Guest Post: How I Was Raised.

A few days ago, my grandma and I were talking about how it must be hard to be the wife of an intentional interim pastor (say that three times fast). More specifically, the wife of our former intentional interim pastor. First, she has to move when he does. Secondly, many churchgoers aren’t too thrilled about having an intentional interim pastor because they know he will be leaving in six months to two years and there is no point in befriending him [or his wife]. Although there were many who thought this, thankfully, not everyone did.

As I was speaking to my grandma, I brought up the fact that I always talked to her [the wife] regardless of knowing she wouldn’t be around forever. My dad, who was within earshot of the conversation, responded to by saying “Well, that’s because it’s how you were raised.”

I stopped and asked him what he meant. He said, “You were taught to talk to everyone, regardless of who they are.” My dad isn’t a professing Christian and he doesn’t go to church on a regular basis, nor do we talk about things of faith, but when he said that it made me think. I was raised that way, I just never realized it until now.

Sure, I know that I talk to everyone unless they have specifically wronged me. And, sure, I try not to judge people…but I’ve always thought “doesn’t every decent person do that?” No, the reality is: they don’t.However, the point isn’t that I talk to people; it’s that I don’t judge them and I try to love them.

Everywhere around me, I see people in churches—professing Christians—judging people around them and not talking to people who are “different” or who are “going against” their beliefs. I find it all to be ridiculous and completely un-Christlike. We should not judge people around us; we should not judge someone who is gay, we should not judge someone who has premarital sex, we should not even judge a murderer. Yes, those things are sinful and we should not encourage them or give off the impression that they will not ultimately be judged, but I believe it is God’s job to judge, and our job to love.

I have a few Bible passages to back up what I say. I will only provide passage references so each reader may use the translation of his or her choosing. Matthew 7: 1-5; Luke 6:37; and John 8:1-11.

In closing, I can honestly say that I love everyone. I love the serial killers and the rapists and the high school girl down the street who got pregnant last week. In this way, I hope to shine as a star in the darkness of this world in hopes that someone would see a tiny bit of Christ through me.

Posted on June 17, 2011, in Guest Post and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

