Snow day snippets {7.23.11}

It’s been two weeks since my surgery, and I’m slowly but surely healing up – thank the Lord.

Thank you, thank you to all of you who have been praying for me and my family over the past couple weeks (and past several months, too!). You all are such a blessing to us.

The links in this week’s SDS posts are sort of a compilation making up a “blast from the past” (ish) – if 2 or 3 weeks ago count as “the past.” So… enjoy.  :]

Why I’m raising my son to be a nerd  –  “I finally figured out that if I wanted my son to really embrace education, I had to take the lead. Not by downplaying his accomplishments on the field but by elevating the importance of his work in the classroom. So I smile in the doorway when I walk into a room to see him reading for fun the same way I smile when I look out into the backyard to see him working on his dribbling.”

The Telephone Lady.  –  “Anyway, so I call the phone company first thing this morning. The first woman I spoke with had the nerve to tell me there were no records of my call. That just about made me furious. When she realized I wasn’t just going to pay the amount and move on, she sent me to her supervisor.”

Jesus is the Amen: An English Nugget  –  “It is no irony that it is in this final church age that we see the bible perversions mounting higher than Mount Everest. And in a touching note, following the heretics Wescott & Hort, the modern perversions produced in the last days of the church have removed the Amen…”

If Fundamentalists Ruled the World…  –  This article is meant to be humorous, yet serious in all it’s jabs. I don’t agree with the article completely – although there were a couple good points. Give it a read, and share your thoughts about it below.

I Ain’t Sinnin’; It’s Made of Veggies  –  “Why don’t vegetarians eat meat? Well, according to who you ask, the reason could be anything from wanting to be healthier, to not wanting to make a cow cry. Some feel that it is their religious obligation to not eat meat, while others are just animal lovers that would rather pet a critter than chew on its leg.”

Casey Anthony Trial: Not Guilty Murder Verdict  –  Okay, how many of you followed this case at all? Now tell me your thoughts about Casey, the entire case, and the “not guilty” verdict…

On an end note – here’s something for you to think about…

Posted on July 23, 2011, in Snow Day Snippets and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. thank you for linking to my blog. The picture you post here is thought provoking, and I would offer some thoughts on the matter.
    If the man in the tie (I assume the preacher) is really warning of a wolf, as in this picture, then of course he is not a trouble maker. The problem is that I know preachers who say they are warning of wolves and they are not real wolves. Then when the sheep disagree with them the preacher imagines himself to be suffering for truth and takes it as some sign that he is in the last church age. There are real wolves out there, but non-dispensationalists (or any eschatological lable for that matter), Calvinist, non-KJV only, Wescott and Hort (for they were no more heretics than the translators of the KJV) are not wolves.
    Jesus said, “15 “Watch out for false prophets. They come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ferocious wolves. 16 By their fruit you will recognize them. Do people pick grapes from thornbushes, or figs from thistles? 17 Likewise, every good tree bears good fruit, but a bad tree bears bad fruit. 18 A good tree cannot bear bad fruit, and a bad tree cannot bear good fruit. 19 Every tree that does not bear good fruit is cut down and thrown into the fire. 20 Thus, by their fruit you will recognize them.” (Matthew 7:15-20)
    there was no KJV at that time, there was no dispensationalism, or Calvinist-Arminian debate. A wolf is one who denies some fundamental doctrine of Christianity, maybe even secretly, but turns people away from truth. Now I understand many people claim some small issue that is really incidental to historic Christianity as fundamental truth. I would venture to say that these men are actually more like wolves than the men they are trying to war about. To elevate a man generated teaching on par with a fundamental truth of Christianity is divisive and dangerous. To try to paint a man who is not a wolf as a wolf is trouble making, so we must use more discernment in crying wolf.
    to give a brief example, the “Jesus is the Amen” post is one of those unfounded, ridiculously generated posts. the church has not removed Jesus in the modern translations. Yes, Jesus is the Amen in the verses given in Revelation, but in Timothy, Paul wasn’t using “Amen” to speak of Jesus. We must keep things in their literary, and cultural context. If you look in the NIV at the passage in the book of revelation you will find that The AMEN is still there. So this man (I’m not saying you agree with him at all) is falsely crying wolf. The problem is he is only serving to spread division and fear among the church. So yes, he is a troublemaker and the sheep would do well to boot this kind of “wolf crying” out.

  2. @ Heather. Thanks for the link. I am honored.
    @ Daniel. I probably agree with you more than Heather would like.
    @ Cartoon. Stupid sheep! Must be PCA or UM, I guess 😉

    • @ Heather. Thanks for the link. I am honored.
      @ Daniel. I probably agree with you more than Heather would like.
      @ Cartoon. Stupid sheep! Must be PCA or UM, I guess 😉
      With regards to the other articles, I am glad a dad thinks of more stuff than sports, and I still think Casey Anthony is guilty as sin, but I am not her judge (God is – and I wouldn’t want to be her).
      Also, I could totally understand the telephone piece.

  3. “What the Fundamentalist is BEER!” That really got me in the “If Fundamentalists ruled …”

    “Jesus is the AMEN” does give us something to ponder, I have to admit.

    I really enjoyed all of these links, and as far as Casey Anthony is concerned I am not really sure. However, her testimony being full of holes and fallacies makes her look incredibly guilty. I actually think the prosecution is more guilty, as they did a horrible job actually prosecuting.

    Be better now!

Leave a Reply

