2011: my goals. my hopes. my dreams.

I watched as people posted status after status on facebook and wrote notes containing their “New Years’ resolutions” — and I think that’s great that people have things they want to accomplish this year.

However, for myself, I have always found “resolutions” to be a waste of time. People have good intentions of bringing those ideas to pass, but rarely are things completed.

“Resolution” is supposed to have the outcome of “resolving” something. What does “resolve” even mean? I looked it up for clarification:

“Resolve” (verb)
1. to come to a definite or earnest decision about; determine (to do something):
2. to settle, determine, or state formally in a vote or resolution, as of a deliberative assembly.
3. to deal with (a question, a matter of uncertainty, etc.) conclusively; settle; solve:
4. to clear away or dispel (doubts, fears, etc.); answer.

I find it interesting that “resolve” is a verb. Verbs show action – they are the part of a sentence that shows what the subject is doing. So, in order to actually be successful in accomplishing your “New Years’ resolutions” you have to actually take action. Simply talking about it will not get the job done.

Anyways, like I said, I have always found “resolutions” to be nothing more than a waste of time for me. I never really had the determination or willpower to actually follow-through with them. To me, they were more like a bunch of rules that were made to be broken. You could call it laziness, I suppose – and you’d probably be right on target.

Instead, I make goals for myself – I have always done well with goals. I like challenges, and I like to be a challenge… something you have to work for in order to obtain. Yeah, I like that.

Let me share my “New Years’ Goals” for 2011 with you (or at least some of them):

1. Grow the roots of my faith even deeper in Christ. This can only happen by constantly and consistently being in His Word. How can you learn about something or grow closer to someone without spending time with them, or without talking with them? You can’t, and the same holds true with my relationship with Christ.

2. Eat healthier, work out and get back in shape, and drop about 15 to 20 pounds. Please, folks, do not gasp and yell and get dramatic on me. If losing 20 pounds would kill me (or worse, cause me to become anorexic) I wouldn’t do it. Although, once I have my surgery and those crazy tumors are removed – I should only have about another 10 pounds to go! *I kid, I kid*  🙂

3. Stop drinking pop (soda, coke, pepsi, whatever you want to call it). Although, I usually only drink diet pop, it’s still not really any better for you. I just need to cut myself off from it – I will be the better for it, I’m sure.

4. Learn to play the guitar. I should add a “finally” to the end of that, but I’ll refrain for now. I’ve had my guitar for several years now, but I have yet to learn how to play. I tried to teach myself once before, but –alas!– I was holding the guitar upside-down. *sigh*

5. Read at least 12 books (other than the Bible). Some of the books on my list are:

I don’t necessarily intend to read the books in the order listed above.
Has anyone read any of those books? Can you share some of your thoughts about them with me and give me an idea of what I’m in for?

6. Write at least 3 songs (and maybe even sing them at church). I used to write poetry and music all the time, but I haven’t done a lot of it over the past couple of years. You know what they say: “Use it or lose it.”

7. Hmmm… I know there was at least one more, but I can’t remember what it is at the moment. Check back later tonight for the final one… or two. 🙂 Oh yes… now I remember! I’d like to write a children’s book this year – pictures and all (either draw the pictures myself, or have someone else draw them).

Share some of your Goals & Objectives for the New Year below!

Posted on January 3, 2011, in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. 1. Agreed about resolutions.
    2. I hope to travel more this year. Ideally Scandinavia, Tartarstan, Korea, possibly trans-siberian railway to Bejong and on to Hong Kong!
    3. Enjoy life more, Phil 4:4

    • Snowgood, I would like to travel more as well! There are so many places I would love to go to – but unfortunately, I don’t see it happening in the near future.
      However, I would love to go on another Mission’s Trip, or be a Camp Counselor for my church’s Youth Group. Only if it’s in the Lord’s Will – and all in the Lord’s timing.
      Your #3 is a goal that everyone would benefit from if they would embrace it along with you.

  2. 1. to learn more about creative writing. For that i’ve started reading bird by bird – ann lamont

    2. to be nearer and nearer to Jesus.

    3. to be healthier – weight & exercise & food

    4. to learn a bit of photography

    5. to not be the main person i spend time with – get out more

    • Those are great goals, purplefacedpansy!
      In fact, #2 should be on every Christians list! #4 was originally on my list, but without having a good camera, and with all that I have going on in my life – it seemed best to save that for perhaps next year. But it’s definitely on my life’s bucket list. 🙂

Leave a Reply

