Your judgement is not needed here.

I would like to continue my little “rant” from a few days ago. Again, please bear with me…

There is a certain crowd out there who apparently believes it is wrong to celebrate Christmas. Why? Because it started off as a pagan or Catholic tradition. Obviously, Christ-“mass” – therefore, sinful. And then there’s the whole Santa Clause ordeal – which I’m not advocating at all. However, to completely not celebrate Christmas at all seems strange to me. I’m not judging you – if that’s what you want to do, that’s fine. But don’t condemn and slam other Christians who do celebrate the birthday of our Savior on December 25th. Yes, we can rejoice in His birth all throughout the year. But – just like Good Friday and Easter – the birth of Christ is nationally recognized on the 25th day of December.

It is possible to celebrate Christmas without celebrating Santa Clause; I would know because that’s how I was raised. One thing you would never find in my parents house during the Christmas season was anything having to do with Santa Clause – not a tree ornament, not a stuffed animal, not a window cling, nothing. The whole reason being that Santa Clause is not the reason for the season. He is nothing more than the easter bunny – a figment of the imagination to threaten children with so they’ll behave.

I came across a certain post were someone had linked to a YouTube video of a group of Christian men playing Christmas songs such as “Jingle Bells” and “We Wish You A Merry Christmas” on their kazoos (and enjoying themselves while doing so, I might add) at their Baptist Church’s Christmas fellowship. The comment he posted with the video said something along the lines of: “Church. Where Christmas is all about the Lord instead of Santa Clause. Not!”

Really? All because of Jingle Bells? Where in “Jingle Bells” or “We Wish You A Merry Christmas” is Santa Clause even mentioned? Anyways…

Another issue raised a red flag when I read someone’s post on another person’s Facebook wall. Basically this guy was asking another guy to rip into people (mainly Christians) for shopping on Sundays. *sigh* I understand that Sunday is the Day or Rest – I get that. However, is it really something that we need to “rip” apart fellow Christians over? Believe it or not, some people find shopping to be a rather relaxing past time.

Confession: I tend to do most of my shopping on Sunday afternoons between services because that’s the only time I actually have to do it.  So long as people aren’t skipping church to go shopping, I don’t see the problem with it. If you start skipping church over silly, little things just as an excuse to not go to church, then God might actually give you a reason to skip church over – and it’s usually not a good reason.

My last little concern… since when did God give you the ability to discern who is and who is not saved? I mean, because one professing Christian doesn’t agree with your opinion of how old the Mother of Jesus was when she conceived and gave birth to the Christ Child… well, obviously, they must not be saved. Because she wears pants and your wife doesn’t… “she” isn’t saved, but “wife” is. I’m sure that your neighbor down the street isn’t saved because he spikes his hair instead of wearing a comb-over like yourself.

Do you hear how ridiculous that sounds? Do you see how trivial these things are? There are three things that make or break a person’s salvation: Holy Spirit conviction. Sincere repentance. Forgiveness full of grace and mercy. After that, it is the Lord’s faithfulness that seals and keeps us. What you say doesn’t matter. What you think isn’t worth four pennies. How you feel about the matter really isn’t of any concern.

You are not God. Please stop setting yourself up as if you were by proclaiming who is and who is not saved. Stop trying to be His little helper when it comes to discerning the hearts of men… He doesn’t need your help. God sees the hearts of each man and woman. You worry about your own soul, and let God handle the rest of us.

That’s all beside the point – what my rant all really boils down to is this: all these accusations, mini-sermons, or whatever else you want to call them aren’t said (or posted via internet) with any tact, grace, or love. Every one of them have the spirit of division and judgement behind them.

Please, if you feel something is wrong, then pray about it, and confront the issue with some dignity. Yelling and screaming, pointing your finger, or telling people they’re obviously not saved is not the way to go about it. No one is going to listen to you. Even if they don’t walk away or block your future cyber harassment, they won’t “listen” to you – they’ll tune you out and not give a rat’s rear what you have to say. Right or wrong. Show some love; show some grace; treat other people the way you would want them to treat you. After all, as I’ve said before, the object of the Christian life is to serve Christ, point others to Christ, and be Christ-like in all our words and deeds.

Please don’t leave me hate comments with your caps lock on. I just might yell back. 🙂

kidding… (ish)

Oh! and… Merry Christmas.

Posted on December 27, 2010, in Christian Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. Good rant!
    I love the opportunity the internet gives to us to discuss our faith. I have conducted long – always polite and respectful – debates with agnostics, atheists, wiccans and even those of other beliefs. However, there are many “Christians(?)” whom I would like to ban from the sites. They give Christianity a bad name with all their hatred.

    • “there are many “Christians(?)” whom I would like to ban from the sites. They give Christianity a bad name with all their hatred.”
      Not to be judgemental or anything 😉 , but a few people definitely came to my mind when I read that.
      Thanks for the great comment!
      ~ H

  2. You’re so right! Would that the day will come when we all will listen!

  3. u make me 🙂

  4. What’s wrong with a comb-over?! ;o)

    I was brought up with stories of Santa Claus and bible stories of Jesus and never once got the two confused, never once thought Santa was the reason for the season and didn’t really ever think that Santa was real – my parents were ace!

    I think it is possible to teach children about the things of the Kingdom of God and teach them about the culture of other countries e.g. St. Nicholas without them getting stuck up a creek without a paddle. That is what I’m going to try and do with my Babygirl…

    Peace.

    • Ha! Hey, I wasn’t knocking the comb-over. I like a good hair-swoosh every once in awhile so long as the guy doesn’t use half a bottle of hairspray. 🙂

      Sure, it’s very possible to have *both* Jesus and Santa around the holidays and not have a problem with them. I know several upon several families that do. It’s not wrong to have a little fun here and there – so long as everything is in it’s proper place.

      And I have no doubt that you’re a great daddy and will be just as “ace” as your parents. 🙂 (actually, I’ve never heard anyone say anyone else was “ace”… what’s that even mean? Cool? Sweet-awesome?)

      Happy New Year!
      ~ H

  5. Some of my family falls under the category of “Don’tCelebrateChristmasBecauseItStartedOffAsAPaganOrCatholicTradition.” My Dad judges other people who celebrate Christmas and knows it’s “origins” but, personally, I’d rather have Christmas than NOT have it. I think it’s sorta ridiculous to not celebrate Christmas. I mean, yeah, we weren’t “commanded” to remember Christ’s birth, but that doesn’t mean we SHOULDN’T. I really wish we celebrated Christmas. So does most of my siblings. But Dad’s the head, so we don’t. 🙂

    I agree with you 100%. But I don’t understand the culture’s point of making out that some big red-suited guy exists when he really doesn’t. Santa is just dumb (to me). He isn’t real, so why lie to your kids and say he is?? Would it make Christmas any less magical if you just told your kids, “I put the stuff in your stockings and the presents under the tree”??

    -Awel P.

    • Awel Prince, I have not walked in your shoes, so I can’t completely know your frustration over this matter.
      However, let me just encourage you to keep following your father’s leadership while you’re still under his roof. The Lord places authorities in our lives for a great reason – and He blesses those who honors their parents. When you no longer live under their roof, if the Lord does not lead you to follow in their tstandards, then I believe it is your decision whether or not you celebrate Christmas in the nationally recognized manner.
      Thank you for visiting and leaving a comment.
      I wish you the happiest of New Years!
      ~ H

  6. This is a fabulous post, Heather! You have a wonderful way of articulating yourself and I have to say that you have touched upon some of the very things that, within the last month, I have been thinking, and in some cases, discussing with those close to me!

    You are a girl after my own heart!

    “Therefore let no one pass judgment on you in questions of food and drink, or with regard to a festival or a new moon or a Sabbath. ” Colossians 2:16

    Lord bless you dear one!

    • Thank you for visiting me here, Christina! It seems alot of people do’t usually like to touch on these subjects becuase they’re afraid of “offending” someone. Ok, valid point. But someone needs to speak up in this area… I’m glad you have.
      God bless you,
      ~ Heather Joy

  7. Whenever I encounter someone who shuns certain things, such as Christmas, because they once were “pagan,” I have one response: we plunder the house of the pagan.

    Nothing is pagan that once was not God’s: everything that is evil is something that has been turned away from good. So in using the druidic symbols of trees, lights, eggs (for Easter), etc., what are we doing but using them for good?
    In fact, we are commanded to turn evil into good! That’s our job: to clean up the world by taking what the God-hater has used for evil and to turn it back into something that glorifies God. “Men meant it for evil, but God meant it for good.”

    And think about it: every year, almost everyone in first world countries is surrounded on every side by the celebration of the birth of Christ. Yea, sure, it may be clouded by Santa Claus and sundry. Sure, they’re trying to take Jesus out of it.
    But every single person is celebrating the birth of the Saviour, whether they love Him or hate Him.

    It’s a foretaste of that glorious day when every knee shall bow and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord. Some will say it with love. Some will spit it in hatred. But every single person who has ever lived will acknowledge Christ’s rule.
    And our modern Christmas season, for all its faults, is a tiny taste of that day.

  8. lol…um….SATURDAY is the day of rest. The Seventh day – God rested. Sunday is the first day.

  9. Which reminds me…I need to take my Christmas lights down. They’re just so pretty!

  1. Pingback: What Christianity is NOT. « Grow Up!

Leave a Reply

