Sort of like a contest, but not at all.

This is sort of like a “contest,” but not really. Let me explain…

Basically, I need some help… from you, my readers. If you have read any of my health-related posts {here’s the first one}, then you probably remember me mentioning that I’m having surgery soon (in about a month). This surgery will have me on my back and out of commission for at least 4 weeks. My original intent was to write posts for Grow Up! in advance and schedule them to post automatically during my recovery timeframe. Then life happened…

The last thing I want to do is leave my readers “Grow Up!-less” for a whole month while I recover. So I’m opening it up to you. So far I’ve only hosted two guest posts (thanks again, Nick and Jay), but now I’m planning on making March a “guest post” month, speckled with a few posts of my own here and there.

This won’t just help me, though. This will give you some good exposure and a chance to advertise your writing skills to people who may not normally frequent your blog. You don’t have to be a professional writer/blogger to participate – this is open to everyone… PLUS, you have free rein regarding to what you write about (as long as you follow the terms and conditions).

If you have a wordpress account, I will give you access to Grow Up! as a contributor. All other writers/bloggers submitting a post can do so by e-mailing it to me at growup318@gmail.com. You do not have to maintain your own blog/website to be eligible for submitting a guest post.

Terms and conditions:

  • The post must have a Christian emphasis.
  • Keep the word count somewhere around 500-1000.
  • All Scripture quoted from versions other than the KJV must be noted (ie. NASB, NKJV, the Message, TLB, etc).
  • Posts cannot promote Calvinism, Catholicism, salvation by baptism, or other false religions (please review the {statement of faith} as a guideline).
  • Posts must be the submitters own original work that has not been published anywhere before (on another blog or elsewhere).
  • Posts cannot contain hate-speeches, judgemental disdain, or vulgar language.
  • YouTube clips may be used, pending my approval.
  • Pictures may be used, pending my approval.
  • Guest Post must be submitted by midnight (EST) on Sunday, February 27, 2011.
  • No posts will be published on Sundays (March 6, 13, 20, 27).
  • If your post is published, link back to Grow Up! on your blog to spread the word about your post.
  • Each writer may write up to two guest posts, but they will not be published back-to-back, unless it is a 2-part series.
  • If you have submitted a guest post for Grow Up! before, or are currently working on an article, you may still participate in this.

Please keep the {purpose} of this blog in mind as you write your guest post.

If you currently maintain a systematic posting schedule on your blog and would like your guest post on Grow Up! to work with that, you may request the day (except Sundays) within the month of March you would like your blog post scheduled. Please note, once a blog post is scheduled on a specific day, it will not be shifted to accommodate other writers. Remember, this is on a “first come” basis.

Posts will be scheduled for posting on a “first come” basis. You will receive an e-mail regarding the approval of your blog post. If approved, you will receive an e-mail regarding the day your post is scheduled for publishing.

Here’s what I’ll need from you:

  1. Your name (or whatever you use as your blogger name).
  2. An e-mail address where I can reach you.
  3. The URL to your blog/website (if applicable)
  4. A brief “about” section (this will be published with your post).
  5. The title of your post.
  6. Your guest post.

*please note that I reserve the right to reject a guest post that is submitted if I feel the content is not in accordance with the purpose of Grow Up! I also have rights to fix any grammar/punctuation/spelling mistakes within the posts. Original authors of each post retain all copyrights to their own work – Grow Up! will merely host the work other writers provide for this “contest-but-not-really.”

If you would like to be a part of this or have any questions, please leave a comment below or {e-mail} me, then post a link to this post on your Twitter (don’t forget to follow me @HethieBaby) and/or Facebook to spread the word.

If you would like to further help with this, please consider posting one of the buttons pictured below on your home blog sidebar with a link directing people to this post now through March.

Posted on February 3, 2011, in Guest Post and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

    • oh absolutely… definitely you.
      In fact, had you not asked, I would have stalked your blog down for an e-mail address and point-blank asked you to write a post. lol

      what… you think I’m kidding…?

      • Darlene Garrison

        Heather, I see that about no posts promoting salvation by baptism, but salvation by baptism is scriptural. There is no way to get around it unless you want to remove those scriptures from God’s Word.

        • Darlene Garrison

          Baptism is important if the Great Commission is important. Matthew 28:18-20 = “And Jesus came and spake unto them, saying, All power is given unto me in heaven and in earth. Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost: Teaching them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you: and, lo, I am with you always, even unto the end of the world.” Mark 16:16 = “He that believeth and is baptized shall be saved; but he that believeth not shall be damned.” Salvation in the name of Jesus is important. Luke 24:47 = “And that repentance and remission of sins should be preached in His name among all nations, beginning at Jerusalem.; Acts 2:38 = “Then Peter said unto them, Repent, and be baptized every one of you in the name of Jesus Christ for the remission of sins, and ye shall receive the gift of the Holy Ghost. I could go on……

          • Mrs. Garrison,
            Tomorrow I will post a bonus QOTD post regarding baptism and -if you wish- you can discuss this with my other readers and fellow bloggers on this issue.
            You and I have personally had this debate before, and I realize we believe differently. You will not change my mind, and I’m sure I cannot change yours.
            I welcome you to come back tomorrow to discuss this with a fresh bunch. Look for it around 7:20 AM (EST).
            Blessings!

  1. Darlene Garrison

    I will be watching, Heather. I am going to be doing my own daily posts on my profile. I have been putting thought into this all afternoon. I finally decided to start with John’s baptism and go from there. Have a wonderful evening.

  2. I’d like to do a guest post. I’ll be working on one.

  3. I’ll be praying for your surgery that it will be healing.

  4. Darlene Garrison

    If anyone would like to read the daily posts on my profile you are more than welcome. I am going to be covering the “baptism” topic in detail as the weeks go by.

  5. Darlene Garrison

    Just a note: I have been “baptized” for the remission of sins as is the meaning according to scripture – there will be more to come on my profile. I started today with John “the Baptist”.

  6. I won’t volunteer cuz you wouldn’t have me. But I don’t see how you can say that any religion that follows the Bible could be a false religion. Heck, that’s pretty much a lack of charity. I know this isn’t the venue to do it, but I’d like to speak with you about what you feel is false about Catholicism. OR point me to where you’ve written about it. As Fulton J. Sheen once said, “”There are not 100 people who hate the Catholic Church; But there are millions who hate what they believe the Catholic Church to be.”

    • David,
      I have family members that are Catholic, Greek Orthadox, and Lutheran.

      I don’t know you personally, so I don’t know what exactly you do or don’t believe. Please know this is just a general overview.

      Here’s some of the issues with the Caltholic church:
      1. They believe in transubstantiation (the bread and wine actually turn into the body/blood of Christ in the Eurcharist).
      2. They pray to Mary, believing her to have the ability to work intercession between man and Jesus.
      3. The priests/pope believe they can forgive sins.
      4. They believe in infant baptism and that by doing so the child is “saved.”
      5. They do not believe/practice baptism by immersion.
      6. They forbid priests to marry.
      7. They believe in purgetory.
      8. They believe in the Canonization of dead saints.
      9. They believe in the sale of indulgences.

      There is much wrong with the Catholic faith. Most of which is founded by man-made rules and not Scriptural.

      I haven’t personally written an article about it, but here’s an {exert} by Martin Luther (which, btw, I don’t agree with everything Martin Luther ever believed/taught either). Here’s one more {article} which may explain it a little more clearly.

      Blessings.

      • I’m not here to try to attack you, you are a sister in Christ. I was just wondering.
        I also won’t hijack your thread with long diatribes. But there are some corrections I must make.
        Regarding your first point, that is literally scriptural, John Chapter 6. Regarding your second point, have you ever asked anyone to pray for you for something? As in “Pray for me that I do well on my test tomorrow…” or something like that? This is exactly what intercessory prayer is, whether to Jesus’ mother or anyone else. We think Jesus mother has special consideration with him because of her status as ‘mother’, as Bathseba did with Solomon.
        Regarding your third point, that’s incorrect. We believe that Jesus has the power to forgive sin, and that the priest, by his ordination, acts in the person of Christ.
        Point four, there is nowhere in scripture that states that the person being baptised must be adult. That is unscriptural. Regarding being saved, no, we must work our entire lives to be sure of that, and even then, our judgement will happen when we die.
        Point 5, not true. Many Catholic churches practice immersion. But it’s not required, either. As I asked you once before, do you think that 3000 dirty converts polluted the water supply in Jerusalem when Peter baptised the 3000? This is also a reference for the infant baptism issue. It does not state children, but 3000 men and their families…
        Point 6, our priest are not forbidden to marry. But they must be married before they become priests (as Peter was). But this is a sacrifice to God, a personal sacrifice that the church requests her men to make.
        Point 7, purgatory is scriptural, though a lot of that doctrine is not in your Bible. We know that, as Scripture teaches, nothing unclean will enter the presence of God in heaven (Rev. 21:27). Paul tells us that, when we are judged, each man’s work will be tried. And what happens if a righteous man’s work fails the test? “He will suffer loss, though he himself will be saved, but only as through fire” (1 Cor 3:15). Now this loss, this penalty, can’t refer to consignment to hell, since no one is saved there; and heaven can’t be meant, since there is no suffering (“fire”) there. The Catholic doctrine of purgatory alone explains this passage.

        Point 8, saints are, as Mother Theresa of Calcutta has said “sinners who persevered in their faith”. Saints are, succinctly, people who we see as heroes, as having led lives we can use as an example; those who are in heaven. Some in heaven are known for their actions and works, some are not known to us.

        Point 9, no, they don’t. Martin Luther even got that one wrong. “An indulgence is a remission before God of the temporal punishment due to sins whose guilt has already been forgiven, which the faithful Christian who is duly disposed gains under certain defined conditions through the Church’s help when, as a minister of redemption, she dispenses and applies with authority the treasury of the satisfactions won by Christ and the saints” (Indulgentarium Doctrina 1). A person cannot buy an indulgence, nor can he buy indulgences in advance of sin, nor can a person buy forgiveness of a sin. One never could “buy” indulgences. The financial scandal surrounding indulgences, the scandal that gave Martin Luther an excuse for his heterodoxy, involved alms—indulgences in which the giving of alms to some charitable fund or foundation was used as the occasion to grant the indulgence. There was no outright selling of indulgences. It is true that there were abuses by individual priests, but the Church never taught this.
        I would be happy to discuss the other man-made rules as you wish.

  7. By the way, I will pray for your successful recovery from your surgery. God bless you.

  8. If you need help with whatever, let me know! Thanks for all your help that you’ve done for me! Praying for you!

    • Amos, you’re more than welcome to write a post if you’d like. :] Let me know if you’re interested {growup318 at gmail dot com}. Thank you for the prayers, my friend.

  9. Hi! I just came across your site. I recently started a new blog….but yeah, anyways I would love to write a guest post. I guess just send me an email 🙂

  10. Hey Heather!
    I would like to write a guest post, I will get working on one and send it to you soon. Of course if it is fine with you!
    Quick question, I do not have a wordpress account. Idk if this will be a problem, just let me know!
    Love you, miss you and praying for you!! 🙂

    • Julie, that would be wonderful! I’m looking forward to reading your post.
      When you finish it, just sent it to me in an e-mail at growup318 [at] gmail [dot] com and I’ll let you know what date I schedule your post for! :]
      Thank you for your willingness.
      I miss you and love you very much!

  1. Pingback: The skinny on “Guest Post March.” « Grow Up!

Leave a Reply

