Mucho amore.

It’s Valentine’s Day. or Single’s Awareness Day. or whatever-you-want-to-call-it Day. woo-hoo.

I’ve never really liked Valentine’s Day. I always viewed it as the one day each year that girls think it’s their God-given right to whine and demand expenses gifts of their significant other. It’s the one day a year for the guy to be exceptionally nice to his girl. It’s the one day each year where a couple feels obligated to be extra lovey-dovey towards each other. Ew. Couples shouldn’t wait for February 14 to roll around each year to be sweet and do special things for each other. That should be an ongoing, every day thing.

{when my co-secretary called me earlier, I answered the phone with “Hola, mi pastelito! Happy Valentine’s Day! Mucho amore to youuu!” I’m pretty sure I knocked her socks off with my amazing bi-lingual skills…} ;]

Last year, I spent it with friends. This year, I no longer hang with that crowd.

I can never make up my mind. I can’t decide if I want to be in a relationship right now, or if I’m much happier as a single person. On any normal day, I want to be single. Whenever a friend of mine gets engaged, I wish I had someone to call my own. This year I’m really torn… I have 8 friends getting married this year.  EIGHT.  getting married. this  year. That’s insane.

In church yesterday I looked around the auditorium and made a shocking discovery. I am the only single college-age girl in my church. Even some of the high schoolers have me beat. ha. And then I made another discovery. I’m okay with that.

While I may joke about my plan to celebrate Valentine’s Day by listening to depressing love-gone-bad songs while writing in my diary*, watching sappy chick flicks, and eating double-fudge-brownie Ben & Jerry’s ice cream, the truth of the matter is that I have the greatest lover of all – the Lord Jesus Christ.

He cares about every detail of my life. He loves me despite who I am. He holds my heart in the palm of His hands and treats it as one of His greatest treasures. He has a plan for my future. He prays for me daily. He gives me the desires of my heart and so much more. He didn’t just create me and allow me to exist and find my own way – He guides me! He walks with me! He looks past all of my faults and sees my potential. He’s mine, and I’m His.

When you look at me, you may see a girl who is single by all the world’s standards, but in all reality I am actually the blushing bride of Christ. and I get to spend Valentine’s Day with Him.

You can’t beat that.

*Fear not, I do not keep a diary.  :]

Posted on February 14, 2011, in Love, Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Hey girl! Thanks for the follow!

    I love your blog! Especially the current reading. It’s nice to know that people are still reading books!

    I have mixed ideas on Valentines Day. Just this morning I was checking my facebook and all I saw were posts by people saying “I LOVE YOU BABY” or just replaying the entire history of their relationship on their status. Part of me was like “PUKE” and the other part of me was like “Wow, 28 years married… that’s really cool. We really should honor that.” But I still have the desire to run to the grocery store and grab ice cream.

    Then part of me mainly just gets frustrated that we act as though romantic love is the ONLY kind of love we should celebrate on the big V DAY. What about friends? Family? Co workers? People at our church? The barista at Starbucks? I feel as though we should focus on all of those relationships too.

    • I agree that sometimes it’s rather disturbing to listen (or read) other people’s mushy-gushy love-talk. haha. Other times it’s sweet… depending on who it is. ;]

      your comment about spending V-Day with the barista at Starbucks made me laugh. I should try that sometime.

      Thank you for stopping by!
      Blessings,
      Heather Joy

  2. Great post Heather Joy. You end it really, really well.

    • Thank you, Jay. I appreciate that coming from you.
      I need to get over to your blog and read your latest Screwcap Letter!
      Must. Find. Time. If not within the next couple hours, definitely by tonight.

  3. wow…the only girl in church who is single and still in college?! thats crazy. Are you in the south?

    I didn’t find my husband until I was 31…a little later than I wanted, but God’s timing is perfect…and every day for us is Valentines Day!

    • Actually, no… I’m very much a Yankee. Detroit to be exact. ;]

      The Lord’s time IS always perfect – you’re absolutely right.
      I’m so happy the Lord has blessed your lives together.

      Thank you for stopping by!
      Blessings!

  4. Heather Joy,

    Sounds to me as if you have found the key to living a contented life…. 1. count your blessings 2. Be always seeking His will 3. Keep trusting Him.

    I do believe the Lord has blessed you in all three areas. May He continue to bless you.

    • Thank you so much for your comment.
      1. The Lord is so good to me. He’s so faithful.
      2. Praying daily for Him to reveal His perfect will for my life to me.
      3. Where else would I turn? I’ve no where else to go.

      Thank you again for your encouraging words.
      Blessings!

Leave a Reply

