Question of the day: great men. Bible versions.

Today is week 12 in the series of questions put forth by Dr. Sam Gipp in His book “The Answer Book.”* I feel like these questions have been beneficial for people on both sides of the fence:  you share your thoughts, others share their thoughts – everyone learns something in between.

As I said before, the point of these questions is not to start a Baptist War, but rather encourage everyone to engage in a discussion and learn from and among fellow believers. I believe everyone’s doing a good job at sticking to the purpose.

I don’t want you to rely on “he said, she said” or even unconfirmed history. Read your Bible, study accurate accounts of History, pray about it, and take what you don’t understand by faith.

I will post Dr. Gipp’s written answer to the question tomorrow, so be sure to check back on here for the answer to today’s question.

Here’s the question for today…

Aren’t there some great men who use other versions?

Thoughts?  Opinions?  Scriptures to back your position?

*All material from “The Answer Book”© is used on Grow Up! with permission received directly from Dr. Sam Gipp.

Posted on August 8, 2011, in Question of the Day and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Now honestly, Heather, isn’t this question about as subjective as it can be, not to mention extremely subject to judgmentalism? I can think of several men right off the top of my head who are “great men,” but Dr. Gipp might not even know them, not to mention many of your readers.

    I know that these questions are not all your own, so I don’t fault you. However, the question does irritate me. To even suggest that one’s greatness is dependent on one’s choice of Bible translation is offensive to me.

    But for the record, one that Sam may recognize is Dr. John R. Rice (Mr. “Sword of the Lord” himself). You can read my article on this subject by following this link: http://therecoveringlegalist.com/2011/01/20/was-john-r-rice-a-heretic/

    I’m sorry, but this one just made me wince. There have been plenty of great men (and women) who lived and died without the luxury of even having a copy of the Word in their hands, much less a specific translation.

    • I agree with Pastor Baker, this is an intellectually dishonest question.

      The subjective “greatness” of a person using a particular version of the Bible doesn’t have any bearing on the quality of the version itself. They’re entirely separate entities.

      It’s sad that Dr. Gipp would even attempt such a thinly veiled straw man. For tomorrow’s “answer” he’ll no doubt attack the straw man he’s just set up and use it to support a KJVO standpoint.

      I know these questions are supposed to encourage discussion, but I’m not really sure such blatant anti-intellectualism is beneficial for anyone.

  2. I pretty much agree with AC.
    My pastor is a great man who prefers NAS, like me. He’s not famous, though.

  3. By the way, I am not a KJV-only person, but can someone who is answer my obvious question about how people who speak languages other than English are apparently in a tough situation because they cannot read the KJV?

  4. I find this question offensive as it automatically excludes women. A modern-day Deborah seems to have no place in Dr. Gipp’s theology.

    Heather, does it bother you that you’re automatically disqualified from being a “great” user of the KJV because you’re a woman? It bothers me.

    • “Heather, does it bother you that you’re automatically disqualified from being a “great” user of the KJV because you’re a woman?”

      danielandtonya,
      no, it did not bother me at all. in fact, my mind didn’t even GO there. in all honesty, I believe that “great men” in this question was referring preachers — and we no women are not supposed to be preachers (according to Scripture).

      • danielandtonya

        Please be specific. Are you saying that women are not to engage in the act of preaching? Are you not doing that here on this blog? Are women really not supposed to open their mouths and let the Holy Spirit talk? Or do you mean something more specific?

        Perhaps you mean that women are not to be pastors. In that case, rather than a general reference to Scripture, could you back that up with something specific? I bet you’ll appeal to Paul’s letters to Timothy. Please do. That would be fun.

        • All believers are to be “preachers” in a generic sense. For example…just preaching/proclaiming the gospel. For at its essence preaching is just that, proclaiming a message. The actual office of the Pastor is another whole issue. Yes, I will direct you to Pauls epistles. Because what is essentially the issue here is this question, “are women qualified to be a pastor?” To answer that question it is imperative, actually it only make sense to go to where the qualifications are listed. I Timothy chapter 3, Titus chapter 1. I have questions about your untenable position. How does a woman meet the qualifications of “husband of one wife?” These are not ambigous statments. You either accept the clear english or….you sey yourself up to know better than Paul. There is also the passage in I Corinthians 14:34-35. I have only a basic high school education, but I dont need a dictionary to define what I find here. What does “keep silence” mean? What does “not permitted to speak” mean? Oh yes, I have heard the arguements. “this means not to scream, or not to be in a position of authority” How is being a Pastor NOT a position of authority??? The essence of the pastorate is authority. And yet the bible says women are to be “under obedience.” In addition Paul, yes Paul “the obvious woman hater” Paul says in verse 35 that it is a SHAME for a woman to “speak in the church.” The apostle Peter says at the end of his second epistle says that Paul wrote some “hard things” and that people wrested/twisted them to their own destruction. This is not one of those “hard to be understood” things….. It would the destruction would be worse for the obvioua things that Paul wrote.

        • Sorry about the typos….i “typed” it all on my phone….doesnt exactly lend itself to accuracy

  5. I have to agree with the other commenters here.
    (I am a KJV user for many reasons and certainly prefer it, but I also use other versions. I have no beef with KJVO or with those who are anything else)

    I would like to ask Dr Gipps what, in his opinion, makes a man “great”.

    I know many people whom I think would qualify as great, simply because they live the life, being Christlike in all areas of living. They set a great example to others, seek to reach others with the Gospel, are workers and givers in the on-going work, and inspire others to a more committed life.

    What does it matter which Bible version they use? What matters is their relationship with their Saviour and their “walk” in the world.

Leave a Reply

