Buffalo sauce & the Holy Spirit.

I love buffalo sauce. And for my readers who don’t know what that is – it’s just another name for hot sauce. In fact, my favorite restaurant is Buffalo Wild Wings (or BDUBS [pronounced “bee-dubz”]  as it is more commonly known as). That is the place where you can get all the boneless chicken wings you could want smothered in any hot sauce goodness you may desire. {my mouth is watering…}

If I’m eating chicken, you best believe that it’s going to be smothered in buffalo sauce. And, because I love the mild sauce and the parmesan garlic sauce from BDUBS so much, I keep a bottle of each in my refrigerator at all times. You might go as far as to call it an addiction.

Without any sauce, chicken wings are rather bland, in my opinion. It’s a piece of bird covered in bread crumbs. Mind you, I’m thankful for the food… I just like spicing it up a bit. I like flavor – lots of it! I like being able to not taste hardly any chicken whatsoever, and mostly spicy sauce. And of course, what does anything hot and spicy usually do to the eater? It makes you thirsty. Really, really thirsty – because:
a) the spices usually give you lip burn,
b) you can no longer feel your tongue due to the numbing sensation spicy foods leave, and
c) because who doesn’t get thirsty when you eat spicy foods?!

If you haven’t buffalo sauce yet, do it! I really don’t think you’ll regret it. Unless, of course, you’re severely allergic to spices and chicken.

~                    ~                    ~                    ~

I love Christianity. {translation: I love Jesus, I love His Word, I love serving Him.}  And all that is great. I love the ministries I’m able to be a part of, but sometimes they’re a little dry. Mind you, I’m thankful for the opportunity to serve… but unless my service is covered by the Holy Spirit, it’s going to be bland. If God’s hand is not on my life and what I’m trying to accomplish, it’s all going to be in vain. If your ministries were pieces of chicken, the Holy Spirit would be the buffalo sauce. The chicken is no good without the sauce; likewise, your ministries are no good without the Holy Spirit. We should serve with a longing to not be seen at all, and to have God glorified in every possible way through every thing we do.

Unfortunately, the Holy Spirit isn’t contained in a bottle that you can buy for $3.99 and smear all over your ministries. The Holy Spirit doesn’t work on your timeline. He works on His, and you better be on the same page as Him.

Maybe the reason your ministries aren’t proving fruitful (or as fruitful) as you’d like them to be is because the Holy Spirit is not able to freely move in your life. Maybe you’re bored in the Lord’s work because there’s no “spice” on it. I’m not here to judge, so please don’t think that. Is there something in your life that’s hindering the Lord? Are you subconsciously (or consciously) quenching the Spirit?

God’s not boring, nor is His work. If you’re bored, something’s not right. It may be time for a spiritual checkup.

When you see God working and taste His goodness, it makes you thirsty. You want the showers of His goodness to cover everything. You start craving it. You desire it at every given moment in your life. It becomes a spiritual addiction.

If there isn’t any “buffalo sauce” on your life and ministries, I highly recommend you try it. You won’t regret it. 🙂

Posted on January 7, 2011, in Christian Service and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. You’ve got two great loves here. I agree wholeheartedly.

    Thanks for following my blog. I appreciate your taking time out to find it.

    Euripides

  2. Oh Heather Joy (love your name!) . . .this is just so good! I love that God isn’t boring. We are. 🙂 Maybe it helps explain why I’m not bored although most people would be if they were with me any length of time. And, this kind of fits with something else God is doing in me right now. It started in December when He told me if I’m stressing about celebrating His birth, I’m doing something wrong. If I’m stressing period, I’m doing something wrong. If I am feeling bored with God, something is wrong. God bless you for adding His spice to our lives!

  3. Ok, so this post got my stomach growling and I (SORRY!!) don’t even like buffalo sauce (I’m a sickly sweet you know what just dip it in honey and brown sugar BBQ sauce kind of girl). But good analogy! May we all learn to let the Holy Spirit spice up what we do for Him. After all, we should be doing it for HIM. Blessings!

  4. Oh my word!! Lol, AGAIN we are so much alike!!!! I LOVE Bdubs, and HOT SAUCE!!! Don’t even get me started on hotsauce!!! (I DRENCH my food in it: chips, sandwiches, casseroles, soups, stews, pizza, pasta, french fries, you name it!)

    Oh and good metaphor, by the way! 😀

    maryswoolgathering.blogspot.com

  5. Your blog make me want to jump up and say Hooray! Or Hallelujah!

    I’ve never tasted Buffalo Sauce, but my son Bill worked at the main Subway here for ten years and managed it for two of those. Buffalo Sauce was one of their promotions, and was very popular. He tells me he put Buffalo sauce on every sandwich he made for himself, because as you said, it really spiced them up and gave it a good flavor. And he agrees that if you’re not doing the ministry God wants you to, it WILL seem bland and boring – with no Buffalo Saunce on it! He says that if you have responded to, and are doing, the work God has called you to, you’ll have lots of Buffalo Saunce (ie the moving and working of the Holy Spirit) in your day to day ministry.

    We are NOT having that problem with the neighborhood kids we’re ministring to right now – our kids say we should hook them up to our local power plant; we could stop using coal completely! But we did feel that God was telling us to do this, at least for whatever time we’re still here, and we started, and WOW!

    Anyway, great (and lively) blog!

    • You may jump and say “Hooray!” AND “Hallelujah!” if you’d like – I won’t stop you! 🙂

      Praise the Lord for His working in the kids in your area. May He continue to do so, and may their hearts remain open to serving Him!

      Blessings,
      Heather Joy

  6. Now my mouth is watering. I love Buffalo Wild Wings. I love the honey BBQ sauce and the garlic one….and to think I just ate breakfast and now I’m hungry again. What are some of your other favorite places to eat? Last night I had for the 2nd time a burger from Five Guys which was delicious. I’m so torn between liking that burger place or Smash Burger. I also am a HUGE fan of Chipotle.

    • I love BDUBS, Chilis, Applebees, Panera Bread, Noodles & Company, Benny Hanna, Wendys, Taco Bell, and a couple Mexican restaurants. 🙂

      I wasn’t crazy about Five Guys at all though… :[

      I love QDobas, and Chipotle, and some Tai Food places though.

  1. Pingback: Guest Post: A logical romance… « Grow Up!

Leave a Reply

