Snow day snippets {6.25.11}

I am welcoming today with open arms! I have literally not stopped since last week – so I may still be sleeping while you’re reading this. ha. Actually, that’s probably not true…

Regardless of what I’m in the middle of at this very moment, I found some interesting articles and links for you all to check out!

Oh, and as a side note – if you ever come across an interesting site or article that you think should be shared, please feel free to e-mail the link to me and you may find it featured in a future SDS post.

Bodies & Beauty: My Body After Childbirth  –  “Four years ago I gave birth to a baby….a big baby. Weighing in at over nine pounds, he was beautiful and perfect. However, the body that had nourished him and kept him safe for nine months was not.”

Discombobulated  –  This is probably the shortest post I’ve ever linked to. It’s actually a quote… but it’s a good one.

A Smile Without Lips  –  “To our American sensibilities, Margaret’s story seems beyond comprehension. There is nothing in our frame of reference that allows us to understand such brutality. What happened next can only be understood through the miracle of God’s love- as a demonstration of the incredible power of the gospel to redeem even the darkest kinds of evil.”

My Ex-Gay Friend  –  ““You have to understand something,” he said, leaning forward in his chair. “I don’t see people as gay anymore. I don’t see you as gay. I don’t see him as gay. God creates us heterosexual. We may get other ideas in our head about what we are, and I certainly did, but that doesn’t mean they’re the truth.”” | I thoroughly enjoyed this article.

Closing the Gap (Jon Acuff)  –  This month Jon Acuff was in Michigan at NorthRidge Church guest speaking about “Closing the Gap” between who we are and who we know we were made to be. This is a link to said “service” – Jon Acuff’s talk starts around the 17:00 mark.

Posted on June 25, 2011, in Snow Day Snippets and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Thank you for sharing these stories, Heather. I had heard the story about Margaret before when I got to hear Richard Stearns speak once. Two stories of mothers, and two stories of Christ’s amazing love.

    One reason I know many homosexuals who like talking to me is because I am one of those people who asks “What does the “other side” think?” Thank you for sharing that article, as well.

    In all, this was just a great post! Heart-wrenching and touching at the same time. Convicting yet encouraging.

  2. Like you, I “thoroughly enjoyed” My ex-gay friend article. Very interesting!

Leave a Reply

