Confessions of a RIFB Girl of 20-something {I have FB, Twitter, Text, and a blog.}

If you’ve gone to church for any amount of time, chances are you’ve heard a message that has either condemned or at least warned against social websites. I’ll admit, their warnings are noteworthy, but to completely be against all social media… heh.

I think it’s a tad bit hypocritical for people to get all up in a huffy-puff over someone else’s facebook page when they have one of their own. And don’t tell me that twitter is evil when you are the moderater for your church’s twitter page.

Did I miss any social websites?
What other minor things do you hear people Christians make a big deal out of?

Posted on February 15, 2011, in Confessions of a Rebellious Independent Fundamental Baptist Girl of 20-something {Series}, Vlog and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I see your point I myself have at least ( last count have 4 e-amil adresses) a facbook account, a Twitter account…But I do realize something else too. These are gifts and I know some really lonely people who find this a good way to stay in touch. However one would not associaate yourself with people who are godless in a ordinary setting so you have to be careful not to do it online either. I am “dad” to a six year old daugher and I will monitor her use of social media, so she learns to use it responsibly.
    I know there are those who would condemn theeir use outright, but I do not think that is a very informed opinion either. I am however old enough to sympathize with, I can remember that a hard drive was something you do whne you get in your car and drive a long way from home….seriously. By all means use social media but do not let them become an idol in your life.

    • I do agree with you.
      Social websites should be used with caution – but (as you said) to shun them completely is a bit ignorant.
      There is so much good that can come of them – people can be reached for the Lord, encouraged, find help, re-connect with friends and family!

      Oh, and I have *several* e-mail addresses myself – but only 3 that I use regularly. :]
      Blessings to you and your family.

  2. I feel like you read my mind! My church is actually very open to social media and don’t really preach about how it’s “evil” very much. Although one of my favorites is when they say that Facebook time doesn’t replace face to face time. Which is true.

    BUT they do freak out about the dreaded “sexting.”

    I get it. I really do. It’s not a good thing to do. But the cell phone isn’t the issue. Texting isn’t the issue. It’s raising your children to love and respect themselves, others, and their bodies to not do that. Because if it’s not “sexting” it’s going to be something else. If they want to show each other pictures of themselves w/out clothing they are going to find a way to do it with or without a cell phone. So just talk to your kids about it and help them to respect themselves and others!

    OK… of my pedestal now. LOL. But YES. You took the words right out of my mouth. Bravo! 🙂

    • Absolutely. It reminds me of the saying “where there’s a will, there’s a way.”
      If a kid wants to do something, he’s gonna do – whether he’s allowed to or not. Granted, that’s depending on how strong his will is. There were plently of things I was not necessarily “allowed” to do growing up, but I did them anyways because I found sneaky ways to get around the “rules” and do what I wanted.
      The key is training your children what is right and what is wrong. They may stray for awhile, but they will always have those nagging thoughts in the back of their mind that they are not doing the right thing.

      Thanks for the comment! Blessings!

  3. My two pesos:

    Social media is: media [tool or vehicle to store, transmit, and receive] for social content.

    Social media is morally neutral and cant be any better or worse than a gun, a box, a straw or a house. They could be used for killing, hiding drugs, sniffing cocaine, or prostitution. However, they can also be used for protection, a clothing-drive, drink water or a shelter.

    The question is what content are you storing, transmitting and receiving and how it this content building you and others up or tearing you down morally… and what do you do about it.

  4. Funny how things have not changed a whole lot since I was your age. Not all churches preach out against new technology, but many feel its part of the ‘coming of Christ’, signs and other evils, but we have to continue living. Just with caution, but we have to use caution in our everyday life. I just happen to be married to a technology engineer, and have a son your age, so my life is full of new and hip introductions. I also write all types of genre, and some of it is frowned upon in a godly lifestyle, but I also feel we are given a creative gift.

    Enjoyed reading about you!

    • I have also head that part of the discussion as well.
      But as I said in my YouTube video, if it is all evil, we might as well do away with refrigerators, microwaves, toasters, and air condition and live as the Amish (which I love the Amish people, but I’d rather not live without all my “comforts” if I don’t have to).

      Thank you for stopping by! I’m looking forward to reading more from you in the future – both on your blog and on Idylls for the King.
      Blessings!

  5. A million miles? Probably not. You text while you drive – BAD girl! I quit FB a long time back for my own reasons but my wife has FB and loves it. I have a Tweet account but I’ve never once used it. I guess I’ll have to check it out. I’ve only heard preaching once against social networking and it was preached hard against our teens and their “MY Space” accounts. I’ve never had a My Space or cared about My Space. Social Networking is a tool. It can be used for good or evil. We each have that personal choice. Hey – I bet if you adjust the white balance on your video camera you’ll get rid of the yellow. This was a fun and interesting post.

    • Yeah, probably a bit of an exaggeration with the “million miles” part. oops. :]

      Yeah, I… um… used to text and drive. I guess I still do occasionally if there’s no one else on the road or if I’m stopped at a red light. I know it’s bad, and I keep telling myself I’m gonna quit… but… :[

      I quit FB once myself for personal reasons, and now I’m back on because said “personal reasons” have been resolved. I used to (may still have, idk) a MySpace account – but I’m not a big fan of it. There was a lot of “trash” on there – which is one reason why I switched to FB.

      I didn’t even notice the video was yellow… thank you for the heads up! I’ll look into it.
      Thank you for the comment. Blessings!

  6. Honestly, all social media sites are simply an enhancement to the way we communicate. That is it. Social media shouldn’t replace any of the other ways we communicate, just like letter writing didn’t replace face to face communication.

    However, it opens doors to communication that weren’t previously possible. Like now, instead of visiting people and sitting with them through their boring photo albums. I would suggest this is a positive development.

    On the other hand, it lets us keep up with what is happening with our friends and family in a more casual manner. No longer do you have to call 10 people and ask them how they’re doing. Facebook walls keep everyone up to date. It is a good dynamic in the way we relate to each other. Announcing new babys “It’s a girl” is so much simpler and provides a one-shot notification to your family. 🙂

    Facebook has also been mentioned in a growing number of divorces. My contention is that Facebook only exposed a problem that already existed. It is ludicrous to think that relationships without Facebook have fewer problems.

    Bottom line, Facebook, social media, the internet are all part of a very public place. Conduct yourselves accordingly.

    God bless, Richie
    http://rcsthe.blogspot.com

    • I agree with you.

      I do think couples should keep their facebook account open to one another – this allows for accountability and they can each discuss things that they see as potential problems. By keeping everything out in the open, the chance of “secrets” or misunderstandings on an issue dealing with the social site is less likely.

      Thank you for the comment, Richard!

  7. all i wanna know is, is that a 4G phone or what?

    • To be honest, I’m not sure what it is.
      It’s a Sprint phone, but I don’t like it at all. It’s just a replacement phone until I can upgrade next month.
      I think it might the the Hero – but I really don’t know.

Leave a Reply

