition.
  5. confess all bitterness as SIN.
  6. never blame others for your bitterness. it is your fault, and it is self-inflicted.
  7. realize your bittereness will hurt many others if you let it stay. when we admit to and take responsibility for our own bitterness, that root cause will be cut out.

so… thoughts?
is there anything that you would add to the list of causes of bitterness?
would you add anything to the resolving bitterness list?

Posted on November 3, 2011, in Christian Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. “bitterness” (and being accused of being bitter) is often the “club” that is to beat someone into submission when they speak out against or leave a controlling, manipulative religious group. It was used against me when I left my IFB chruch.

  2. Bitterness can be when someone “throws in the towel” and stops serving because it appears nobody else cares (I’ve been there in the past).

    It can also be when someone doesn’t get the answer to prayer that they expected (not realizing or admitting that it wasn’t what they needed).

    Bitterness can also root from conviction. I know when I was out of church, I was bitter against a lot of people because they brought heavy conviction upon me for the things I was doing and not doing.

    Sadly, I know a little too much about bitterness from my past. Praise the Lord He has helped remove that from me. 🙂

  3. My thoughts…

    1) Bitterness can be caused by sin, that’s for sure. But bitterness may also be the result of someone else’s sin. The bitterness comes as a result of unforgiveness. Now, it is important that one must not automatically label another’s reactions as bitterness. What may be called bitterness may just be a stage through which someone is going as he/she deals with being hurt. True bitterness is something that is held on to and nurtured, even after time has come and gone. True bitterness can be linked to one who has not only been wronged, but is desirous of revenge.

    2) Bitterness can be overcome with praise. One can’t praise God and still harbor bitterness for long. Eventually, when we focus on His goodness despite our sin, we will find it easier to either forgive, or just let God deal with it.

    3) I disagree with one of the points made above in the original post. I DO believe one can become bitter without knowing the root cause. It is no different with depression. Sometimes the two are linked, and neither may be easy to explain without help.

    • I really like what you said in point two! I think if we Christians remembered that key factor of praise more often, it would benefit us! A good friend of mine also told me once that when a person feels depressed, they should make it a point to get on their knees and start praying for others. It takes the focus off of self and can help eliminate the dark feelings. I’ve tried it when I have felt depressed, and it does really help!

      I also agree with point three. More often than not, when I fell into bitterness or depression, I didn’t know why. I tried to analyze, but I never truly found the roots. Then I realized the important thing wasn’t the roots but getting the bitterness/depression out of my life (sometimes you need to know the roots to do that but not always).

  4. For me bitterness has come from being hurt. Things said that aren’t true. It’s a form of anger, except it only hurts the one harboring it. I’ve had to work hard on this one.

    Good post. Thanks for posting it.

    Regarding “changes” going on in your life. 5 years ago I stopped doing a lot of my activities. I was working full-time, teaching SS in the mornings and Kids’ Club at night and then doing a women’s Bible Study in the evenings ocassionally. I was worn out and exhausted and needed a break. I took that break because I needed renewed.

    Some people accused me of “checking out”. My response was that I had quit spinning my wheels and running in circles and was finally stopping long enough to “check in”.

    Sometimes we need to step back and see what God really wants us to do, instead of what everyone else things we should be doing.

  5. As long as taking a break from everything is what God wants you to do, there is no problem with that. The important thing is just making sure that it is God’s Will. Everyone gets tired, so that cannot be the sole discerner.

    Sometimes, God does give us breaks. Again, we just need to make sure it is from God. We need to make sure we are not exhausted because we are doing things in our power and not His. If that is the case, we should not quit but ask Him to replenish us.

    I only speak by my own experiences; that is all. I of course cannot judge anyone else’s circumstances. I dropped out of things and shouldn’t have. It led to a really bad avenue in my life.

Leave a Reply

