You know you’re a baptist when…

Last night I was surfing facebook, and I kept seeing all these little groups like “You know you went to PCC if…”  and “You know you’re from Detroit if…”  and “You know you were homeschooled when…”  and “You know you’re a redneck if…”

So… I got this crazy little idea in my head that it would be fun to create a group like that for Baptists. So I did.

My only regret is that I made the group “open” — which means it’s been blowing up anyone’s and everyone’s news feeds on facebook regardless if they’re members of the group or not. Hey, I didn’t know…

So now theres this big fiasco where all these people are getting their shorts in a bunch because they’re receiving literally hundreds of notifications and emails from said group. and it won’t let me change the settings for whatever reason! *facepalm*

Oh, and I said “literally hundreds” in that previous paragraph, because the group has literally blown up (in a good way). People keep joining the group, and there hasn’t been 5 minutes of quiet on the page since I created last night. It’s crazy.

Anyways, the whole point of this post is because I think you should join the group. Here… I’ll even provide you with the link so you don’t have to try to search for it on facebook. I’m so nice.

You know you’re a baptist when…

The whole point of the group is to be funny. People from all over are posting the quirky things we baptists do that make us undeniably baptist. It gives non-baptists a chance to make fun of us… and legit-baptists a chance to laugh at themselves. Overall, it’s a very healthy group… kind of like therapy. but not really.

But now you ask… what’s with the picture? Oh, let me explain. It’s kind of a funny story…

When I first created the group, I searched Google Images for a picture to use. I found this picture of a Jesus statue – He was winking, with one hand pointing, and the other hand with a thumbs up. I thought it was actually pretty nifty. What I didn’t see coming was that people would think it was a sacreligious picture and get offended over it.

After said people listed their reasons why they were offended, it made more sense… I suppose.  Then several people asked me to change the picture — and you know me, ever wanting to keep people happy, I changed the picture to what you see above. Yeah, read the sign… it’s funny right? mehh… I thought it was.

Why are you still here reading this?! Go join that most awesome group on facebook… pronto!

**          **          **          **

UPDATE: As of the morning of 4 August 2011, this facebook group made the “Stuff Fundies Like” blog in an article titled “Arrested Development.”  Go {here} to read the article.  Of course, they’re mocking us… but whatever.  We’ll bask in whatever fame we can get.  ;P   (that was a joke…ish).

Posted on August 3, 2011, in The Awkward Things You Read On Facebook and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Evidently there is an Calvinist aspect to this group, because I didn’t join by my own free will. I was “chosen.” Gee, it’s nice being one of the “elect.” And “once joined, always joined” is the doctrine of the day. No matter how hard I try, the word of the Lord…sorry…”friends” keep coming. I even have a holy-like spirit watching over me saying, “Holdest thy tongue, for it is not wise to cast thy pearls before”…well, we won’t go there.

  2. Hey, we made “Stuff Fundies Like”!! of course, they’re mocking us… but whatever. enjoy the 15 seconds of fame (ish). ;P

    Here’s the link: http://www.stufffundieslike.com/2011/08/arrested-development/

  3. Speaking of comments – one of the two Lutheran churches here (in Rock Springs, Wyoming) now has this on its bulletin board:

    “God is the Potter – Not Harry.”

    Blessings!

  4. Hilarious. (and I know the original photo to which you’re referring to – only a true baptist would be offended 🙂

Leave a Reply

