Dust.

The first text message rang in shortly after I had crawled into bed. It was my friend Caleb who is currently living in Florida while attending Bible  College.  “Have you ever thought about the fact that you have treated Jesus Christ worse than anybody else you know? I’ve known that, but it really just sunk it. I’m a turd.”

The reality of his message far outweighed the humor in his self-accusing closing sentence. I thought on what he said for a few minutes before I responded. “Yeah, that thought has in fact crossed my mind before.”  Truth be told, just days ago I was driving in my car replaying memories of different times in my life. I remember telling myself that I’m the worst sinner I’ve ever known.

Caleb responded to my text a couple of minutes later.  “Ya, I’ve been kissin’ some carpet tonight. That One so holy should talk to dirt. Crazy.”

I smiled, recalling to my mind what David said in Psalm 103:14“Amen. I’m just amazed He listens, much more He talks to me.”

The conversation ended with an “amen” from Caleb.

Isn’t it amazing that the God who created every square inch of this universe, this galaxy, everything that exists is ever-listening to our most pitiful cries. He hears each one of our petitions. He feels every heartbreak as if it were His very own. And if that isn’t enough already, He talks to us. He responds to our selfish whining; He whispers His love to us when we feel like we’ve hit rock bottom; He speaks peace to the storms that molest our lives.

Does it not blow your mind that He loves you? Can you really understand what drove Him to Calvary? Can you even comprehend what He went through? for what… some dust? That’s all we are. We’re a pile of dirt. Nothing more than what you use a rag to clean off of your bookshelves and picture frames.

That’s amazing to me. I’m amazed! I’m nothing. Yet He loves me. I’m nothing. Yet He died for me. I’m nothing. Yet He listens to me when I speak. He hears me, and He speaks back to me. I’m nothing. Yet He planned out a glorious future for me. He planned out everything from the beginning to the end of it all.

He wrote a book long ago and titled it Heather Joy.  He is the preface. He is the conclusion. And He is the main point of every chapter contained within that’s actually worth reading. All the stuff that’s not worth your reading is what He died for. He is the glue that holds my binding together. He is the front and back covers that keeps me protected from the abuse of the world. He is the pages that sustains the volume of my book. He is the ink that makes it all possible.

He is the Author and the Finisher of my life. What a gracious and merciful Father. I’m so thankful that He remembers that I am but dust, and has mercy on me. I am nothing. He is Everything.

Bless the LORD, O my soul: and all that is within me, bless his holy name.
Bless the LORD, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits:
Who forgiveth all thine iniquities; who healeth all thy diseases;
Who redeemeth thy life from destruction; who crowneth thee with lovingkindness and tender mercies;
Who satisfieth thy mouth with good things; so that thy youth is renewed like the eagle’s.
The LORD executeth righteousness and judgment for all that are oppressed.
He made known his ways unto Moses, his acts unto the children of Israel.
The LORD is merciful and gracious, slow to anger, and plenteous in mercy.
He will not always chide: neither will he keep his anger for ever.
He hath not dealt with us after our sins; nor rewarded us according to our iniquities.
For as the heaven is high above the earth, so great is his mercy toward them that fear him.
As far as the east is from the west, so far hath he removed our transgressions from us.
Like as a father pitieth his children, so the LORD pitieth them that fear him.
For he knoweth our frame; he remembereth that we are dust.
~ Psalm 103:1-14

Posted on January 4, 2011, in Christian Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. He also squeezed Himself into a body formed from dust to save us! Thankfully He has it all worked out so we don’t have to worry!

  2. The unanswerable question:
    Why should a righteous God love me: love me enough to give His beloved Son to die for me – and why should Jesus go through so much physical and (more importantly) spiritual agony to become sin for me and bear the penalty for MY sin?

    We cannot comprehend such love – but we can revel in it and respond to it in the only possible way. We can die to self and live to Him – but even this is only possible because He enables us to do so.

    What a Saviour! Hallelujah!

    • I know it’s long, but it’s completely fitting and worth the read:

      And Can It Be?

      And can it be that I should gain
      An interest in the Savior’s blood?
      Died He for me, who caused His pain—
      For me, who Him to death pursued?
      Amazing love! How can it be,
      That Thou, my God, shouldst die for me?
      Amazing love! How can it be,
      That Thou, my God, shouldst die for me?

      ’Tis mystery all: th’Immortal dies:
      Who can explore His strange design?
      In vain the firstborn seraph tries
      To sound the depths of love divine.
      ’Tis mercy all! Let earth adore,
      Let angel minds inquire no more.
      ’Tis mercy all! Let earth adore;
      Let angel minds inquire no more.

      He left His Father’s throne above
      So free, so infinite His grace—
      Emptied Himself of all but love,
      And bled for Adam’s helpless race:
      ’Tis mercy all, immense and free,
      For O my God, it found out me!
      ’Tis mercy all, immense and free,
      For O my God, it found out me!

      Long my imprisoned spirit lay,
      Fast bound in sin and nature’s night;
      Thine eye diffused a quickening ray—
      I woke, the dungeon flamed with light;
      My chains fell off, my heart was free,
      I rose, went forth, and followed Thee.
      My chains fell off, my heart was free,
      I rose, went forth, and followed Thee.

      Still the small inward voice I hear,
      That whispers all my sins forgiven;
      Still the atoning blood is near,
      That quenched the wrath of hostile Heaven.
      I feel the life His wounds impart;
      I feel the Savior in my heart.
      I feel the life His wounds impart;
      I feel the Savior in my heart.

      No condemnation now I dread;
      Jesus, and all in Him, is mine;
      Alive in Him, my living Head,
      And clothed in righteousness divine,
      Bold I approach th’eternal throne,
      And claim the crown, through Christ my own.
      Bold I approach th’eternal throne,
      And claim the crown, through Christ my own.

      • Thank you!
        That has been my favourite hymn for almost 50 years although I’ve never seen verse 5 before. “And Can It Be” was the chosen hymn for both my funeral and my husband’s (Yes, we have made known in writing the readings, songs etc we want at our funerals).

        I say it “was” our chosen hymn. We recently changed it to Stuart Townend’s “In Christ Alone” mainly because not too many people are familiar with the old hymns any more and the words of “In Christ Alone” are similar in many ways.

        Every time we sang “And Can it be” I almost shouted the words “My chains fell off” for that is exactly what happened.

        Do you know “In Christ Alone”? If not, I’ll post the words here for you. The tune is great too, and just as rousing as “As Can it be”.

        • “And Can It Be” and “In Christ Alone” are excellent songs. The Single Adults class at my old church used to sing “In Christ Alone” all the time during Sunday School.
          I wrote a post about a month or so ago with Adam Young (Owl City) singing that song.

  3. I thank God for your post…I was feeling very down and upset…and your words just encouraged my tired spirit…The fact that He thought of me at that cross is just amazing..knowing that I’m nothing but dust…Oh..what a wonderful love

    Blessings,
    Rani

    • Thank you for stopping by. I’m so glad you were encouraged during your visit.
      I have so very much enjoyed reading your blog, Springs in the Desert.

      A greater thought to ponder is that, if you or I were the only people on the face of the planet, He would have still come down and given His life for us so we could spend eternity with Him. Amazing Love, how can it be?

      God Bless,
      Heather Joy

  4. What a beautiful post and reminder of who we are and Who He is. Thank you so much for touching my heart and His with your words and blog. God bless you Heather as you help us grow up in Him.

Leave a Reply

