Just call me Wonderwoman.

I’m back! After almost a full month of being “away” attempting to recover from surgery (which hasn’t gone so well, because I haven’t sat still enough to actually recover… hardly… at all), I’m finally back – and it feels good.

To be honest, I was starting to go a bit stir crazy! I’ve had so much I wanted to blog about and share with you all, but then again so did the awesome guest bloggers who filled in the gap for me while I was away. I want to say a sincere “Thank you!” again to them for all of their hard work – you all are awesome! Ser-ious-ly.

Ok, let’s get on with it…

~                    ~                    ~                    ~

Most of you know I was diagnosed with tumors last September. They put me on treatments to try to shrink said tumors, yet knowing that the treatments wouldn’t completely eliminate them they scheduled a surgery date for me to have them removed. That surgery took place this past March.

After the surgery I was excited to get back to normal life. I was ready to feel healthy again and be able to get back to being me. Three weeks after surgery I started having a lot of pain and was feeling sick again. I went back to the doctors and was told I had more tumors. A new surgery was scheduled for July.

After the second surgery I was excited to get back to normal life. I was beyond ready to get back to feeling like myself again – healthy, energized, tumorless. Three weeks after the second surgery I got really sick, so I headed back to the doctor looking for answers.

I thought I had strep throat – but the doctor assured me it definitely wasn’t strep… but was indeed mono. I laughed.

The irony of this whole situation is beyond funny to me. I’m not even fully recovered from surgery yet and I have mono? Does anyone else see the humor in this? No…? Whatever.

“You shouldn’t go to church tomorrow, Heather… you need to rest and just try…”

“Mom, staying home isn’t an option. I have jobs to do at church.”

“But if you don’t rest then you’ll…”

“I can rest when I’m dead. For now I have too many responsibilities to just sit at home.”

Yeah, I ninja’d my way through last week’s Old Fashioned Tent Meeting. I  Superman’d myself through a full day on Sunday. I’m being like batman and forging ahead through a full week of work. Basically, you can just call me Wonderwoman.

Why Wonderwoman, you ask? That’s easy…

Because it’s a wonder  I’m even out of bed right now. It’s a wonder  that I’m still alive! It’s a wonder  that I’m still planning on going on a Missions Trip to Costa Rica in a week – where, knowing my luck, I’ll probably catch Malaria or some other tropical disease. Ha.

But maybe –just maybe– this is exactly where God wants me. Weak, sick, empty… so that He might strengthen me, heal me, fill me.

“And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.”  ~ II Corinthians 12:9

Because really, I can do nothing on my own.  I need Him if I intend to accomplish anything worthwhile in my life.

What is it in your life that you need God to strengthen you for?
If you were to self-proclaim a hero “title” to yourself, who would you be?

Posted on August 3, 2011, in Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. excogitatingengineer

    You are a testimony of God’s grace. That is awesome.

  1. Pingback: Drinking my own poison {part 1}. « Grow Up!

Leave a Reply

