Outrunning grace.

Do something for me? Grab a home video and press play. No, I don’t mean go dig in that box in the garage for the tapes and VCR.  Take a second and snag that video you keep on the shelf in your heart; the one that only you and God have seen.  You probably don’t even have to hit play.  It’s more like “un-pause.”  You know the story of your life so well you could recite it in your sleep.  This is what I do, and maybe you’re guilty of it too.  You play back that video over and over pinpointing the flaws and regrets.  You find everything you can to have a reason why God wouldn’t want you.

While listening to Ketric, one of  Cross Point’s youth pastors, speak to the students on the mistakes we make in our life, I couldn’t help but replay my life story starring yours truly. (One of these days I’m going to see if Kate Hudson is available to be my stunt double.) In the new leaders group afterward Ketric told us, “There is nothing too big that God can’t fix.” There is no denying the truth in that statement.

“Hope in the Lord; for with the Lord there is unfailing love. His redemption overflows.” (Psalm 130:7 NLT)

I can’t begin to tell you how many times I am sitting on the cusp of getting past my past, only to have the enemy knock me down so hard I’m completely jumbled as to what is God and what is not.  I very recently went through one of these seasons.  I couldn’t feel God in my life at all, and I was freaking out!  I felt myself being dragged kicking and screaming back to a dark place I thought I’d completely escaped.  Failure after failure reappeared in my life.  I soon began to replay another tape in my head.  The one that comes from the enemy’s “Red Box.”  This is a place you actually have to walk to and request the flick.  It’s the film of a life that has been stalked by a sick predator and filmed without your knowing.  Each scene is spliced together in such a way you find yourself hating the main character.  There is no super-hero in this cut.  Why would there be?

I became so engrossed in this movie recently that I couldn’t see all that was LOUDLY happening around me.  God was anything BUT silent.  His loving arms were wrapped around me, rocking me while I cried–listening as I threw out my questions and accusations.  The devil used his fear tactics and all I could say to our Father was, “I don’t know what to do–please help me??” And right before the end of the enemy’s version of my life story finished, the Lord tightened His hold and ripped me from satan’s grasp.

I wish I could remember which of our speakers for Cultivate Her said this recently, but one of them said, “God wants nothing more than to help you, but He won’t force Himself into your life.” When I think about my life, and the lives of friends, I am reminded of 1.) the story of the Prodigal Son [NLT] and 2.) a new song by Luminate called “Come Home.”

“I know you’ve been running, searching for something.  But you’re looking in a place you don’t belong.  But it’s never to late, you can’t outrun grace.  No, Mercy doesn’t care what you’ve done…Come Home…”

I struggle with faith and trust in both people and in the Lord.  If I could sum up what God has been trying to steadily teach me over the past few months it’s exactly what Luminate sings about.  You can’t outrun grace.  Once you ask for it, it’s been given.  Father God is going to love you and forgive you whether you think you deserve it or not.  All He wants is for you to ask.  For you to turn to Him and away from the shadows that try to pull you away.  God will take care of the details.  He will give you rest when you’re weary from walking this road.  Just like the prodigal son…He wants you to come Home.  By the power of the blood of Jesus Christ, that home movie you replay in your head can be edited.  There truly is nothing too big that God can’t fix if you let Him.

~                    ~                    ~                    ~

Morgan is the author of the blog Reflections of a Thankful Heart. When I first started reading her blog I was floored by the honesty of her posts! She doesn’t mix words nor does she sugar coat what she’s going through. Her blog is up front; it’s raw; it’s down to earth. If you’re looking for a fresh Christian blog that keeps it real, please check out Morgan’s blog. I believe you will enjoy the posts she writes.

Posted on March 16, 2011, in "Guest Post" March and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Great post Morgan! I know you’ve had some real challenges but God’s faithful…He’s gotten you through many and He’ll bring you the rest of the way.

  2. Hi Morgan,

    Thanks again for commenting on my guest blog yesterday. I went over to your site this morning and bookmarked it.

    Heather described yours well. It is very honest. I like that about it. Stay that way. It will pay dividends for your future. And, to also be honest, I and members of my own have gone through some very similar times. Actually one of those is right now, so we’ll appreciate your prayers for us too, and for God’s will to be worked out. (This relates to moving from here and getting more fully into what we sense God wants us to do, which has proven much more difficult than we expected.)

    Prayers and best wishes!

  3. You touch on something that helped me greatly over the past four years, and that thing is Mark 9:24 (I like the way the NIV says it best): Immediately the boy’s father exclaimed, “I do believe; help me overcome my unbelief!”

    It is one of my three favorite passages (the other two being 1 Samuel 16:7 and James 4:7-8).

    • Oh, I really like the verse from 1 Samuel! I haven’t read that book yet–I think I’ll enjoy it! 🙂 One of my favorites that I try to always keep in mind is John 1:5….The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness can never extinguish it.

  1. Pingback: For A Season | It Just Dawned On Me

Leave a Reply

