Question of the day: *gasp!* not in church…!

Hey, look! a {bonus} question-of-the-day post for this week… 🙂

Well, this should prove to be quite interesting, I’m sure. I ran across an old blog that hasn’t been updated for almost 2 years, but there was a post on it that caught my attention. He was sharing something he had found on someone else’s blog… and now I’m passing it along to you.

I’m curious to see the answers this may generate. Please keep it clean though… don’t cross “that” line. (you know the one I’m talking about…)

Here’s the question…

What are some things that you feel you are not allowed to say in church?

What are some statements you wish you could say, but fear being shunned for stating them?

What are some questions you’d like to ask, but think (or know) you’ll be ostracized or mocked for?

Is there anything you wish you could be heart-wrenchingly honest about with your pastor?

Any confessions?

What are some things that you wish you could request prayer for, but feel they’re too small or insignificant, and people would think you weird for it?

Is there something you wish you could say to someone, but feel it’s “not your place” to say it or confront them on it?

Feel free to answer any or all of them if you care too.

If you wish to answer under an “anonymous” name, I completely understand. If you’d rather not share your answers publicly but still want to get in on this, feel free to e-mail me at growup318@gmail.com.

Posted on December 29, 2010, in Question of the Day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. These are good questions. Tough ones. I am a minister, so some of my answers may be different than others, but I’ll bet most of them are similar.

    I wish I could express doubts. But I realize that doing so could implant doubts in others that they don’t need to have. But, I think doubts about the “religious establishment”, how things are done, church expectations, religious snobbery … we should have doubts expressed about those things!

    I wish I could express more disappointment about the failure of the church. Too often we spend so much time on our stuff – organization, looking good, etc., that we don’t do the things of the kingdom – caring for children, feeding the hungry, etc.

    I wish I could express personal weakness, weariness, failure, and questions about what we are supposed to be doing as a church (myself included).

    Yes, too often church is a place where we are expected to look good and all together, even if we aren’t. Bummer.

  2. Hey!!!! I saw that you liked a few of my posts. THANK YOU!!!! I am glad you did because I am really enjoying your blog. It is always encouraging to see other young women pursuing Christ. Thanks again and I’ll be praying for you 🙂

  3. In order from your list.

    1: Swearing! But then I don’t want to.

    2: Excuse me but sport on Sunday is putting your child on the road to disaster, and potentially alienating them from faith. It says in big capital letter – SPORT IS MORE IMPORTANT THAN JESUS!

    3: Why do we do this, and why can’t it be different?

    4: –

    5: Would you dare to open up & be REAL?

  4. It was neat to see that blog again . I don’t know how many times it was copied, but it was originally written by Anne Jackson (in the Nashville, TN) area. She got the most replies back she ever did on any of her blogs, and they became a book which was just published recently, called “Permission to Speak Freely.” (See her at annejacksonwrites.com.) A shameless plug: get the book. And, no, I don’t get a penny out of that – I just like her writing and her honesty and like to see more people read her.

    My comment here? Honestly, there isn’t much. But # 1 – the one I get the most negative reactions from – is “Why don’t we give part of our tithes to help the needy, as Deuteronomy14:28-29 and 16:12-19 teach? (btw – my own family does this from every paycheck, not every third year, as was the case in Deuteronomy. Why? Because today both the church and the poor have monthly payments, which neither of them had back in Bible times. It was a lot easier to do it the other way then. We think that today both the church and the poor need income every month, every year.

  5. Being a young person in the church is hard. I’m 20 years old. will be starting seminary Monday and yet whenever I feel like I need to say something It’s almost like I get shot down because of my youth. It’s hard to have a discussion with an older person about theology because they believe their right because of their age. I don’t know I just believe a little different theology then some older people I just wish they would listen to me and I will listen to them. I just want to be taken seriously I mean i AM going to seminary.

    Sorry, Just had to vent a little

  6. Yeah, there are a few things…

    1. When a church spends 87% of their incoming tithe on staff salaries and 3% on ministry needs, I think there is a proportional problem. (I’m not against paid staff or anything; I just wish there was a greater proportion given to those in need.)

    2. I wish the sweet young teens and 20-somethings would put something more on besides tank-tops on Sunday morning. (I realize this makes me sound like an old fart. So be it.)

    3. The church pews are filled with too many arm-chair quarterbacks and not enough people who are actually in the game.

    There are plenty of other things as well, but I’ll go check the mirror for some planks in my own eye now. 🙂

  7. What are some things that you feel you are not allowed to say in church? Talk about doubt.

    What are some statements you wish you could say, but fear being shunned for stating them? Sometimes I just want to say to the leaders in my church that this feels like Boy Scouts for grownups. We just waste time and make ourselves feel like we’re doing what Jesus would do by simply being busy all the time.

    What are some questions you’d like to ask, but think (or know) you’ll be ostracized or mocked for? Why do we talk about not complaining and respecting authority in church but when we get in the political arena, those ideas seem to be “forgotten” or it’s about “being bold for the Lord.”

    Is there anything you wish you could be heart-wrenchingly honest about with your pastor? I wish he would be honest with his feelings instead of hiding behind the wall of “I’m a leader and I can’t show any weakness.”

    Any confessions? Lust.

    What are some things that you wish you could request prayer for, but feel they’re too small or insignificant, and people would think you weird for it? Lust.

    Is there something you wish you could say to someone, but feel it’s “not your place” to say it or confront them on it? I wish I could tell family members they suck with money and it’s their fault their life isn’t what it should be.

    nicodemusatnite.blogspot.com

  8. there’s a lot of things i’m not allowed to say in church. primarily because i make people angry when i say things like, “why are you crying?” and “that wasn’t smart.” and “the bible doesn’t actually say that.”

    but my favorite pastor, who’s about to retire after more than 40 years pastoring the same church, recently told me that every church needs someone on staff who’s job it is to occasionally walk into staff meetings and yell “bull$#!+”.

  9. there’s a lot of things i can’t say in church. primarily because people get made at me when i say things like “why are you crying?” and “why would you say that to someone?” and “the bible doesn’t actually say that.”

    but my favorite pastor, who’s about to retire after pastoring the same church for over 40 years, just told me that every church needs someone on staff who’s job it is to occasionally walk into board meeting and yell “bull$#!+”.

Leave a Reply

