Confessions of a RIFB Girl of 20-something {John Wayne & Jesus.}

Remember this series?! Remember when I said I’d continue this series in April upon my return from surgery?

Well, Nick didn’t forget either… and he’s been on my case about it since April. Maybe you haven’t noticed… it’s JUNE! I’m sorry it’s taken me so long to get back on track. (I feel like I’ve been doing a lot of apologizing lately.)  I feel like my creativity streak has hit an all-time low, and I was really struggling with how to approach the topics that are left in this series. I’m sorry for that also.

I’m sorry. I’m sorry. I’m sorry. *sigh*

Anywho…

Actually, I have to be honest. I’m not jumping back into this series because Nick keeps dropping hints about it, and it’s not because I feel my creativity streak is going at full force again. Rather, it’s because someone called me something on facebook last week in the midst of a discussion. In an attempt to dismay my spirits and cripple my spiritual ego (oxymoron?), I was called “Heather the worldly John Wayne fan.”

I know, that’s a big *OUCH!* right? ehh…

Then I was told: “You are out of your place and very ignorant! You are NOT a Bible-believer as you ought to be at HOME preparing to be a keeper at home! You are a brash, loudmouth female and in need of repentance!”

That comment led to me to do some deep soul-searching watch more John Wayne movies, which brought to mind this particular chapter of this “Confessions of a RIFB Girl” series. So, here we are…

I announced yesterday morning in a facebook status that this post (yes, *this* is the post I was talking about)  is probably the most ridiculous thing I have ever or will ever publish on this blog. No, I’m not going to apologize for that…

At first glance, you may think this post is a bit blasphemous… but it’s not. I’m simply making comparisons and showing you things you may have never considered. I bet you didn’t know John Wayne and Jesus had so much in common.

Below is a chart of similarities between Jesus and John Wayne. And, just in case you don’t have a sarcastic sense of humor, this is all meant to be in fun. Don’t stone me, take my salvation away from me, or crucify me. Please.and.thankyou. (you can click the chart to enlarge it in another window).

In addition, I thought I’d share my Top 5 favorite John Wayne movies of all time. You’re welcome.  :]

  1. McLintock!
  2. The Quiet Man
  3. Rio Bravo
  4. Hondo
  5. The Sons of Katie Elder

Okay, now it’s your turn…

Can you think of any other things John Wayne and Jesus might have in common?
What are your favorite John Wayne movies? Name any and all of them!
Do you have any favorite John Wayne quotes? What are they? 

Posted on June 2, 2011, in Confessions of a Rebellious Independent Fundamental Baptist Girl of 20-something {Series} and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. I don’t know much about John Wayne, but how about:

    “Courage is being scared to death but saddling up anyway” John Wayne

    “Be strong and of a good courage, fear not, nor be afraid of them: for the LORD thy God, he it is that doth go with thee; he will not fail thee, nor forsake thee.” – Deuteronomy 31:6

    or

    “I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.” – Philipians 4:13

    {Sorry, tried to look up something quickly)

  2. BAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!! this is quite possibly my *favorite* post from you! … & guess what, this short-haired (which is also highlighted – i’m assuming that’s a sin too!), brash, loud-mouthed, part-time job working female AND wife(with 3 piercings in my left ear and 2 in my right – sin too!) LOVES john wayne also!… AND elvis presley! haha. 🙂 i’d like a post about him so you should get on that. 😉

  3. Last time I checked cousin the Bible said judge not lest ye be judged…sounds to me like the person who was criticizing you needs to take a fact check and read their Bible closer…just saying. And last time I checked, and correct me if I’m wrong, being a loud-mouthed female isn’t a sin. Maybe that person has issues with strong, independent females who aren’t afraid to speak their mind. With that said, I don’t think you’re ignorant and you’re one of the most faithful people I know so clearly that other person doesn’t know you. Keep your chin up and let them say what they want because when the time comes only the Savior can judge you, not some person hiding behind a computer comment. I love you!

  4. How is quoting a verse manipulative?

  5. I understand that you are not trying to be blasphemous, but I would just be very careful in comparing the Perfect Son of God to any human being, especially a Hollywood actor. There really is NO good comparison. I personally would feel disrespectful doing this. Then again, this happens to be your blog, not mine. 🙂 I understand that is certainly not your intention – to be disrectful to the Lord, and you made it clear that it’s just a joke. Still, I guess I could see how some would take offense to a post like this, ya know?
    Second thought – I’m sorry that someone was so unkind in their words to you, as you mentioned in your post. I guess I just wanted to point out that you are a self-proclaimed “rebel.” You yourself say you are “rebellious.” My thought – and that’s really all it is – is that I would never want to be labeled rebellious, since it could easily be misunderstood. With Scripture passages like, “rebellion is as the sin of witchcraft…” I would never want to portray the fact that I was rebellious. It’s possible that someone is misunderstanding you because of this. Just a thought, but I do enjoy reading your blog. 🙂

    • Laura, first of all thank you for the comment.

      Secondly, as stated originally, this post is all in fun. Of course John Wayne and Jesus are at complete opposite ends of the spectrum. Truly, there’s no comparison – that’s why Jesus’ side is all scripture, and John Wayne’s side is all fun and games. It was meant to be funny. :]

      Thirdly, if people cannot take a joke, then this is probably not the blog they should be reading. This place is laced with sarcasm, wit, controversy, and “things that could offend.” I’m a baptist – it’s what we do best. ;] (again, a joke).

      Fourthly, yes, the name of this series does have the word “rebellious” in it – and if I had a nickel for every time I heard that “you are a self-proclaimed rebel” comment, I’d be a very, very rich woman.
      But if you really knew me, you’d know that also is a joke. Also, somewhere near the beginning of this series I explained WHY the term “rebellious” was used as part of the title – it’s a joke. mainly, there was no other word that fit better. I guess I could have used “unconventional” or “non-conforming” or non-traditionalist” — but none of those really get the job done. I am not rebelling against God, His Word, or anything else I should be submissive to. This series is simply to point out some of the silly, unBiblical “rules” that some baptist have and hold to, but I do not. Hence, “rebel.” Again, it’s a joke. All in fun.

      Rest easy, this series is backed by some of the best Christians out there – preachers, saints, and even a few sinners included.

      Again, thank you for the comment. I hope I was able to answer your concerns and clear some of that up for you. I hope you have a beautiful day. :]

    • Oh, in regards to those “unkind words” that someone said to me — I considered the source, took it with a grain of salt, and shrugged it off. I suppose I could have chewed it over for a bit, ate the meat, then spit out the bones – but unfortunately, it would have been a waste of jaw exercise because all they said was just a bunch of bones.

      Their comments had nothing to do with this post – it was something entirely different that happened a week or so prior. Plus, the guy who said them could not be more of a hypocritical pharisee if he TRIED – yeah, he’s THAT ridiculous.

      I could continue with that thought, but I’m not… LOL.

  6. Thank you for clarifying, but I guess my point is, this is the internet (obviously :P). Possibly a lot of your readers do not “really know you.” It’s hard to “hear” tones on the internet, and sometimes you cannot tell exactly how a person is wanting their words to come across.

    I grew up in Bible churches across the midwest and north. I now choose to go to an independent fundamental Baptist church, and I never plan to go to any other type of church. An IFB church is the type of church I believe to be the closest to a New Testament church. I know you’ve alluded to “silly, unBiblical ‘rules'” held by some Baptists, but I’ve been in several IFB churches (in the South), and I just never have had those experiences. So I guess I’m at a loss when I hear people talk about stuff like that. *shrugs* I’m certainly not saying stuff like that doesn’t exist, it’s just that the churches I’ve been to, I have whole-heartedly supported the views and beliefs of my church, because I did/do believe they held to Scriptural principles.

    I have no idea if I’m making any sense. Like I said, your blog, your ideas = that’s fine by me! 🙂 I was just throwing out a possiblitiy of why maybe some would have called you the things they did. In all honesty, unfortunately, I will admit I had some of the same ideas about you when I first found your blog, mostly because of the reference to being rebellious and one of your video blog posts. As I’ve read more, I have changed my opinion about you. 🙂 Hope you have a good day yourself!

Leave a Reply

