Beautiful dreamer.

I don’t dream much when I sleep… or if I do, I can never remember my dreams. And I haven’t remembered a dream in a long time. Until the other night.

I dreamed I was getting married. And then I dreamed that the honeymoon was either at an old, abandoned cabin or an Amish village. Maybe it was both – an old, abandoned Amish cabin – like a two-in-one kind of deal. Maybe not. That part’s a little vague.

Anywho…

It was nice to have a pleasant dream that I actually remembered or didn’t wake up in a cold sweat from – like the time I was being eaten by a shark (worst.dream.everrr.), or the time I fell off of a mountain cliff, or the time I was captured by terrorists and sold to the highest bidder. Yeah, all of those were pretty much awful.

I daydream a lot too. Especially when I’m supposed to be focusing on something else. But, as luck would have it, those times are always when the best daydreams start playing.

And usually, when we can control it, we dream (or daydream) about things that we wish would come true – like Prince Charming (every square inch of his tall, dark, and handsome self) rescuing you from evil step-sisters and whisking you away to his palace; or becoming a national hero for discovering the cure for all types of cancer; or revealing your true identity as Batman. Oh yeah, I’ve dreamed up all of these situations and more in my mind.

And none of them are bad things, really. But when I snap back to reality I have to ask myself – do I really want to marry a prince and be in the public eye for the rest of my life? Do I really want to devote all of that time and energy (and studying) to find a cure for cancer… especially when I hate biology? Do I really want to be Batman and spend the rest of my life fighting other people’s battles?

In an emotional moment I would probably answer yes. At that point, I ask that you please slap me and tell me to wake up. Thank you.

I remember a song that once said, “Be careful what you wish for because you just might get it all.”

The truth is, I don’t want to be any of those things. What I want to do with my life is something the world would call anything but glamorous; in fact, they’d probably attempt to admit me to a psych ward for observation.

I want to serve the Lord with my life.
I want to be a wife and a mommy one day.
I want my life to count for something that no amount of ribbons, awards, or a Nobel Peace Prize could ever add up to – I want my life to count for Christ. (If you’d like to give me a Nobel Peace Prize anyway, I’ll take it.)

What makes it even better is that God wants the same exact things for me. My purpose as a Christian is to bring Him glory and share the Gospel with others.

“For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.” ~ Jeremiah 29:11

Being a Christian is wonderful. It’s like a dream, except it’s reality.

What are some of your dreams?
If you could dream up a fiction future for you, what do you wish you could do?
Do your dreams line up with how a Christian ought to live?

Posted on July 6, 2011, in Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. My dream is very similar to yours. I want to go out on the mission field with a godly man and give people the gospel. I want to see people led to Christ and be discipled. To be a part of that would be (WILL be) an amazing blessing and honor. Of course, to raise children for the Lord is also a part of that although I do not know that I can have children.

    It is funny how I am noticing that my old dreams are fading so much that I don’t fully remember them all. That is definitely the Lord, not me. Lately, the mission field has been heavy on my heart. I pray I don’t have to wait too long to know where he is going to send me!

    Of course,when I was like 3, I wanted to be a ballerina on a tight-rope in a circus. 🙂

  2. josiah cheedie

    My fantasy was to become a major league baseball player. I used to watch Mark McGwire hit home runs and tell myself I’m going to hit more, and farther than he ever could……crazy dreamer huh? 🙂 Then when I was 12 years of age God called me to preach. I didn’t fully understand what that meant when I was that age but I knew I could never play baseball. My dreams changed, instead of dreaming I hit the game winning home run, in the bottom of the 9th, with 2 outs and against the best pitcher in the league, now I dream of being the next Billy Sunday, or Jim Elliot and giving my life to serve in a foreign land or travelling the country preaching and singing for the Lord. Even at times, I’ve wondered and prayed about getting a sechular education, but the Lord has never given me peace and I have devoted my life to service and study of the Bible and ministry. Even if I wanted to do something else, I wouldn’t know where to go or how to begin. Being a husband and father are also big dreams, and plans of mine 🙂 amen.

  3. I used to have a lot of horrible dreams before I was saved. And when I was on certain medications I had dreams that would seem so real I would be shaking and crying….but of late, I have more daydreams than night dreams. I daydream about becoming an author of a daily devotional book…one that will give my testimony and perhaps help other women in similar situations that I have found myself in to step back and say to themselves…”AAAAAGGGGG Please dear Jesus don’t let that happen to me” or as they move along throughout the book, they would come to see the results of coming to Christ, at any age…and step back and say to themselves :” Oh dear Jesus, please let that happen to me”.

    • Kimbee, I can completely relate to your dream of wanting to being an author. I would love to accomplish that as well one day.

      Stay faithful, seek the Lord, and He will show you His will.

      Thanks for the comment!

  4. You already serve the Lord and reach many people. There’s 1 accomplished. With what you’ve done, by being obedient to Him, I’m sure your life does indeed count for something. There’s 2. And I can tell with you with no doubt whatsoever, you will make an excellent wife to some lucky man out there. About the mommy part – my nieces and nephews will be blessed beyond measure! That’s 3 for 3.

    I’d say you’re doing pretty good, girly. Keep goin’!

    Love you! ❤

  5. When I was little I dreamed I could fly just by wanting to. I also had dreams of Dracula chasing me, that is until I learned I had a secret weapon – blinking. Every time I blinked I would wake up. Cool, huh?

    I, too, always wanted to be a world-renowned preacher. Of course, when I was younger I also wanted to be a special forces ninja secret agent. A preacher in black with a secret mission to defeat evil – both spiritual and physical. Well, the preacher part happened, but not the part about being world famous.

    Now, about all I dream about is being able to do ministry on a full- time vocational basis – at least to the point where my wife could stay home and not have to work.

  6. EXCELLENT blog – this has to be one of your very best.

    My dreams? Except for the wife and mommy part (which somehow doesn’t fit me too well) I agree wholeheartedly with you.

    There are two specific things God has laid on my heart (and my wife’s and our two children’s too). First, to teach as many people as we can about what the Bible says “loving our neighbors” really means.

    And if we could dream up a fictional future, well– I once said that if we quietly ask God to control our lives, and mean it, he may answer in ways we could never have dreamed of, nor ever thought to ask or hope for. He thinks WAY bigger than I can. Right now, all I can tell you about our second thing is that it’s like that. God willing, a few years in the future we can tell more. In the meantime, we will appreciate all of your prayers.

    Continued blessings!

  7. “What are some of your dreams?”
    Being the best slave of God I can possibly be.

    Being a hero. Think, “Heroic knight rescues beautiful princess” kinda deal. Only instead of a sword, you have a gun.

    I’d like to be here when Christ returns. And, considering my eschatology, I believe He’s coming back around 2030 A.D. Don’t know. Just a thought. There’s a theory that Christ will return when the world’s time-clock hits six thousand or something like that, as there were six days of creation, then a day of rest (the Millennium).
    “If you could dream up a fiction future for you, what do you wish you could do?”
    Go to my created fantasy world. Everything seems so much better there. The last two years, especially the last nine weeks, of my life have been very, very difficult.

    There, I’m close to God, doesn’t seem like He’s a million miles away, I have great friends, etc.
    “Do your dreams line up with how a Christian ought to live?”
    Yes, pretty much. Though I have to be careful I don’t make them a focus (well, minus the first part). I have lots of things I’d like to do and like to happen, but it’s not up to me.

    May God’s Will be done in my life, in each and every thing.

    As much I’d like to be a gallant hero, get some cool gadgets, guns, knives, etc., see Christ return, and all the other crazy stuff that flies around in my head, ultimately…

    “Live for Christ, live for Christ, live for Christ, live for Christ, live for Christ, live for Christ, live for Christ, live for Christ, live for Christ, live for Christ!” – Paul Washer.

    Well, there you go.

    • …And, I’d also like to be an author, movie-maker, etc.

      Basically, I want to shake the world in every way I can through every avenue I can for Christ. And if I trust God, He’ll use me for that. Just maybe not in the ways I would expect, such as those things. Maybe He will. I don’t know.

      But I do know He’s preparing me for something. You don’t go all I’ve went through for nothing.

    • Thank you for sharing this comment… although your whole possible rapture prediction of 2030 concerns me a little bit – since the Bible clearly states that no man knows the day OR the hour. I suppose God also was referring to years as well.

      “Live for Christ.” Amen.

Leave a Reply

