“Did not our heart burn within us…?”

I have spent the last couple weeks under constant preaching. I’ve been to three different tent meetings at three different churches, and I’ve also attended a revival meeting at another church. I’ve heard loads of awesome preaching from several of (in my opinion) the greatest preachers around today. In fact, I don’t think it would be an exaggeration to say that my spirit is on a preaching-overload.

During the second tent meeting that I attended, I went into the beginning of the week expecting to hear from the Lord; expecting that He would do a work in my life and give me something that would carry me through the busy, chaotic days. However, He was silent to me for several days.

I don’t know if He was silent because I was so distracted with the responsibilities I had. Or if He was silent because I was completely stressed out with everything I couldn’t control in my life. Or perhaps He was silent because, while I was wanting to get answers from Him, I was looking every else BUT Him to get said answers.

Did not our heart burn within us, while he talked with us by the way, and while he opened to us the scriptures?” ~ Luke 24:32b

What was I really looking for? I wanted my heart to burn within me. I wanted Him to talk to me and open the Scriptures up and reveal something in my life.

If you’re “talking with someone by the way” that must mean that you’re in said person’s presence. You’re physically with that person while enjoying a conversation with them.

So then it hit me…

Maybe that’s why He’s been a little silent lately. My devotional time has been a little lacking lately. And I haven’t been praying about things in my life like I should be. Overall, I really haven’t been in His presence like I should. I’ve been getting complacent; comfortable with being by myself.

Sometimes life happens and you’re so busy serving  the Lord, that you forget (or simply forgo) to actually spend time  with Him.

So I ask you…

Has your heart been lit on fire lately?
What’s been getting in the way of spending time with the Lord these days?

Posted on August 10, 2011, in Questions in the Bible and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. This is a struggle I deal with often! I get back on track, things get hectic, and I am back to square one . . .

  2. Indigestion is a real worry for more and more people. Many thanks for the article. Really appreciate it.

  1. Pingback: “Whom shall I send…?” « Grow Up!

  2. Pingback: Anety

Leave a Reply

