Unequaled Greatness {Dr. Art Azurdia}

Surpisingly enough, I don’t have much to say today. But I came across this video and was blown away once again by the thoroughness, and the unmatchable power, and the awesome greatness of the God Who created me.

And to know that He didn’t just stop there… and to know that He didn’t just give up on man when he fell, but instead He made a way through which we could be redeemed unto Himself.

How, when you hear of the mercy that God has bestowed upon us, can you question His goodness?  How can you say He is an angry and unreasonable God Who doesn’t care?  How can you accuse Him of being spitefull and unloving?

You see… when you truly get a glimpse of Who HE is, and what we really are – you’ll then begin to wonder what He ever saw in us to begin with.  We’re vile.  We’re wicked.  We’re hideous.  The sins we commit in our daily lives are a stench in the nostrils of Almighty God.  He can’t bear to look upon sin; it cannot be in His presence; He cannot tolerate it for even a split second.

And yet “…he hath made him to be sin for us, who knew no sin; that we might be made the righteousness of God in him” (II Cor. 5:21). Because He “…washed us from our sins in his own blood” (Rev. 1:5b). And now we can “…come boldly unto the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy, and find grace to help in time of need” (Heb. 4:16).

There is no injustice in Him.  There is no trace of unreason in Him.  He is full or grace and truth; mercy and love; forgiveness and second chances.

And we are to be like Him.

“You must not turn away from Him. You must not walk away from Him. All of your hope for life and eternity resides with Him! So come to this unequally Great One! Come to the Son of God; come to Jesus Christ! If you have come to Him before, then along with me, come to Him again and keep coming to Him!” ~ Dr. Art Azurdia

“Stake your confidence in this: God has spoken. He is not silent. and His Word to us is Jesus Christ – the One Who is unequaly Great. Don’t turn away from Him… turn to Him.” ~ Dr. Art Azurdia

…I guess I did have a few things to say… 🙂

Posted on December 28, 2010, in Preaching, YouTube & Videos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I love this video — I recently saw it for the first time, too. And, you are right, when we catch just a teeny glimpse of His glory and Majesty, we can only say with Peter, “Depart from me, for I am a sinful man.” Bless God for His unmerited favor in Christ Jesus!

    • No doubt we would also be able to echo the words of Isaiah: “Then said I, Woe is me! for I am undone; because I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips: for mine eyes have seen the King, the LORD of hosts.” (Is. 6:5)
      And Paul: “This is a faithful saying, and worthy of all acceptation, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners; of whom I am chief.” (I Tim. 1:15)
      And John the Baptist: “There cometh one mightier than I after me, the latchet of whose shoes I am not worthy to stoop down and unloose.” (Mark 1:7b)
      And even Ezra: “And said, O my God, I am ashamed and blush to lift up my face to thee, my God: for our iniquities are increased over our head, and our trespass is grown up unto the heavens.” (Ezra 9:6)

      God is so gracious, and so worthy of our praise. May we never lose sight of all He has done and will do through and for us.

  2. I appreciate you posting this. I was encouraged.

  3. “Unequally great” He most certainly is – and UNIQUELY great!

  4. @A. C. Baker – you are so very welcome. Thank you for stopping by. 🙂

    @meetingintheclouds – You are spot on. I was at a revival meeting last night. I know I’ve never physically met you before, but there was a preacher’s wife there – and she reminded me of you. I wanted to give her a great big hug. And then when she gave her testimony she remided me of you again. She was the sweetest lady.
    God bless you, my friend.

  5. The subject of God’s greatness always brings to my mind Isaiah 40: and the prophet’s attempt to declare His greatness using simple human pictures.

    It is a wonderful thing to be reminded of His greatness in the midst of all our nation and churchs are facing.

    • Whenever I think of God’s greatness, I think of how worthy He is of our praise and surrender.

      “Thou art worthy, O Lord, to receive glory and honour and power: for thou hast created all things, and for thy pleasure they are and were created.” ~ Revelation 4:11

      I hope you have a wonderful new year!
      ~ Heather Joy

Leave a Reply

