“Is there not a cause…?”

Today is part 2 in the 10-part series of Questions in the Bible that I’m addressing.

“Is there not a cause?” ~ I Samuel 17:29

David and Goliath is probably one of the most well-known “children’s” Bible stories taught in churches around the world. Everyone loves a hero. Everyone loves a happy ending. Everyone loves a courageous individual who’s willing to go against the grain, beat all odds, and win the girl in the end. (yeah, David won himself a wife with this fight, remember?) mehh…

Anywho, back to what I was saying…

Everyone loves a hero. Everyone wants to be a hero. However, not everyone wants to pay the price of being a hero – no one ever really wants to fight the fight, argue the point – people are usually just in it for the recognition, the money, and the red carpet.

With David that was not the case. He fought the fight not for the fame, but for the Father. Capital F. He argued the point because it was the right thing to do, not because it was the popular thing to do.

In fact, while everyone else was shaking in their boots (or camel-skin sandals, whatever), He stood up to this massive hulk of a man and told Goliath –more or less– “You’re going down!”

That takes courage; but more than that – it takes trust in God. It took some great faith on David’s part to stand up to someone who was 9-and-a-half feet tall with a powerful, fearless army backing him… especially when David was only 17 years old.

I’m in my 20’s and even I don’t possess a faith that strong. David was quite a young man.

So how does this relate to us today?

Let’s say Goliath represents the world, sin, and all untruths. As Christians, we are to take a stand against these things. However, I’ve noticed many Christians doing the exact opposite. I see Christians dropping the truth like a hot rock and buying into lies. I have watched Christians forsake what they once stood for, and embrace compromise. I have watched churches drop their stance on the Word, Faith, and Doctrine as they try to be more “relevant” and “comfortable” in an effort to draw in a larger crowd.

I thought it wasn’t about the numbers? Quality, not quantity? I’m not saying that having a large church is sinful. I’m saying that the reasons and ways you draw in numbers to grow said church might not always be right. It all depends on the motivation behind the methods.

So I echo with David — Is there not a cause?

Is there not a cause to stay faithful to the truth?
Is there not a cause to shun all appearances of evil?
Is there not a cause to live clean, pure, and holy lives?
Is there not a cause to live lives that are separated from the world?

Is there not a cause to keep our testimonies spotless from questioning?
Is there not a cause to stand for the truth?

Posted on August 5, 2011, in Questions in the Bible and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Well said! There is one answer to all of your presented questions – There is a cause and that cause is Jesus Christ and the gospel! Nothing else matters! Not a single thing! 🙂

  2. “I see Christians dropping the truth like a hot rock and buying into lies. I have watched Christians forsake what they once stood for, and embrace compromise.”

    This has been bothering me so much lately! Things just don’t seem “as wrong” to Christians as they once were and always should be. Maybe I should be specific to what has been on my mind lately and why these two sentences popped off the page at me.
    I’ve been talking to so many people lately, many of them very close and dear to my heart, that have compromised their beliefs. I believe the ones who are accepting and not doing just got tired of standing up for what’s right, and those who are doing just got lazy and let their desires get the better of them. This has to do with premarital sex. I have noticed it’s even become a “normal” or “not surprising” thing even among Christians now. Why are we not shocked anymore by this? Too many times I’ve heard “Oh yeah, saw that one coming. What can you do about it though?” Or “Well they are older now and it’s not like they haven’t done it before.” Why is it suddenly ok to give people excuses for this? Even I have am guilty of giving excuses to some!!
    But to open this up a little more, it’s not even just about premarital sex. There are so many other things we’ve just gotten tired of standing up for. The problem is we’ve been so conditioned by the world around us and it’s values. We’ve been knocked down so many times when we try and stand up for what’s right that we’ve given up. Why are we letting the evil world’s values win? With every person that compromises Christians as a whole are weakened. Why can’t stand together anymore?
    I can’t tell you how discouraging it is to see Christians just accept things or lifestyles that are so clearly against God’s word. It makes me want to give up too sometimes. I just want to throw my hands up in the air and say “It’s just not worth it anymore!”
    But then I read your blog today, and I am fired up again! I don’t want to hold my tongue anymore! After all, David furiously fought the giant and his people who so clearly were against God. David fought with passion and love for his Lord! It wasn’t for David’s glory, it was all for God’s glory! And that’s why he won! That’s how we can win! We need to get passionate again for what we once stood for! We need to get angry when someone stands up and tries to “call good evil and evil good”!

    Ok. Wow. I think I needed to rant a bit. Don’t know if it made much sense, but these things have been heavy on my heart lately.

  3. This also has been on my heart lately. I can understand why Lot was vexed with the things going on. How do we stand for righteousness? How do we fight? How do we change the world? How do we convince Christians not to compromise? We cannot legislate righteousness and we cannot win this in the flesh.

    For though we walk in the flesh, we do not war after the flesh: (For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal, but mighty through God to the pulling down of strongholds;) Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ;
    (2Co 10:3-5)

    How do we contend for the faith?

    But ye, beloved, building up yourselves on your most holy faith, praying in the Holy Ghost, Keep yourselves in the love of God, looking for the mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ unto eternal life.
    (Jud 1:20-21)

  4. This is a good series!

  5. The problem with this series is that you do not leave a whole lot for anyone else to say!

    Your second paragraph reminded me of the FFH song “Undone” – specifically the chorus:
    “Come undone, surrender is stronger
    I don’t need to be the hero tonight
    We all want love we all want honor
    Nobody wants to pay the asking price”

    I used to strive to maintain a “spotless testimony” to the point of leaving God out of my strivings. I want to say it ended in disaster, but the disaster is what brought about my iron-clad faith and trust in our Lord and His grace as well as this great desire to help lead others into their own iron-clad faith, to truly love God.

  6. As a friend here said recently, preaching on separation and holiness seems to have almost disappeared from Churches today. “Non-acceptable” activities for Christians a few decades ago are now commonly accepted. While Christianity is NOT negative but hugely positive, we do need to follow the negatives of God’s Word and abstain from and flee from certain activities.

    Yes, there is a cause, and yes, we need to stand.

  1. Pingback: Everything is NOT as it should be! « christianinutah

  2. Pingback: Is There Not a Cause? | Sixteen Eleven

  3. Pingback: “Whom shall I send…?” « Grow Up!

Leave a Reply

