The average Joe.

Have you ever read Exodus? If you haven’t I’m gonna say this: it can seem pointless. (I’ll be getting back to that later.) The book’s title is from the Greek word meaning “the way out”. It refers to the Israelites’ deliverance from slavery. Originally the title included a word meaning “and” or “now,” which suggested that this book was like the sequel to Genesis. Most people agree that Moses wrote the book between 1445 B.C and 1405 B.C.

What did he write? He recorded the Jews’ first real experiences with persecution. Then the book gets hopeful with the miraculous birth of Moses, the man God appointed to rescue His people. The rest of the book of Exodus basically describes the Israelites’ very dramatic escape from the Egyptians.

Okay, so now we have an idea on what was going on in the book of Exodus. Well, Moses also wrote down lots of rules for the Israelites to follow. As Christians we are suppose to obey the Bible, right? Which gets ridiculous when you think about the million little rules about how to offer a sacrifice and all that stuff in Exodus…So what is all this holiness hype about?

You see, pre-Jesus there was no way for the “average Joe” to come into God’s perfect presence. God’s holiness and the peoples’ disobedience just didn’t mesh. So God set apart the Levites to be a priestly people that could come into direct contact with Him. But, of course, there were rules for the priests, as they could only enter the Most Holy Place one day each year: the Day of Atonement.

When did things change? Well, the Temple veil that separated the Most Holy Place from the Holy Place was torn when Jesus was crucified (Matthew 27:51). Finally, the barrier between God and humanity was destroyed all because of Christ’s perfect, once-for-all sacrifice.

“Then the curtain in the Temple was torn into two pieces, from the top to the bottom. Also, the earth shook and rocks broke apart.”
Matthew 27:51 (NCV)

It’s because believers are now God’s temple and Christ is our high priest, we are free to enter into the Most Holy Place anytime and anywhere (1 Corinthians 3:16, Hebrews 10:19-20). Think about it though. Just because we have privilege of accessing God 24/7 doesn’t mean we should be careless about it. When is the last time you trembled in awe of God? I know for me if I was to be honest; it doesn’t happen as often as it should.

“Don’t you know that you are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit lives in you?”
1 Corinthians 3:16 (NCV)

~                    ~                    ~                    ~

Hello! My name is Anna or iSmile. I’m fashion blogger…well, sort of. Thus I named my blog Stardom Randomness; so I could properly include random things into my blog. But anyways, a little bit about me? I’m a designer, musician, tennis player, and a blogger. My dream? To become a concert pianist! I guess you could say I like to dream big. Anything else? I guess I really don’t know what else to write here. So if you want to know more just come on over and check out my blog@ http://stardom-randomness.blogspot.com.

Posted on March 11, 2011, in "Guest Post" March and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Very nice summary of the plan of salvation, Anna. Well written. Best wishes.

  1. Pingback: Tearing up the contract « Paula Whidden

Leave a Reply

