Question of the day: Easter

I hope everyone is enjoying the holiday today. Depending on where you work, you may have even gotten the day off work as I did. I’m looking forward to a relaxing day, while hoping to get caught up on a few things.

Last week we kicked off a new series of questions as found in Dr. Sam Gipp’s book “The Answer Book.”* I think we’re off to a good start already.

And as I said before, the point of these questions is not to start a Baptist War, but rather encourage everyone to engage in a discussion and learn from and among fellow believers.

Last week I also said that I don’t want you to rely on “he said, she said” or even unconfirmed history. Read your Bible, study accurate accounts of History, pray about it, and take what you don’t understand by faith.

As you know, the Tuesday following each QOTD post I will post Dr. Gipp’s written answer. So be sure to look for that tomorrow.

Here’s the question for today…

Isn’t “Easter” in Acts 12:4 a mistranslation of the word “pascha” and should it be translated as “passover”?

Thoughts?  Opinions?  Scriptures to back your position?

*All material from “The Answer Book”© is used on Grow Up! with permission received directly from Dr. Sam Gipp.

Posted on May 30, 2011, in Question of the Day and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Every modern translation I checked out, including the New King James Version, uses Passover. Apparently, later Christian sources (extra-biblical) used it in conjunction with Easter, but this does not appear to be what Luke was intending originally. For the basis of that comment, I appeal to the entry for “pascha” in BDAG’s “Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament,” 3rd ed.

  2. Noah Webster’s 1828 Dictionary:

    Easter –
    A festival of the christian church observed in commemoration of our Savior’s resurrection. It answers to the pascha or passover of the Hebrews, and most nations still give it this name, pascha, pask, paque.

  3. Strong’s Exhaustive Concordance:

    Passover.

    Of Chaldee origin (compare pecach); the Passover (the meal, the day, the festival or the special sacrifices connected with it) — Easter, Passover.

    see HEBREW pecach

    πάσχα (pascha) − 29 Occurrences

  4. I am not sure if those two things help or answer anything, but I thought I’d share.

  5. I haven’t looked into that before…interesting!

  6. By the way, I would highly consider setting your RSS blog feed to show all of the content…you have some great stuff! I just wish sometimes I could read the whole thing in my reader and then comment…

    • Brandon, I’m not sure how to do that with the RSS blog feed. Any suggestions?

      • Yeah! Just go into “settings”…then click “reading”.

        In reading, you will have lots of various options, but one of them says: “For each article in a feed, show:”

        You can click either summary or full text. Right now, you have summary, but full text is a lot better for people using RSS readers.

        Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

