Book Review: “Just Do Something” (Kevin DeYoung)

God’s will is a popular topic among Christians of just about every denomination at just about any age. Everyone wants to know what their purpose is in life. Everyone wants to know what the future holds for them. Everyone wants to know what God created them specifically to do. The problem is how do we figure out what that plan is? And how can we know whether or not we’re making the right choice?

Just Do Something by Kevin DeYoung was a book about a “liberating approach to finding God’s will” which explained to the reader “how to make a decision without dreams, isions, fleeces, impressions, open doors, random Bible verses, casting lots, liver shivers, writing in the sky, etc.”

Kevin draws from a vast variety of resources for the examples and illustrations he uses in the book, ranging from past experience, counseling sessions, family history, common teachings, and much more.

The author gets right down to business and doesn’t try to sugar-coat anything. He states: “God is not a Magic 8-Ball we shake up and peer into whenever we have a decision to make. He is a good God, who gives us brains, shows us the way of obedience, and invites us to take risks for Him.”  (ch.2)

Kevin invites us to take action, trusting that God’s will for our lives will unfold while we are busy serving the Lord. Remember, “He that is faithful in that which is least is faithful also in much” (Luke 16:10a). The Lord will not give us more to do when we will not work with what we already have – we need to take responsibility. “God’s will” should not be our excuse for our indecision, procrastination, or just plain laziness.

Out of all 122 pages, I think my favorite part is he chapter which deals with relationships and marriage. I don’t want to spoil it for you all, but let’s just say that he sticks several matches under the hind ends of the male population (and sometimes the females as well).

If you’re unsure of God’s will then just do something (and read this book). Start serving the Lord. Don’t super-spiritualize the “small stuff.” Start doing, stop delaying – God can use you right where you’re at.

I think Kevin was smack dab on target with this book; I give it a double thumbs up and even encourage you to buy and read it – whether you think you know God’s will for your life or not. In fact, if someone were to walk up and ask me how they could know God’s will for their life, I would have to agree with Joshua Harris (who wrote the foreword) and hand them a copy of this book.

“Worry about the future is not simply a character tic, it is the sin of unbelief, an indication that our hearts are not resting in the promises of God.”  (ch.4)

Posted on February 2, 2011, in Book Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. “God’s will” should not be our excuse for our indecision, procrastination, or just plain laziness.

    OUCH! That sentence makes me want to read the book immediately, and it also makes me want to run from it as fast as I can!

    Thanks for sharing the review!!!

    • Yeah, there were a few “ouch!” moments in the book for me as well.
      Basically, it was full of spiritual spankings all the way through.
      And well needed, to be be sure.

      • I read Kevin’s blog often and had heard about this book, but I hadn’t done much research. Thanks for writing the review! Sometimes God does speak to us in dreams and visions, but He also has told us how to live our lives. Basically, love and serve others.

        • Somehow, I don’t think I’ve ever read his blog… which is strange, because usually the first thing I do when I read a book is stalk the internet for the author’s personal blog (they don’t always have one, but a lot of them do).
          I’ll have to check into that!
          I have several of his books in my “wishlist” on amazon.com. Actually, I have *several* wishlists with several *hundred* books on them.
          {yeah, I’m a bit of a fanatic when it comes to reading…. I just. need. more. time.}
          Blessings. :]

  2. My pastor is doing a sermon series on God’s will and he’s referenced this book several times. It’s good to hear it from someone else’s perspective.

    • It is definitely a good book. If you haven’t read it yet, I definitely give you a cyber nudge to do so! :]

      Thank you for stopping by, claygirlsings.
      Blessings to you and yours!
      ~ Heather Joy

Leave a Reply

