Confessions of a RIFB Girl of 20-something {I go to the theater.}

Lights!  Camera!  Action!  …and we’re off!

Confessions of a Rebellious, Independent, Fundamental, Baptist Girl of 20-something.

The first Confession post in the series is here. I have to admit, doing this series as a string of videos was not my idea. In fact, the thought never even crossed my mind. It didn’t even play a game of peek-a-boo. Nope. Actually, a preacher friend on facebook suggested this idea, and the more I thought about it the more fun it sounded. I’m not saying that all the posts will be videos, but expect to see a few more pop up here and there.

Grab some popcorn, sit back and relax, and push play. Enjoy.

Confession: I go to movie theaters.

Feel free to voice your thoughts in the comments section.

Oh! and by the way… pass this along; let’s get others involved. Sharing is caring… even though sometimes we don’t care to hear what other people say. Or am I the only one who ever feels that way? meh. Also, don’t forget to hit the “help me grow up!” button on the right and have future posts emailed directly to you so you don’t miss out on a single episode!

P.S. if you’re curious why my little movie theater “sign” has AMC and MJR written on it and then crossed off – well, those are, in fact, the two major movie theater chains in the Detroit area here in Michigan (and I imagine in several other areas in the USA as well).

Posted on January 6, 2011, in Confessions of a Rebellious Independent Fundamental Baptist Girl of 20-something {Series}, Vlog, YouTube & Videos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 30 Comments.

  1. Hmm, I wondered if you were going to abbreviate it to RIFB. (Abbreviate… Why is that such a long word? lol)

    • It’s been a long day. The “full” title is extremely long to type.
      My fingers have been typing all day. They were screaming “Enough! Enough already!” So I had mercy on them. ;]

      • Hahaha, that’s understandable! Wow, so I was watching your vlog, and can I just say that I was laughing through it, not making fun of you, but because you and I are so much alike! 😀

  2. Also, I agree with you. By going to the movies, your giving your money to those businesses who make “bad movies”. BUT, by renting/buying the movies, you are STILL giving your money to the stores, producers, etc. to carry or make “bad movies”.

    Of course, one can always say (besides abstaining from all appearances of evil- which, btw would include going even to the grocery store b/c they sell alcohol there) if you rent/buy the DVD, you have the option to skip forward in the previews or “bad scenes”…

  3. You make a very good point. And i have used that point at times, and it really does make sense, if it’s sinful to go to a movie it must be just as sinful to rent a video and bring it into your home….right? Like i said, i agree with you on this one. But my personal conviction, which i will not judge anyone else on or condemn anyone else for disagreeing with, is if my pastor doesn’t want his people to do it, then out of respect for him, i will not do it. There are many things that i could put with that, but this is specifically something that i know my pastor doesn’t not agree with. And i’ve never heard him preach against it, but i have heard him say it. So for me, it’s an issue of respect.

  4. The Colin Firth P&P is BBC, read the back of that box you were holding up.

    I believe the appearance of evil opinion would differ from going to the grocery store, as said above, in some aspects. At the theater you don’t necessarily know what movie someone may be seeing, whereas at the grocery store you may notice me standing in front of the alcohol with a carriage full of 30-packs. But agreed that it could be applied to many a situation.

    I think, though, that you neglected to touch upon a major aspect in the decision to participate, or not participate, in viewing movies at the theater: the consideration of one’s company. Would you go to the theater with anyone, male or female? In single or grouped company?

  5. This is a hard one for me to comment on because in the UK we do not really teach anything about going to the cinema. I love film, and watch a large and varied amount at the cinema and at home.

    Having said that I have been challenged about some of the films I own and will be cleansing the collection a little.

    I think stories have a way of connecting with people and we need to be aware on some level of the stories that people are connecting with, not that we should watch everything, but we should at least know what’s going on in the culture around us. In the UK when the Harry Potter books came out a few churches wrote them off as evil having heard minimal information about them, which I think puts the church in a negative standing with the very people we are trying to reach! How can we judge a book as evil when most people wouldn’t even know our stance on evil?

    Sorry for the random thoughts….

    • I did a movie cabinet purge last summer and got rid of a TON of DVDs. Seriously, I probably could have opened a video store with them.

      My dad really liked the Harry Potter series. I, on the other hand, never really got into it. I have seen a couple of the movies, but for the most part they creeped me out. I get creeped out easily. Have you ever heard of The Little Mermaid? Yeah, that movie creeped me out when I was a little girl – and I haven’t seen it since.

      Oh, and FYI: I’ll address Harry Potter and the like in a future vlog. :]

  6. I would love to watch your vlog but my internet connection speed won’t allow it. I can only watch a couple of seconds and then have to wait about 20 seconds before the next few seconds – right through.

    • I gather from the comments you were talking about watching movies / going to the movies.

      When I became Christian all of 52 years ago, NO Christian would dream of going to the movies – not even to watch The Ten Commandments or Ben Hur.

      A number of years later saw the advent of TV and suddenly the movie theatre entered homes. Most movies then were rated General Exhibition, but it wasn’t long before TV serials started presenting an abnormal lifestyle as normal, with couples jumping into bed at the drop of a hat. While some Christians were unaffected by that, young people grew up with a different set of morals, accepting the abnormal behaviour on TV as normal – and living the same way.

      When we feed our minds with garbage, we WILL produce garbage in our lives.

      • Of course, we must realize, not ALL movies are bad. There are some that are clean, fun, enjoyable, and family-orientated.
        We must, as Christians, be careful what we set in front of our face.

        “Oh, be careful little eyes what you see.
        Oh, be careful little eyes what you see.
        For the Father up above is looking down in love —
        Oh, be careful little eyes what you see.”

  7. Growing up movie theatres weren’t “taboo” for my family. Probably because we weren’t in an IFB church at the time :). Now we are, and now I don’t attend the movies anymore. Not because it’s necessarily wrong to watch a movie, but because it DOES help in avoiding the appearance of evil, and it may cause offence if I did go. Others in our IFB church do go to the movies…. not a big deal for me. I’ve made a personal choice not to go. That being said, I have absolutely NO time for the person who thinks the theatre is EVIL, but then rents the same movies and brings them home! You’re right DOUBLE STANDARD!!! If you’re not going to go to the theatre because it’s “trash”, you better not be bringing that “trash” into your home. Personally, I think it’s WORSE bringing it into your home! As for the whole but-I-can-skip-that-scene-with-my-remote-at-home… lame excuse. It definitely doesn’t stand up to the “avoiding all appearance of evil” command that they are so quick to give as the reason for not going to the theatre. I try to be VERY selective in the movies I buy/rent. I used to watch a lot of movies (remote in hand to fast forward the “scene”), but God has really worked in my life both in regards to movies and tv. Honestly, there’s nothing wrong with the higher standard. Not going to the movies, and not watching much of what’s on tv is one way I try to maintain a higher standard. I believe that pleases the Lord. Phil 4:8 is a verse that I try to use to judge what I’m watching on my tv.
    btw, I LOVE that version of Pride and Prejudice!

    • That’s what I always thought: if you’re not willing to watch it in a movie theater where you CAN’T fast forward, why bring it into your home? Just because you can speed through it doesn’t change the fact that you have to watch the screen to know when to push play, and it doesn’t change the fact that it still has “bad parts” in it that you are allowing in your home.

    • “I’ve made a personal choice not to go.”
      That’s what it basically boils down to. Thank you for saying this. There is nothing in the Word of God that says “Thou Shalt Not Go to the Movie Theater and Watch Movies on the Big Screen!”
      There is however a verse in the Bible that says “I will set no wicked thing before mine eyes…” (Psalms 101:3a). That being said, I don’t see theaters as being a sin, although the movies you choose to see might be sinful. Be careful what you set before your eyes.

      “As for the whole but-I-can-skip-that-scene-with-my-remote-at-home… lame excuse.”
      I agree with you here.

      “btw, I LOVE that version of Pride and Prejudice!”
      JessB, you just gained about 23.8 cool points with me. 😉

  8. Please do not take this the wrong way. I am not trying to sound cynical when I say this, but, if you hold this standard, then by all means, please allow this manner of thinking to permeate other areas of your life. For example, do not shop at grocery stores because they ALL sell alcoholic beverages, and most of them sell movies now for that matter. Want to get gas for your car? Better not get gas from a station that sells alcohol, cigarettes and lottery tickets. I know of 1 in this country so far… Do you buy clothes? I wouldn’t buy clothes from stores that support brands that you wouldn’t support because of what they stand for. That leaves making your own clothes. In my opinion, if you truly support this standard without having a double standard, then you might as well be practicing complete isolationism, being so far removed from this world that you can’t reach anyone.

  9. bordeau195,
    perhaps you missunderstood my vlog. I was in no way saying that one “should not” go to the movie theater. I was supporting the opposite side of the issue. I see no problem with it.
    I go to the move theater! I like going. I enjoy big screems, folding chairs, and nachos in a huge auditorium. :]

    However, you’re stealing my thunder a little bit with some of the other “issues” you brought up! ;P Check back tomorrow for one of them.
    ~ H

  10. The vlog was definitely fun. And a walk to remember is one of my favorites too.

    There’s a lot of boycotting we do that I feel is wrong. Mainly because Jesus was with sinners all the time, or very often. He didn’t have a problem with the appearance of evil when the lady of the evening wet His feet with her tears and poured perfume on them. I’m not saying some movies aren’t inappropriate to see and sin is wrong, but to boycott a company that is made up of “sinners” is not what Jesus would do.

    • “Jesus was with sinners all the time, or very often.”
      I loved this.

      “He didn’t have a problem with the appearance of evil when the lady of the evening wet His feet with her tears and poured perfume on them.”
      I loved this as well, but in a non-justifying-sin kind of way. 🙂

      Thank you for your comment!

  11. I Corinthians 10:23 “All things are lawful for me, but all things are not expedient: all things are lawful for me, but all things edify not.”
    Maybe it’s not so much a question of boycotting film and television because it is evil and wicked (although much of it is), but will my action of going to the theatre edify other Christians or will it become a stumbling block? There are some issues in life as this verse clearly indicates that are perfectly okay (lawful), but as Christians we still choose to avoid/abstain/refrain from participation because they simply don’t edify the body of Christ. Christ has a higher calling for us… and that is to become more like HIM!

    • If going to the theater is a strumbling block for another Christian, then I wouldn’d recommend taking them with you when you go. however, if there are others who you keep company with that do not feel it’s displeasing to God to go to the theater, then go with them.

      There are some friends that I won’t listen to Southern Gospel around because it’s offensive to them. There are some friends who I don’t wear my sports clothing around because it’s offensive to them (key: I said “offensive” not immodest).

      Thank you for your comment and for giving us something to think about, JessB.
      Blessings!

  12. Here is a very helpful site (for all ages) when deciding what to view: http://www.kids-in-mind.com/

  13. I agree 100% on this Heather, and have often questioned the reasoning behind this, and some other, standards held by the IFB crowd. Don’t get me wrong, I am an Independent, Fundamental Baptist by choice because I believe the same things that they do. I do not, however, practice everything that some of those people do. I consider myself very conservative in doctrine, but not necessarily in all areas of practice.

Leave a Reply

