Happy {1 year} Blogiversary!

Do you know what today is?  Well, the title should give it away, I suppose.  :]

Grow Up! has been on the web for exactly one year today. That’s exciting – because if you recall this post {here}, you remember that I have a hard time with keeping interest in long-term projects. ha.

A year ago this blog was born with the intent to edify Christians and encourage them to live godly lives. To review that information, you can click on the first post I ever wrote regarding this blog {here} – published first as a note on facebook.

There’s a couple things I want to do with this post —

First, I’m going to share a few stats from the blog’s first year, then I’m going to open the “floor” up to you.

During the first year…

  • Grow Up! was viewed 43,124 times.
  • 9 pages were published
  • 265 posts were published
  • 2,578 comments were made under said posts/pages
  • Grow Up! gained 72 subscribers (RSS/e-mail combined)
    {that’s not counting the ones that unsubscribed throughout the year}
  • Grow Up! gained 234 comment subscriptions
  • Grow Up (Facebook) gained 569 “friends”
  • Grow Up (YouTube) gained 18 subscribers, 25 friends, and 2,159 total views.

The top 10 posts for the first year were as follows (not including pages):

  1. That’s what grace is for: reflections on the ABC News 20/20 IFB Report.
  2. What Christianity is NOT.
  3. Question of the day: “strong drink”
  4. Book Review: “The Embrace of Grace (Caleb D. Thompson)
  5. Even in the valley God is good.
  6. Confessions of a RIFB Girl of 20-something {my thoughts on homosexuality.}
  7. ESVNIVNKJV… ah!
  8. My thoughts on the King James Bible.
  9. I’ve hit a brick wall.
  10. People who predict the end of the world. {Guest Post}

The top 10 sites that referred the most visitors for the first year are as follows:

  1. Facebook
  2. networkedblogs.com
  3. popthycollar.blogspot.com
  4. www.Challies.com
  5. Google Reader
  6. devotionalchristian.com
  7. ifbkjv.com
  8. Twitter
  9. feelinfeminine.com
  10. WordPress Dashboard

If you’re named among the top 10 referrers — please accept this sincere Thank You for sharing this blog with others! I hope it has been a blessing, a source of encouragement, and a place to find laughter.

Now it’s your turn…  :]

Scroll through the archives, and leave me a comment letting me know what your favorite post is here at Grow Up! I’d like to know which posts you enjoyed the most, which were the most helpful, and what was most edifying here on this site. This will help direct me and the thoughts I share in the year to come!

THEN,  I’d like to know what post(s) were your LEAST favorites. Which ones DIDN’T you like… and then let me know why. Seriously.

Again, thank you. thank you. Thank You! for all the support and encouragement you have given to me over this first year of blogging here at Grow Up! I’m looking forward to another year or more if the Lord should continue to lead me down this path.

May God continue to richly bless you all as you continue to seek Him in all things!

Heather Joy
Romans 5:20

Posted on June 7, 2011, in Blogs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I haven’t had a chance to read all of them, but I sincerely haven’t read one yet that I did not like. It is hard to chose a favorite, but two of my favorites right now are “Respect is not a two-way Street” and the one about the false prediction. When I get a chance, I am going to try to scan through older ones I have not read. : )

  2. Wow! Congratz! I have blogged for well over a year, but I have only been with wordpress for 3 months…I have really enjoyed that traffic and options it has brought my ministry!

    • I have been blogging off and on since I was 18-ish… I think. but this is the only blog that has lasted 6+ months. LOL!

      Thank you for following my blog and being such an encouragement. You are a blessing.

  3. I started reading a couple months ago, and I have enjoyed the edifying conversation that each post I read caused. Thanks for devoting your time. (as a fellow blogger, I know how much of your life can be consumed to keep it updated.)

    Keep Going! Too many people are getting blessed… 🙂

    • It IS pretty time consuming, but I have enjoyed every minute of it. :]

      Thank you for your support and encouragement. I’m thankful that we have had the opportunity to get to know each other online like this.

  4. My favorite post would have to be “It’s Time to Burn” that was really good. I felt the same way about that situation and I was glad to see your post about it.

    My least favorite would be “Heaven, Hell, and your Opinions” mainly because of the poem quoted within. That poem is simply unscriptural. (I Cor 6:9-10, Gal 5:19-21 Col 3:5-6 Rev 21:7-8) That’s not my opinion, I simply cannot accept what that poem portrayed in light of the Scriptures. On the same note, if the poem was talking about the way people used to be, I am fine with it. Many used to be filthy, but God has washed us, but I don’t think that as the way the poem was intended, and I know of people who are lost as anything, who take it that way and think they’re all right. Now should we make hasty judgments? No. But we should be discerning. If someone’s been an adulterer for twenty years, he’s not a Christian. God will not let one of his children get away with that for that long. If there is no chastening, there is no conversion. But, people do fall, and people do make mistakes, and we should make allowances for that, but let’s not overdue our allowances. I hope you understand what I mean, and I’ve used up a lot of words to make sure you don’t misunderstand. I love people, that’s why I when I look at their lives I must say their lost, and witness to them with hope they will be converted.

    Well, there’s my reasons. Thanks for posting, I enjoy reading the blog and comments here. Hope it keeps going for another year.

    • Thank you for your comment, Mike.

      I see where you’re coming from in regards to “Heaven, Hell, and your Opinions” — but I guess I didn’t even think of the poem in the light before. So thank you on the new perspective. I have always pictured it as I Corinthians 6:9-11 ~
      “(9) Know ye not that the unrighteous shall not inherit the kingdom of God? Be not deceived: neither fornicators, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor effeminate, nor abusers of themselves with mankind, (10) Nor thieves, nor covetous, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor extortioners, shall inherit the kingdom of God. (11) And such were some of you: but ye are washed, but ye are sanctified, but ye are justified in the name of the Lord Jesus, and by the Spirit of our God.”

      While we’re saved and washed in the Blood of Jesus Christ, we’re still human and we still have a flesh — which means that we’ll still sin (whether intentional or not). So while people down here may judge our actions and say that there’s simply no way that we would ever be in heaven, no one truly knows who is saved for sure besides that person and God. We may be completely shocked to see many people in Heaven one day.

      Anywho, that’s what I took from it, but I appreciate you sharing your perspective of it. It gives me something to mull over in my mind. :]

      God’s blessings to you.

  5. Excuse the typos in the above please. 🙂

  6. Congratulations on a year! I’ve only been reading for about half of that time, so I’ll have to go check out some of the posts I missed. You’ve got a great blog that has been a huge encouragement to me. Thanks and keep up the good work!

    In Christ,
    Ben

Leave a Reply

