Snow day snippets {4.23.11}

There was a  lot happening on the web this week, so I have a few more links in this week’s SDS post than I normally do. Take a look around and have a great weekend!

“It is clear that there must be difficulties for us in a revelation such as the Bible. If someone were to hand me a book that was as simple to me as the multiplication table, and say, ‘This is the Word of God. In it He has revealed His whole will and wisdom,’ I would shake my head and say, ‘I cannot believe it; that is too easy to be a perfect revelation of infinite wisdom.’ There must be, in any complete revelation of God’s mind and will and character and being, things hard for the beginner to understand; and the wisest and best of us are but beginners.” ~ R.A. Torrey

A Biblical Epiphany  –  I can’t say that I agree with this 100%, but there are a couple good thoughts in here.

What Happened to the Apostles?  –  This is interesting – perhaps a bit more historically-based rather than Biblically-true.

The Blessing of Single Servants  –  Posted back in February, the author writes: “With Valentines coming up next week, I’m sure most of you single gals are starting to get a little dreamy. From someone who really does know what it’s like, I’d like to encourage you to put down that “romance” novel and consider the blessings of being a single servant.”  Girls, Guys, beautiful dreamers – give it a read… it’s worth you time.

How to Celebrate Earth Day  –  I know you’ll be reading this a day late, but whatever. Better late than never.  :]

Rob Bell: a Brother to Embrace, or a Wolf to Avoid?  –  JohnMacArthur writes: “We have a duty not only to expose, refute, and silence Rob Bell’s errors, but also to urge people under his influence to run as fast and as far as they can from him, lest they be gathered into the eternal hell he denies. It won’t do to sit by idly while someone who denies the danger of hell mass-produces sons of hell.”

New Politically Correct Bible Translation Causes Stir With Conservative Christians  –  No… yuh’think? I don’t care if people are offended when they read the Bible or not. It’s not about them; it’s about God. And we have no right to change the words He chose to put in His Book.

Parents, don’t dress your girls like tramps  –  “Yeah, that 8-year-old girl was something to see alright. … I hope her parents are proud. Their daughter was the sexiest girl in the terminal, and she’s not even in middle school yet. … What adult who wants a daughter to grow up with high self-esteem would even consider purchasing such items? What parent is looking at their sweet, little girl thinking, ‘She would be perfect if she just had a little bit more up top.'”

On Surrendering..  –  “On surrendering, it’s not about what you’re giving up, it’s about the real and authentic and much more valuable thing you’re receiving. It’s about asking God to take away something you want, to make room for the thing that He wants for you.”

Here’s a Peter Ruckman clip where he shares the plan of salvation. All I have to say is in response is: “amen.”

Posted on April 23, 2011, in Snow Day Snippets and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Hey Heather,

    Thanks for the links again! I think snow day snippets are my favourite posts :).
    FYI…. I went to college with the author of the Blessings of Single Servants. I read this post back in February, and thought it was great too :).

    • Ah, I’m glad you enjoy them! To be honest, I was thinking that nobody probably gets anything out of them and I had considered stopping them.

      It sure is a small world. :]

  2. I followed the link here from the sources of my blog views, and noticed that you posted a link to my blog. I’m glad to see that the things I am writing are reaching people in their spiritual growth. God bless 🙂

    In Christ,

    Misty
    Ephesians5:2

Leave a Reply

