Question of the day: CCM.

first things first… to those of you who “celebrate” it (or whatever): Happy Halloween!

Are you dressing up for the occasion?
If yes, what’s your costume?

okay… so this is not so much a question as it is a few quotes followed by me asking to share your thoughts on the matter.

i actually came across this post in my drafts folder over the weekend and thought it would make an interesting QOTD (ish) post. these quotes came from a facebook discussion i once had – and as you can tell from the dates of said-quotes, said discussion happened over a year ago. obviously, i’m a bit behind. wahoo.

I don’t know that we’ve actually ever discussed CCM (Contemporary Christian Music) on this blog before – so hit me with your best answers and your clearest thoughts. (not that you ever don’t do that…)

here goes…

“Music is powerful and can move us in a great way. Sadly many today do not know the difference between the power of music and the power of the Holy Spirit, and that is why they love the ccm and praise/worship music. One of my Bible Institute students made this point the other day and I thought it was great, his name is Paul Johnson.”
~ Preacher E. (1 OCT 2010)

“Steven Curtis Chapman’s album “Beauty Will Rise” is a perfect example (of my earlier comment). If you read the words to the songs you will see that for the most part the words are about his young daughter that died in a tragic auto accident…. The songs are very emotional and moving, but not very spiritual. The spiritual messages in the songs are so subtle that you could hear them and not even realize they are intended to be Christian songs (This is why he is so popular with the unsaved masses). Compare these words with the words in a hymn book. Many ccm songs remind me of country and western songs that mention God, Jesus or Heaven but only in an insignificant way. My point earlier was that many modern Christians are lacking the discernment to see ccm for what it is and I think Jarrett’s comment is evidence that my thoughts are accurate.”
~ Preacher E. (1 OCT 2010)

then there’s Bible verses such as the following:

“Speaking to yourselves in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody in your heart to the Lord.” ~ Ephesians 5:19

which, honestly, i try to avoid speaking to myself at all. period. because people tend to think i’m loco when i talk to myself. just saying…

thoughts? opinions? answers? arguments? countering quotes?
ready, set… go!

And don’t forget to answer my halloween questions!  :]

Posted on October 31, 2011, in Question of the Day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. This “Preacher E” paints CCM with a VERY broad brush (as those that are against CCM do) by pointing out one CD by one artist.

  2. I love music. I play music. I write music. I love God. I play Christian music. I write Christian music. I don’t write ancient music. I don’t re-write hymns. I write music that is meant to be heard in a modern context. I “sing unto the Lord a NEW song.”

    To say the CCM is ungodly is about as narrow-minded, prejudice, and spiritually bigoted as saying only Charismatics lift their hands in worship. The typical opponent of CCM likes to pick the worst, most obvious examples of that style of music, then make that the standard by which to judge every Christian who chooses to not sing the Isaac Watts top ten.

    With regards to Steven Curtis Chapman, Preacher E. misses the point that there is nothing wrong with a musician singing a song about real-life pain and loss, especially when he still trusts God through it all. Just because it doesn’t quote Scripture or rehearse apostolic dogma doesn’t mean God is not glorified from it.

    Ultimately, to be very blunt and honest, most of the ones that are against CCM need to take a chill pill and be thankful we are not still singing Gregorian chants. Lest one forget, the bar songs of old gave rise to the tunes of many “sacred” hymns.

    In response to Preacher E.’s comment, “The spiritual messages in the songs are so subtle that you could hear them and not even realize they are intended to be Christian songs…many modern Christians are lacking the discernment to see ccm for what it is..,” I submit the following lyrics from “The Mission” by The News Boys:

    When the runners came from Bethlehem
    All breathless with good news
    They were passing a baton forward through time
    The commission, from God’s lips to our ears
    Carried by his saints two thousand years
    Connects us all to the same lifeline
    As I fix my eyes ahead
    I can feel the spirit’s breath…

    (AND) I CAN HEAR THE MISSION BELL RINGING OUT LOUD AND CLEAR
    IT’S THE REVOLUTION JESUS STARTED, AND IT’S HERE
    ECHOING ACROSS THE WORLD FROM THE SHORES OF GALILEE
    I CAN HEAR THE MISSION BELL CALL FOR YOU AND ME
    I WANNA RUN WITH FIRE
    IT’S MY HEART’S DESIRE
    LIFTING YOUR LOVE HIGHER

    In the history of our faith’s arrivals
    Great awakenings, Welsh revivals
    Saints and martyrs, summoned by a new birth
    Patrick’s save of the Irish nation
    William Carey’s expectation
    Lambs & lions
    Called to the ends of the earth
    Gotta put my hand to the plow
    Not looking back, not now…

    Wow! I could have sworn this was a country song! Who would’ve known?

    • absolutely 100% agree with you.
      When I started attending a church with CCM I was just flabergasted by the amount of scripture being quoted!
      I was rasied IFB so I was drilled with the Scripture.
      The majority of the songs we use are so full of scripture it hits you like a ton of bricks.
      Of course thats not to say that ALL songs are perfect. That’s like saying all rocks are diamonds.

      Thanks for the reply!

  3. I’m not against CCM, but I am convinced that there is no such thing as secular music. “Secular” means it is spiritually agnostic. In fact, all music is spiritual. Some of it glorifies God. Some of it glorifies darkness.

    What saddens me is that some people feel that in order to glorify God, the song must contain the name “Jesus” or be blatantly scriptural. I was just listening to “Someone Like You” by Adele, and I think it glorifies God, because it’s an honest account of what goes on inside a heartbroken person. I caught “Where The Streets Have No Name” yesterday in the car with my son, and I was thinking about how it glorifies God. I hear songs all day long which glorify God either because they come from a person using his/her God-given gifts, or because they paint some important truth. If the rocks can praise God by being rocks, then surely songs which don’t quite fit under “CCM” umbrella do the same.

    • A C Baker’s comment said what I was trying to say, only much better than I did.

      I will say that I am reminded of “Chariots of Fire” in which an athlete is persuaded by his family that the only life he needs to live is as a missionary. He explains to his sister why he much put off mission work till after he is done running: “I believe God made me for a purpose, but he also made me fast. And when I run I feel His pleasure.”

      Perhaps the Christians who would have persuaded Liddell from pursuing his calling of running are similar to those who’d say that music must meet some narrow criteria or else it doesn’t glorify God.

  4. A.C. Baker’s reply was powerful and hit the center of the bullseye.

    “Contemporary Christian Music” is a very large catchall basket, because its defining word is “contemporary” – “Christian” music written, produced, sung today, no matter what it’s like. I love a great deal of CCM – and dislike a lot of the rest. The differences? For starters, does it glorify God? Does it sing about loving God with all our heart, soul, mind and strength? Does it talk about loving and helping our neighbors – and, by doing so, loving and helping Jesdus? Is it Scriptural? Especially, is it taken directly from Scripture? Does it quote the Word?

    After we moved here, the largest Protestant church in town split – and then both halves disappeared – because its members could not agree on what kind of music their services should feature. Old Protestant hymns, based on theology? Or 1990’s CCM, the type that was taken almost verbatim from Scripture?

    Whichever one you like – and I think you can make a good case for both in different ways – that was a tragedy. It did not need to happen. There is no question that those people’s attitudes (probably on both sides) did not please God. Enough said.

    Halloween? Oh, that is today, isn’t it? Costume, no. Bowl of candy, yes. Stop by!

  5. This is very broud and general. Not all music is good, but not all is bad either.
    I attend a church now that uses “CCM” as you call it. However it is nothing but glorifying songs about God.
    I came from the IFB background so of course I was skeptical about all this CCM. Im refreshed and amazed at how much of the songs we use come straight from the book of pslams! and the others are just as deeply rooted in scripture if not taken directly from Scripture.

    Read the book of Psalms! its full of the worship music we should have. He gave us the words to say…never told us what music to put to it.
    its about your heart, your attitude, and the message.
    plain and simple. Stone me if you must.

    now every church is different and you cant just use a song simply because its “christian”. But I think if you gave it a chance you’d be surprised

  6. I will start by saying “See A.C. Baker’s response.”

    I will add that for a few years here and there Pastor E.’s analysis is pretty close to accurate; but for the last few years a lot of bands have been “covering” hymns, putting psalms to music, or creating new and theologically amazing songs (case in point: Down Here, Casting Crowns, Mercy Me, and Building 429 – four of my favorites).

    I will also add that I wish more churches (including my own) would add more hymns back into the music set list. If there is one thing with which I agree with Pastor E.’s comments, it is that most of the hymns are just amazing and that many people have confused emotional responses and the power of the Holy Spirit.

  7. Oh, and my wife and I dress up for Halloween for the simple fact that it is the night we first met. We find ways to have different costumes that work together.

    This year, she dressed as a hippie with a black shirt emblazoned with a huge peace sign on the front (the back had “John 14:27”), and I dressed as a mime wearing a black t-shirt with a finger pressed to lips on the front (the back had “Psalm 46:10) (we want to be able to wear these shirts year-round).

    Together we were: Peace and Quiet.

Leave a Reply

