Question of the day: 2010 was the year…

This week’s QOTD post is going to be a bit different. There are no right or wrong answers. I just want to hear from you and learn a little about what your year contained.

It doesn’t have to be a huge 25-point list or 4 paragraphs of information – it could be just one or two or five things. Whatever – as little or as much as – you want to share is completely fine.

What did you accomplish this year?
What did you learn from?
What were some of the struggles the Lord brought you through?
Is there anything you wish you would’ve done differently?

I’ll go first.
2010 was the year…

  • I felt the emptiest I’ve ever felt in my life.
  • I graduated from college with my double-associates degree in Business Management.
  • The prodigal came home.
  • I started Grow Up!
  • I joined my church’s bus ministry (a ministry I told myself I’d never join).
  • I didn’t write one poem or song.
  • I went to Las Vegas on a business trip.
  • I found out I’ve had 3 growing tumors in my body since high school, and began treatments for them.
  • I learned to trust in the Lord’s faithfulness and perfect will.
  • I just about doubled my book collection.
  • I discovered I actually love – not hate – the color purple. Who knew?
  • I lost friends I thought I’d never lose, and I gained friends I never thought I’d have.
  • I got in my first car accident (two actually).
  • The Lord started teaching me what “feed my sheep,” “love thy neighbor,” and “judge not” really mean.
  • I learned how to snowboard (and I love it).
  • I baked Christmas cookies for the first time.

No doubt the Lord has been so very merciful this year. My family has endured several trials and heartaches, but the Lord, in His faithfulness, has brought us through the fire each time – free from burns and the smell of smoke. He became more real to me this year than He’s ever been before. I have looked to Him more; cried to Him more; trusted Him more. He has been so good to me – and I praise Him for it, even in the storm.

How about you? Share your Year 2010 below.

{idea taken from just a little bit louder.}

Posted on December 27, 2010, in Personal, Question of the Day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. This year has been COMPLETELY different for me.

    I have been a Christian for 52 years and have always been very actively engaged in ministry. For the last 32 years I have been very active in a childrens and youth ministry and for the last 11 years of that time at a National level.

    Apart from secretarial and local involvement I have written study materials and five day programs and designed all the promotional materials. I have travelled extensively over great distances, conducting training workshops and administering five day camps and holiday clubs. My work often necessitated 15 hour days and sometimes all night sessions. (All work was of course in a voluntary capacity)

    Just 12 months ago circumstances dictated that I resign. I suffered from depression for a couple of months. My life seemed so empty after such a full time, full involvement position.

    So this year has been somewhat of a sabbatical. Apart from my online ministry here and elsewhere and a very little amount of local counselling, I have been having a break.

    NOW I am ready to begin something new.

    What? I don’t know, but the Lord does and He knows that I am ready to do whatever He asks and I am looking forward to whatever that is.

  2. It’s hard to summarize a year, isn’t it? So I’ll use your questions as an outline:

    1. What did we accomplish?

    I continued to work on improving my book, with more streamlining and more verses and more stories.

    Led by my son and daughter (Bill and Yvette), we began ministering to the kids in our neighborhood (probably 15 or 20 of them, many from dysfunctional homes). Oh, for a bus ministry here! It’s made us so appreciative that you’re helping in yours there!

    We found and explored some beautiful, fascinating country in the middle of nowhere 60 or 70 miles from here – and saw a stunning herd of elk plus a moose there.

    After we got a good digital camera on a Staples special in October, Yvette took some 20,000 pictures (20,000 – that’s no typo!) Just before Christmas she put close to 100 of the best up on our website, http://www.sparkleofnature.com. All of you are welcome to look, and you can download any you like – free – to use as desktop wallpaper or as screen savers. Why so many? She says “So that out of every 200, I can get one I really like. I’m a perfectionist.” What can I say? They’re beautiful.

    2. What did we learn from?

    Shortly before the year started, the four of us took a step of faith together – expecting that God would move us elsewhere at any time. We still expect that, but at the moment we’re still here (in the western Wyoming desert). We’ve learned a lot about wallking in faith; in believing God to do more than we thought he could; on fighting doubt; on listening to his guidance; on not going by our own reasoning.

    3. What were some of the struggles the Lord brought us through?

    For the last six months, financial ones. After our step of faith, we figured God had to act within a few months. We NEVER expected we could go more than a few months, let alone over year. In fact, we were sure we couldn’t possibly. But here we are, over a year later. All the bills are still paid. We’re walking in faith week by week, sometimes day by day, but we’re still on the top of the water.

    4. Is there anything we’d have done differently?

    That’s hard to say. Basically, no. But maybe stand firmer. Possibly pay more attention to using all of my time well. To asking God every morning, “You’re my Lord. What do you want me to do today?” And listening carefully for what that “still, small voice” answers.

    Best wishes, and prayers.

  3. I started a blog. It’s so much fun for me and keeps me in God’s word each day…or close to it.

    My mom and dad both had surgery and I went out of town to be with them and help them. It was difficult but very sweet fellowship in our family.

    I learned that it’s ok to be alone. There’s a lot you can learn and a lot you can accomplish by being alone if you take the positive road.

    I learned over again that I love the outdoors. God speaks out there to me in a different way than when I’m locked up in a house.

    One struggle I’ve had is trying to complete a class for bookkeeping. With the surgery for mom and dad I’ve had a lot of trouble getting myself into it. It’s a minor struggle compared to some things yet important also for my income.

    I wish I would have kept on my eating plan, planned my time more wisely, been outdoors more…things I can work on this year. :o)

Leave a Reply

