Heaven, Hell, and your opinions.

For those of you who are connected with me on facebook – yes, this is a repost of this week’s note. Sorry.
For those of you who regulary read my blog – you should be getting used to my occasional rants by now. :]
For those of you who are new to my blog – welcome. Please read on and know that Jesus loves you.

…          …          …          …

Christian, when did God die and give you permission to take over? I’m confused because… well… you judge people’s eternities as if you can read their hearts and see into the very depths of their souls. Please, tell me where did you find such amazing “superpowers” because I’d like to get them too.

I’m guessing that there is probably plenty in your own life that you could be working on, changing, and becoming more Christ-like in. You know, the whole “beam and log” analogy. But instead, you’re choosing to sit on your backside and point your finger at another soul and scream “You’re going to Hell!”

Where are the directions for that one in Scripture?
Grace. Love. Mercy. Compassion. Longsuffering. Hope.  Do any of those words ring a bell with you?
Was God just kidding when He said what He did in Luke 6:37?

If you are so concerned that someone is Hell-bound, why don’t you try witnessing to them… in grace and love. Do you really think your judgement, finger-pointing, and screaming is going to compell them to accept Jesus Christ as their Savior? I’ll answer that one… uh, no.  No one will want anything to do with the God you “preach” about for fear that He might be something like you…

I am thankful that my eternal destination is not left to your mercy, because my future would be hopeless. You are not my god. You did not live a perfect life. You did not sacrifice your life to save mine. Therefore, you do not have a say in whether or not I (or anyone else) will enter through the gates of Glory. You do not get a front-row seat on the jury of a spiritual trial for anyone’s salvation.

No, I’m not judging you or trying to necessarily “teach” you a better way to handle yourself — God knows that would only get your feathers ruffled and your stinging remarks would be launched in my direction. Which is fine, really… I can take it. But I’m not here to waste your time, or mine. So please, don’t waste the air.

Sinners In Heaven

I was shocked, confused, bewildered as I entered Heaven’s door –
Not by the beauty of it all, nor the lights, nor the decor;
But it was the folks in Heaven who made me sputter and gasp –
The thieves, the liars, the sinners, the alcoholics, and the trash.
There stood the kid from seventh grade who swiped my lunch money twice.
Next to him was my old neighbor who never said anything nice.
Jerry, who I always thought was rotting away in Hell
Was sitting pretty on cloud nine, looking incredibly well.
I nudged Jesus, “What’s the deal? I would love to hear Your take –
How’d all these sinners get up here? God must’ve made a mistake.
And why is everyone so quiet, so somber? – give me a clue.”
“Hush, child.” He said, “They’re all in shock… no one thought they’d be seeing you.”

~ Author Unknown

Every saint has a past. Every sinner has a future.

“But the God of all grace, who hath called us unto his eternal glory by Jesus Christ, after that ye have suffered a while, make you perfect, stablish, strengthen, settle you.”
~ I Peter 5:10

Posted on May 13, 2011, in Christian Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Great blog today! Convicting and true! I really like the poem that you used because that is truly a hard truth!

    We are all sinners saved by grace. There are no exceptions. Bill preached on a similar topic of pride last night. It is one of the heaviest sins in the church today!

  2. You are one of my favorites. Did you know that?

    OH! RIGHT! We are not supposed to have favorites. Dang.

    Great post!

  3. What? Someone point a finger at you? Remind me not to do that, ok?

    Seriously, there will be some people mighty surprised to see me in heaven. As a matter of fact, as much as I believe, doctrinally speaking, I’ll be surprised, myself.

    • Haha. I promise not to launch out a verbal attack in your direction. :]

      I’m just surprised that God loved me enough to send His Only Begotten Son to die in my place.

  4. I read somewhere about someone who said they’d be surprised about who was there, but also about who wasn’t!

  5. Had a wonderful, beautiful experience yesterday watching my daughter and wife help a lady we know find her way to her future in the Lord.

    • That is wonderful! Thank you for sharing this praise with us.

      I play the piano for a ladies group at my church that sings a song titled “The Value of One.” I’m not sure if you’ve ever heard it before or not, but the first verse and chorus goes like this:

      Could it be that up in heaven God is sitting on His throne
      Anticipating another sinner will soon become His own?
      Years of wasted living and years of toil and strife
      Are just about to be over as she receives the gift of life!

      “Go sound the horn, strike up the choir —
      A sinner is saved – saved from the fire!
      No more in darkness, she’s recieved My Son!”
      All Heaven rejoices – that’s the value of one!

      God bless you and your family as you continue to share the good news of the gospel with those around you.

Leave a Reply

