“Yea, hath God said…?”

Today I’m beginning a 10-part series of questions found in the Bible. I’ve been wanting to do this for a while – and since now’s just as good of time as any, I figured what better time to do it than the present!

I’m going to admit this right off the bat – I don’t intend for the content of my posts in this series to be completely in agreement with the verse’s context. I’m merely trying to make a point with each of these posts. So please, don’t crucify me on the basis of using part of a verse “out of context.” (thank.you.very.much.)

Also, these questions follow no particular order. With that being said, let’s get started.

“Yea, hath God said?” ~ Genesis 3:1

Usually Christians associate this verse with sin, temptations, the dropping of standards, etc. But that horse has been beat enough lately, so I’m going a different route today.

God makes hundreds of promises to His children in the Bible. I have a little book completely compiled of the promises of God… well, one thousand of them anyways. That is a huge number. But did you know that some people have claimed to have found as many as 8,000 promises in God’s Word? It’s true… at least according to Google. EIGHT THOUSAND! That is a motherload of promises.

Take for example Hebrews 13:5b, “I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.”  And yet, how often to Christians act like they’re in the depths of despair? How many times do Christians wonder if God has forsaken them?

Please understand, I’m not making light of hardships or trials – I’ve had a bundle of them myself this year. But has God ever lied before? No. We have every reason to trust Him, and no reason to doubt Him. He’s faithful, and He’ll provide; He’ll make a way.

There will be times that Christians will go through tight times financially and stressful periods regarding their health or relationships or whatever. When those times befall you, do you question whether or not God is capable of providing for you and your family? Or do you fully trust Him that He will meet the need that you are faced with?

Remember, He promised in His Word: “But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 4:19)

I came across a blog post that talked about the sin of doubting God. The author said:

My understand of Scripture is that, yes, doubting God is sin. But let me clarify that. To doubt God is to say in our hearts, “I’m no longer convinced that God is God, that He is right or good or loving or powerful. I can’t say I believe in Him.”

In fact, you could define sin as doubting God: “…for whatsoever is not of faith is sin.”  (Romans 14:23b)

Are you doubting God’s capabilities and promises to you?
What in your life has Satan been asking you “Yea, hath God said…” about?

Posted on August 4, 2011, in Questions in the Bible and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Sometimes we can have a mixture of belief and unbelief. It’s been my observation and experience that we far too often we just say…believe and have faith. But I have come to the conclusion that this is not scriptural.

    1 Cor 13:13 says that these three things remain, faith, hope and love and the greatest of these is love. We normally find our faith dwindles when our hope dwindles. Our hope dwindles when we think / become in a loveless situation and within these times we can try and work our faith up with clenched teeth and fists.

    However, if we immerse ourselves in the love of God, and love others who are going through a hard time, we start to build up hope, which we know doesn’t disappoint us because it leads to faith.

    Therefore,,,,I like your approach, because concentrating on the promises of God, is part of immersing ourselves into the love of Christ.

  2. My husband was brought up in a Christian family and “drifted along” in the Christian tradition.
    His faith became real when someone told him “God CANNOT lie. It is an impossibility for Him to lie.”
    This has stood with him for decades and I have heard him many, many times, quote one of God’s promises with the addition – “and God CANNOT lie.”

  1. Pingback: “Whom shall I send…?” « Grow Up!

Leave a Reply

