God’s Word: wearing out the hammers.

Today’s post is a short one. A simple one. Not much of my own words. However, apart from Jesus Christ, there is nothing greater that could ever be talked about: God’s Word. Over the next month or so I’ll be reading a lot of books about the Bible, writing my reviews of them, and posting them here for you to read if you so wish.

Back in December I posted my thoughts on the King James Bible. In that post I gave my current thoughts on the issue and shared with you all that I was still studying out the topic so I could know more for myself instead of basing my beliefs on a “he said, she said” basis. And as many of you know, this year marks the 400th anniversary or the KJV. While it is always important to study the Word of God, I think now is definitely an appropriate time to focus on it even more.

Over the past couple of weeks I have bought quite a few books on the matter, and I will be attending Bible Conferences throughout the year so I have no doubt I’ll end up with a few more books. I also purchased myself a copy of the DVD that was just released, “KJB: the Book that Changed the World.”

I thank God for His Word; and though I don’t read it, ponder it, memorize it, love it, live it, share it as much as I ought to, I regard it as the best gift (outside of salvation) that the Lord has ever given me.

The Hammer and the Anvil

Last eve I passed beside a blacksmith’s door
And heard the anvil ring the vesper chime;
When looking in, I saw upon the floor,
Old hammers worn with beating years of time.

“How many anvils have you had,” said I,
“To wear and batter these hammers so?”
“Just one,” said he; then with a twinkling eye,
“The anvil wears the hammers out, you know.”

And so, I thought, the anvil of God’s Word,
For ages, skeptics blows have beat upon;
Yet, though the noise of falling blows was heard,
The anvil is unharmed – the hammers gone.

~ John Clifford

Some of my favorite verses of Scripture are found in the Psalms, but my favorite books of the Bible are Romans and Proverbs.

The verse I claim as my life’s verse is Romans 5:20, “Moreover the law entered, that the offence might abound. But where sin abounded, grace did much more abound.” 

My favorite Bible stories are the book of Hosea, when Jesus wrote in the sand in response to the woman caught in the act of adultery, and the book of Ruth.

What verse(s) do you claim as your life’s verse(s)?  Why?
Do you have a favorite Bible story?  What is it, and why?
What’s your favorite book of the Bible?

If you know of any other poems written about the Bible, share them (or a link to them) in a comment!

Posted on April 8, 2011, in The Bible and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Heather,

    There are two verses that mean very much to me. The first one is Neh 6:3, “And I sent messengers unto them, saying, I [am] doing a great work, so that I cannot come down: why should the work cease, whilst I leave it, and come down to you?”

    This has been my “life verse” since the 80’s. It reminds me that God has called me to a great work, even though others may come along and tempt me to walk away to greener pastures. It reminds me that my walking away will hurt others, too. It also reminds me of the fact that we are in a spiritual conflict with a subtle enemy.

    This past year, however, has given me another verse to hold on to:
    I will cry unto God most high; unto God that performeth [all things] for me. – Psa 57:2
    This verse reminds me of my helplessness and dependence upon God for even the smallest of things.

  2. As a student of the Bible, I want to claim all if it: the good, the bad, the uncomfortable, the seeming contradictory (I am finding more and more how true it is that it is inerrant). However, there are four that I truly hold more dearly:

    But the LORD said unto Samuel, Look not on his countenance, or on the height of his stature; because I have refused him: for the LORD seeth not as man seeth; for man looketh on the outward appearance, but the LORD looketh on the heart.
    1 Samuel 16:7 – God is my judge (also the meaning of my name, Daniel!)

    Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. Draw nigh to God, and he will draw nigh to you. Cleanse your hands, ye sinners; and purify your hearts, ye double minded.
    James 4:7-8 – He did the hardwork, but He still wants us to work with Him! As the saying goes “God takes you as you are, but He loves you enough not to leave you as you were.”

    And straightway the father of the child cried out, and said with tears, Lord, I believe; help thou mine unbelief.
    Mark 9:24 – Oh, how much I have struggled with my faith!

    Prove all things; hold fast that which is good.
    1 Thessalonians 5:21 – Oh, how much I have changed what I believe because I have tested what preachers and teachers have said and either found them right or wrong! I thought myself a “Doubting Thomas” for years, because it seemed I could not simply believe certain things. I wanted to make sure I was truly following God! This verse helped SOOOOO much!

    I also write a lot of poetry. I have two full books published, and I am going to be posting at least one a week on my blog. I will make my next one posted one on the Bible! (FYI: The vast majority of my poetry is about God, the Christian life, and the Bible)

  3. My verses are Romans 1:16 because of the ministry that God has called me to, and to keep before my mind the truth that the Gospel is the power of God (dunamis) unto salvation.

    Bible stories are hard to pin down. I would say Joseph and Ruth because of how they demonstrate God’s Providence and Sovereignty over all. Another would be Isaiah 6, The Holiness of God, Ezekiel 37, God’s regenerating work, and Paul who was Saul, a man transformed by the power of the Cross.

    I have three favorite books of the Bible that each demonstrate part of our faith: Isaiah – The Christian’s God, Romans – The Christian’s Doctrine and I John – The Christian’s Life. After those, without a doubt Hebrews.

    Your post was very nice by the way, I really like the poem. I have done a lot of thinking on the KJB as well, and have found that I’ll stick by it for sure…though I do own other versions. (Big IFB no-no 🙂 ).

    Thanks for posting!

  4. Oops, forgot the other verse!! My other verse is Philippians 1:21 because that should be the theme of my life.

  5. My favorite Bible story…hmm..I have a few. Probably the one with the woman who pours expensive perfume on Jesus and everyone else complains, except Jesus. Her “waste” on him is a beautiful thing, he said. I like that and all that it represents in Christian living.

    The book of Philippians is my favorite one. I’ve read it counless times and always learn something new.

    Great post!

    • I love that story too. There’s a song about that story that I love as well.

      Alabaster Box
      by Cece Winans

      The room grew still as she made her way to Jesus
      She stumbles through the tears that made her blind
      She felt such pain
      Some spoke in anger
      Hurt folks whisper “There’s no place here for her kind”
      Still on she came through the shame that flushed her face
      Until at last she knelt before his feet
      And though she spoke no words, everything she said was heard
      As she poured her love for the Master from her box of alabaster

      And I’ve come to pour my praise on Him like oil
      From Mary’s alabaster box
      Don’t be angry if I wash his feet with my tears and I dry them with my hair
      You weren’t there the night he found me
      You did not feel what I felt when he wrapped His loving arms around me
      And you don’t know the cost of the oil in my alabaster box

      I can’t forget the way life used to be
      I was a prisoner to the sins that had me bound
      I spent all my days
      poured my life without measure
      Into a little treasure box I thought I found
      Until the day when Jesus came to me
      And healed my soul with the wonder of His touch
      So now Im giving back to Him all the praise He’s worthy of
      I’ve been forgiven and that’s why I love Him so much…..

      And I ‘ve come to pour my praise on Him like oil
      From Mary’s alabaster box
      Don’t be angry if I wash His feet with my tears
      And I dry them with my hair…….my hair
      You weren’t there
      The night Jesus found me
      You did not feel what I felt when he wrapped His loving arms around me
      And you don’t know the cost of the oil
      oohhhhhhhhhhhh
      You don’t know the cost of my praise…….
      You don’t know the cost of the oil in my alabaster box

  6. Great poem Heather! My life verse? I’d have to say it is Isaiah 55:13:

    Instead of the thorn shall come up the fir tree, and instead of the brier shall come up the myrtle tree: and it shall be to the LORD for a name, for an everlasting sign that shall not be cut off.
    (KJV)

    When I read this years ago I felt like God was making me a promise through it.

    “…I don’t read it, ponder it, memorize it, love it, live it, share it as much as I ought to…”

    Neither do I sister. Blessings!

    Eden

  1. Pingback: What’s the Big Deal About the KJV? {episode 1}: it’s just coffee. « Grow Up!

Leave a Reply

