Confessions of a RIFB girl of 20-something {I love the Amish.}

It’s been awhile, eh? I know, I know…

I really don’t have any good “reasons,” but I do have a few good excuses… one would be that I was “busy” (ish)… another would be that I was suffering from a battle with indecisiveness… the other would be that I’ve just been a little lazy lately. {at least I’m honest.}

Anyways… I’m just gonna admit it now — this post is… probably… completely unneccessary — but, it was on “the list” so I did it. Basically, if you don’t like seemingly pointless rambling or Amish culture, click the “X” at the top right of this screen now, because you will be bored to tears with this post. Otherwise click play and enjoy spending the next non-refundable 4 minutes and 48 seconds of your life watching this. :]

Confession: I love the Amish.

Posted on February 9, 2011, in Confessions of a Rebellious Independent Fundamental Baptist Girl of 20-something {Series}, Vlog and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I agree. I went to a Mennonite College and was introduced to Mennonites and Amish folk. I wonder what our families would be like if we didn’t have TV, Radio, Game Stations and Internet? I wonder what our families would be like if we all ate together at the table, read the Bible together, played games together and had a real and honest interest in the success of the family. I like you am attached to all my goodies but I admire most highly the Amish people for the simplicity and hard work ethics.

    • I suspect we would be ALOT different if we didn’t have TV, Radio, Game Stations, and the Internet – in some ways, good; and in some ways, bad. All 4 of those can be very useful tools if used properly.

      Thank you for the comment!

  2. I do not know much about the Amish, but I would love to learn. You hinted at their legalism. Legalism is deadening too and is what got the Pharisee’s called “full of dead men’s bones” by Jesus. I wonder how much of what you see in an Amish community is actually dominated by a spirit of control and intimidation. I wonder what would happen if you told them that you attained righteousness without hard work? (Rom 9:30)

    Attaining righteousness without hard-work is what angered Cain (his sacrifice was the result of labor in the fields) and the Pharisees (who’s service to God was their burden to the Law) and is always offensive to those who strive to please God that way. When someone comes along and surpasses their righteousness, it angers them and can even cause them to murder those who are more righteous. This is exactly what happened to Abel, and Jesus.

    I believe that when you come up with an arbitrary standard of “righteousness”, the inevitable result is to measure yourself by it, and then others. Legalism demands from others even what the legalist hasn’t attained. This results in spiritual slavery, dominated by control and superficiality.

    I believe these reasons are why there are very little “code of conduct”-like statements in the NT, because we’re not supposed to be walking by the “letter”, but by the “Spirit.”

    I’d love to hear from an Amish who got the salvation part right. Sounds to me like if an entire Amish community did get free, they’d truly have freedom that even some of us bound in technology don’t experience. 🙂

    I apologize for the long comment here, but I hope it addresses the underlying issues I have in my limited knowledge of the Amish.

    God bless, Richie
    http://rcsthe.blogspot.com

    • I re-read my above comment, one line didn’t make much sense, I re-wrote it here:
      Correction:

      Attaining righteousness without hard-work is what angered Cain (his sacrifice was the result of labor in the fields) and the Pharisees (who’s service to God was their burden to the Law). Those who who strive to please God in this way, always find those who attain righteousness without striving like they do, offensive.

    • “I wonder how much of what you see in an Amish community is actually dominated by a spirit of control and intimidation. I wonder what would happen if you told them that you attained righteousness without hard work? (Rom 9:30)”

      I do believe their “leaders” do provoke some measure of fear in the people. Fear of rejection, fear of shunning, fear of being unforgivable, etc.
      In the case of the “enlightened Amish” that I spoke of in the vlog, they accepted that salvation by grace through faith was all that it takes – just as the Bible clearly states.

      “Sounds to me like if an entire Amish community did get free, they’d truly have freedom that even some of us bound in technology don’t experience.”

      Amen, my friend.
      Thank you for the great comment!

  3. In vain have I struggled. It will not do. My feelings will not be repressed.

    It’s ok to remove things from our lives, personally, if they are a stumbling block, but to label things as sin and displeasing to God that are clearly not, and then to shun those that do those things… hello?? Pharisees!
    “Ye blind guides, which strain at a gnat, and swallow a camel.”

    There are many people in all walks of Christendom that are truly saved, or believe in salvation by grace through faith, but that does not mean that they should stay among those false teachings and guidelines.
    “Wherefore come out from among them, and be ye separate”

    • hmmm… sounds like a few other “denominations” I know out there. ;p

      I get what you’re saying… although, in the Amish’ minds, they ARE “being separate” (from the “outside” world). Just saying…

      :]

  4. You are a hoot! So glad I ended up here today. I love Amish people too, but def could not be one. Like you, I like cars and other ‘stuff.’ And the legalism would not sit well with my free-loving spirit.

    Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

