Words to describe the Bible.

Throughout the Bible, there are words and phrases that describe God’s Word. So as I was thinking about all the different words to describe the Bible, I decided to do some research on a few major words. I think it is awesome how common words are used to describe the Bible…and yet have such a rich meaning! As I was researching a few, these are 8 major words I found in the Bible to describe God’s Word:

Double-Edged Sword

“For the Word of God is living and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the division of soul and spirit, and of joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.” ~ Hebrews 4:12 (NKJV)

Fire

“Is not My Word like a fire?” says the LORD, and like a hammer that breaks the rock in pieces?” ~ Jeremiah 23:29 (NKJV)

Hammer

“Is not My Word like a fire?” says the LORD, and like a hammer that breaks the rock in pieces?” ~ Jeremiah 23:29 (NKJV)

Lamp

“Your Word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.” ~ Psalm 119:105 (NKJV)

Light

“Your Word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.” ~ Psalm 119:105 (NKJV)

Food

“But He answered and said, It is written, ‘Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceeds from the mouth of God.’” ~ Matthew 4:4 (NKJV)

“Like newborn babies, crave pure spiritual milk, so that by it you may grow up in your salvation.” ~ I Peter 2:2 (NKJV)

Seed

“For you have been born again, not of perishable seed, but of imperishable, through the living and enduring Word of God.” ~ I Peter 1:23 (NKJV)

Mirror

“Do not merely listen to the Word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says. Anyone who listens to the Word but does not do what it says is like someone who looks at his face in a mirror and, after looking at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like. But whoever looks intently into the perfect law that gives freedom, and continues in it—not forgetting what they have heard, but doing it—they will be blessed in what they do.” ~ James 1:22-25 (NKJV)

These are 8 major words I found in the Bible that describe the character of God’s Word. You see, God’s Word is alive. It is the only book that can truly change your life for eternity.

Are you doing everything you can to share God’s Word with others around you?
Can you think of any other words or phrases found in Scripture to describe God’s Word?

~                    ~                    ~                    ~

Brandon Gilliland is most importantly a passionate follower of Jesus. He is also a youth worship leader, and he is currently pursuing his Pre-med degree to become a future doctor. You can check out his blog over {here}.

About Brandon Gilliland

I run a website over at www.brandongilliland.com Check out my site and follow me on twitter!

Posted on July 13, 2011, in Guest Post and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. I liked this post. I may even use it as the basis for an upcoming sermon. On the other hand, I followed the link to Brandon’s blog and got more confused than a termite in a yo-yo. Brandon is more numerous than the Dread Pirate Roberts!

  2. This was basically my blog idea for Friday! Oh well back to the drawing board!

  3. Besides Hebrews 4,the Bible is described as “the Sword of the Spirit” (part of our daily spiritual armor) in Galatians l6:17.

    And just a few others – The Good News about God’s kindness and love (Acts 20: 24); “his wonderful words that are able to build your faith and give you all the inheritance…” (Acts 20: 32). You’ll find many more.

    I like the fact that you do Bible studies like this. A friend told me of a lady she knew who did a thorough Bible study on one different topic every year. It was very enriching. She grew wonderfully. I’ve done that twice – once on “worldliness,” once on “loving our neighbors.” Those were, in fact, the two things in my Christian experience that made me grow the most – and that showed me places where my own church was falling short. (Not the purpose of the studies, but one definite result.) So, before you start, be sure you’re willing to be loyal to God and His Word ABOVE your own church’s teachings. I found that easy to say but very hard to do. Yet very enriching.

  4. Whoops – why am I so skilled on missing BIG typos when I proofread (which I do faithfully), then see them the instant they’re up? Let’s make that first reference Ephesians 6:17, NOT Galatians 16:17. Apologies.

  5. This is great! I really like the outlined version!

  6. I was curious if anyone else would mention a few words that came to my mind when I proofread this post…

    The Law.
    Precepts.
    Commandments.
    Statutes.

    Most of those are mentioned in Psalms. :]

    Thank you, Brandon, for this post!

  7. the bible is very religious

  1. Pingback: Taking a book to a sword fight… | Ebs and Flows…

  2. Pingback: Guest Posting « Big B

Leave a Reply

