Snow day snippets {8.6.11}

The weekend is finally here, and I’ve never been more happy about it.

My friend is getting married today and will be moving to Ohio. I’m going to miss her like crazy.

I’m spending the night at my friend’s house tonight so we can work on Missions Trip stuff — maybe we’ll squeeze in a Disney cartoon too.  :]

We leave for said Missions Trip in 5 days. Holy pickle juice… I can hardly believe it’s almost here.

Here’s the links for this week…

Why Youth Stay in Church When they Grow Up  –  “The daunting statistics about chucchgoing youth keep rolling in. Panic ensues. What are we doing wrong in our churches? In our youth ministries? It’s hard to sort through the various reports and find the real story. And there is no one easy solution for bringing all of those “lost” kids back into the church, other than continuing to pray for them and speaking the gospel into their lives.”

The Woman at the Well  –  “To be known is to be loved, and to be loved is to be known.”

He Loves Me. He Loves Me Not.  –  “Sometimes we fall into the flower petal pulling mentality ~ “He loves me. He loves me not.”. We never know the consistency or constancy of God’s love because we aren’t looking for it! Nothing is coincidence.”

Sign, Sealed, Saved  –  “I wear the seal of God. Nobody can ever touch me or do anything God doesn’t want them to. I once had a master who kept me from joy and who constantly tightened the chains that bound my arms and legs. I owed him, he said. Then a great man came along and paid off my debt and freed me of the chains.”

It’s like falling in love  –  “Have you ever really fallen hard for someone? Did you look around, pick someone out of a crowd and then decide you would instigate the flow of hormones, chemical reactions and brain synopsis that made you react to the mere sound of their voice?  More likely, it was a natural, uncontrollable response that swept you off your feet. Or perhaps a platonic friendship that inexplicably began to shift into romance and a deeper intimacy.”

Ramadan begins  –  “Muslims around the globe have begun their holiest month of the year by giving up food, drink, smoking and other physical needs from dawn till dusk each day. In many communities, large dinner gatherings are held each evening to break the fast. The month also marks a time for Muslims to reexamine their lives through the prism of Islamic teachings.” ~ Lloyd Young | If only Christians were as serious about their “religion” as these people are of theirs.

A Princess Defiled  –  “Oh, we may not be walking around with ashes on our heads or dressed in burlap sacks, but we wear the mantle of shame that Satan has placed on our shoulders and secures with guilt-ridden deception and lies. I meet many women who have children, a husband, a successful career, and appear beautiful on the outside, but who are spending their days in desolation of the soul because Satan has convinced them that’s where they belong.”

Have a great weekend, my friends!   🙂

Posted on August 6, 2011, in Snow Day Snippets and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

