Baptists, Bibles, & Beliefs.

I’ve been attending a Bible Conference this week in Toledo, OH (why yes, I do live in Detroit, MI) – and it’s been wonderful! One of my favorite preachers was there (Brian McBride); Mark Rogers and Vincent Massa were also preaching the meeting.

My car has never seen so much highway in one week before – some 700+ miles driving back and forth betwee Michigan and Ohio. Needless to say, it’s been a crazy week.

I haven’t had a lot of time to sit in front of a computer screen and write anything original due to said busy week, but I did find a couple interesting things saved on my computer and from scouting the internet this week. So I’ll share those with you. *and the crowd goes wild*

I’ve heard a lot of people say that C.H. Spurgeon was a Calvinist. He might’ve been; he might’ve not been. I don’t know really. But if he was, then he was a Baptist Calvinist… is there such a thing?! Below is a quote by the man himself.

C.H. Spurgeon (1834-1892)
“The Prince of Preachers”
Pastor for over thirty-seven years of the Metropolitan Tabernacle in London, England

Spurgeon made the following statement on April 2, 1861 in a great Baptist conference hosted by the Metropolitan Tabernacle.

“We believe that the Baptists are the original Christians. We did not commence our existence at the reformation, we were reformers before Luther and Calvin were born; we never came from the Church of Rome, for we were never in it, but we have an unbroken line up to the apostles themselves. We have always existed from the days of Christ, and our principles, sometimes veiled and forgotten, like a river which may travel underground for a little season, have always had honest and holy adherents. Persecuted alike by Romanists and Protestants of almost every sect, yet there has never existed a Government holding Baptist principles which persecuted others; nor, I believe, any body of Baptists ever held it to be right to put the consciences of others under the control of man. We have ever been ready to suffer, as our martyrologies will prove, but we are not ready to accept any help from the State, to prostitute the purity of the Bride of Christ to any alliance with Government, and we will never make the Church, although the Queen, the despot over the consciences of men.”

Amen, Mr. Spurgeon.

Pastor Baker – author of The Recovering Legalist – emailed this picture to me last week. He laughed. I laughed. But all in all, I like it. Speak truth to me again, old friend.  ;]

Oh wait… you didn’t catch it? I’m more than happy to help…  “Authorized King James Version Holy Bible for Kindle”  by God:]

I told you not to be surprised if this picture ended up being posted on the blog, Pastor Baker!

Lastly, I was perusing the “Baptists Beliefs” page on Wikipedia and learned something new. I’ve been a Baptist my *whole* life and never realized that there was an acronym for “BAPTIST” that represented what we believe! Way.cool.for.sure. Here is said acronym…

  • Biblical authority (Matt. 24:35; I Pet. 1:23; II Tim. 3:16-17)
  • Autonomy of the local church (Matt. 18:15-17; I Cor 6:1-3)
  • Priesthood of all believers (I Pet. 2:5-9; I Tim. 5)
  • Two ordinances (believer’s baptism and the Lord’s Supper) (Acts 2:41-47; I Cor. 11:23-32)
  • Individual soul liberty (Rom. 14:5-12)
  • Separation of Church and State (Matt. 22:15-22)
  • Two offices of the church (pastor and deacon) (I Tim. 3:1-13; Tit. 1-2)

You can read up a little more about Baptist beliefs on the Wikipedia page {here}.

Go ahead, let the comments fly.
I know some of you out there have some stuff to say in response to something I’ve posted. And be not alarmed, I am braced and ready to… alright, I’m starting to get a bit dramatic. ha.  ;]

Leave your thoughts below! 

Posted on June 24, 2011, in The Bible and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. Ah, because I am up and alert before those on the liberal coast (excuse me for that), I will make the first comment (at least when I started writing this); especially since it was my Kindle.

    To start, Spurgeon was probably more of a Calvinist than most would like to believe. On the other hand, I don’t believe he could be labeled “hyper-Calvinist.” I personally believe that he held a biblical view of the whole subject which recognized the sovereignty of God, but did not dismiss the responsibility of man.

    Can there be a Baptist Calvinist? Are there Patriotic Democrats? Of course! I know plenty (and I do mean plenty) of Baptist who are Calvinists (I have even been accused of being one). The thing that needs to be understood is that what makes a Baptist a Baptist does not necessarily have to include a wide-ranging, systematically defined set of doctrine. A Baptist, in the purest form of definition, is one who believes that
    1) baptism should be post-conversion and by immersion;
    2) that the local church body should be autonomous (at least from the point of post-apostolic times); under the guidance of pastor and served (not controlled) by deacons.
    3) that the only ordinances of the church are the Lord’s Supper and Baptism, neither of which have salvific qualities or communicate grace to the believer; and
    4) the authority of Scripture reigns over the teachings of man or the traditions of the church.

    Now, do we Baptists believe other doctrines that are indispensable to the the Faith? Yes, we do. We believe that salvation comes only by the grace of God, through faith in Jesus Christ, the only begotten Son of God. We believe that salvation is not of works, lest any man should boast. We believe in the Triune Godhead and that a desire for fried chicken is proof of one’s calling into the ministry. We believe in a lot of things; yet so do other groups and denominations that are NOT Baptist by name. Being a Baptist, however, does not preclude one from holding the view that God elects those He gives to Christ, or that man’s free will never trumps God’s sovereignty over all of creation.

    Calvinists do not believe one can lose his salvation, but many Arminians do. Does that mean that a Baptist cannot be Arminian?

    The biggest point I am trying to make is that the essential, defining characteristic of a Baptist is the issue of post-conversion baptism by immersion. This is the number one reason Baptists throughout history have been persecuted and killed. Have we been killed or imprisoned for other beliefs, sure; but so have those of other denominations. We believe in the authority of Scripture and salvation by faith in Christ alone; but so did Martin Luther, and he was anything but a Baptist. So yes, I believe there can be such as thing as a Baptist Calvinist, just like I believe that there are Arminian Baptists.

    On a final note, did God have nothing to do with the translations of Tyndale or with the Geneva Bible? Were they completely works of men? If God did have a hand in the Geneva Bible, which makes up the bulk of the KJV, and was the version taken on the Mayflower, was the Holy Spirit incapable of getting it “right” the first time? If God “inspired” the KJV only, then what about the ones before? Surely, if they were inspired, and then the new one came along (KJV) and was also inspired, does that not imply that God’s Word changed? How is that possible?

    I know this has been a long, long response, but as I have said before, God inspired the writers, not the translators. All scripture (not a translation) [is] given by inspiration of God…(2 Tim. 3:16). God spoke by the mouth of his holy prophets (Luke 1:70), not the publisher. The Spirit of the LORD spake by [David], and his word [was] in [David’s] tongue (2 Samuel 23:2), not the printing presses of the 17th century.

  2. This would be a Spurgeon Sermon that illustrates his beliefs on the Sovereignty of God in Salvation.

    http://www.spurgeon.org/sermons/0060.htm

    Here’s another one.

    http://www.spurgeon.org/sermons/0207.htm

    By the way, I loved the Kindle picture. “By God” 😀

  3. For some reason my comment didn’t appear.

    Here’s Spurgeon’s view (from his sermons) on the Sovereignty of God in salvation.

    http://www.spurgeon.org/sermons/0060.htm

    http://www.spurgeon.org/sermons/0207.htm

    • Mike, I went to your blog, then tried to find a place to leave a comment. I couldn’t. Then I noticed that my actions were being monitored by a thingy on the right, saying where I was from and what I was looking at and when. Dude, that was too creepy!

      The main comment that I wanted to leave was that I was really impressed with the amount of reading you have done. At your age, you’ve accomplished a whole lot. I don’t think I have EVER read that many books, at least all the way through. Even though I strongly disagree with a few of your stated beliefs, all-in-all, I was impressed…..

      Actually, I was more DEpressed than IMpressed. Are you related to C3P0, or something?

  4. ok please delete the duplicate, didn’t factor in the moderation. 🙂

  5. Sorry for talking (writing) so much, lately. Maybe that’s what happens when you’re trying to put off honey-do lists and research papers.

    • I completely understand. When I was reading your post and then going through your personal blog and all of that, I was supposed to be working on my weekly “Contemporary Theology” paper. (I finished it an hour before I read Heather’s post and commented)

    • LOL! It’s fine… although, you might want to copy and paste your first comment on this blog and make it a post on your blog. ;] That’ll cover one day for you this week!

      jussst kiddingggg.(ish).

  6. Funny enough, I did not like Spurgeon for a while for a few different reasons. Then I realized that he and I are very similar in many ways (which really means we and most people are very similar in many ways). It also helps that I took a theology class in which he was discussed. Overall, I like the guy.

    When I was in youth group, we were told to make a small copy of the Bible that attempted to tell the whole story in a few pages (Creation, Fall, Flood, Israel, Exile, Jesus). My friend and I had on the cover: “The Bible: The Story of God by God (put into a convenient “Reader’s Digest Version” for the busy Christian on the go)”

    I just thought I would share.

    • To be honest, I was never a big fan of him either a few years back. Of course, somewhere in 2006 or 2007 I discovered that I like the guy, and I really enjoy reading his sermons and quoting him from time to time.

  7. Earl Migriño

    Can I share the kindle photo? Thanks!

  8. HJ the acronym for “BAPTIST” came from one of our authors, Dr. Duane Brown in his book entitled, Biblical Basis for Baptists. The link to his book is: http://store.flpublishers.net/books/doctrinal/biblical-basis-for-baptists

    The book has sold well over 65,000 copies. It is a good read!

  1. Pingback: Baptists, Bibles & Beliefs | Sixteen Eleven

  2. Pingback: Charles Spurgeon- Finest Nineteenth-Century Preacher « Kevin Nunez

Leave a Reply

